We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The County Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haverfordwest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The County Hotel
Save
You added The County Hotel to your Saves list
Salutation Square, Haverfordwest SA61 2NB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Haverfordwest
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel, and both times we have had a wonderful stay. The staff were helpful and exceptionally friendly, there are many leaflets about all the attractions close by, and the staff all seem to have lots of local knowledge. Cooked breakfast every morning was lovely! Very Accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
6
6
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

On a recent visit to Wales, we were forced to stop off at this hotel to take amuch needed break. Not wishing to take the ----, I went to order some coffees, however, everything was closed. Despite this, we were greeted like much valued regulars and encouraged to use the facilities without making any sort of contribution. This sort of selfless hospitality deserves not only a mention, but also grateful recognition.

Thank you County Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Let me first of all say, we searched and found no evidence of bed bugs! Having read a previous review which included reference to these parasites, we made our booking with some trepidation. It was only because we have stayed there previously, with no problems, that we decided to 'risk it'. And we were glad we did.
Arriving at lunchtime, there was ample room in the hotel’s free car park for our vehicles. We were greeted by a lady, who I think was Kath, the owner(?). We immediately found the foyer/reception area quite cold, but 'Kath', who appeared to be wearing three jumpers(!), assured us that the heating was timed to switch on at 2.30pm. That was no problem, as we were intending to meet friends for lunch etc. in the town anyway. We deposited our bags in equally cold bedrooms and left.
Returning about 4.30pm, (Italy v Wales 9- 26!) our room on the 1st floor was comfortably warm, and friends staying in rooms on the 2nd floor, found their rooms to be almost too warm!
Our room was clean and served its purpose, with en suite facilities (no bath) which some might consider small. However, there were plenty of towels and toiletries available, and the shower was hot and powerful.
Arriving back at the hotel around 00.45 after a night out, we were met by Brian, the night porter. He can only be described as a 'character' with a very dry sense of humour! He willingly served us at the bar until we fell by the wayside an hour or so later.
The heating was still on and the temperature of the rooms was fine.
Although I didn't partake of the inclusive 'full English', it was enjoyed by my friends, with a choice of cereals and fresh fruit available. Can’t comment on the dining menu as we didn’t have the opportunity to eat there.

Room Tip: Try to get at least a 2nd floor room, as on the 1st floor, you can hear the floorboards of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the County on business.
The hotel was booked on my behalf, else it would not have been my choice.
Rooms clean, but not the most modern. Comfortable enough, although the bathroom was more a compact n bijou en-suite !!
However, a day after my return, I discovered tiny spots on both legs which have been identified as bed bug bites !! Yuck !!!
Hotel wi-fi was totally unreliable, a total waste actually, you'd log on, and average about 90 seconds before it was lost. That said, Haverfordwest as a whole seems to be a 3G blackspot !!!
Personally, if Haverfordwest is suggested as a location for future conferences/training courses, then I will be strongly suggesting a relocation !!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouthshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and the first thing to notice was the lack of heat when I enquired I was told the heating would Come on at 6pm till then it was freeze, the heating duly came on at 6pm for what it was worth barely warm and no way to increase it. The bar felt just as cold as was the restaurant they only had some of the radiators working and as mentioned before they were just warm ( come on guys it's November ).

The room was ok as was the bathroom plenty of hot water just not in the radiators would I stay again (never say never but I doubt it).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here for a night at the end of our holiday, in a triple room for a very reasonable £90 all-in, and were very impressed.

The staff are friendly, our room was decently-sized with a well-equipped bathroom, and the place was very clean and tidy.

The fry-up breakfast was great, and there was a good choice of cereals and juices.

The County is more or less next to the bus station and about 10 minutes' walk to the railway station, making it an ideal stopover for travellers on public transport.

If you're heading to Haverfordwest, go here. You'll like it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I moved away from Haverfordwest over 20 years ago but still like to visit the town at least once a year. The County Hotel has always been my first choice as a place for my family & I to stay. The staff have always been extremely friendly & we have always enjoyed the food, especially the breakfast. We are already looking forward to staying again later this year at this very pleasent hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front provide a better view while remaining well soundproofed from traffic outside. Rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Address: Salutation Square, Haverfordwest SA61 2NB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Haverfordwest
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
County Hotel Haverfordwest
The County Hotel Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The County Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.