We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haverfordwest Castle

Haverfordwest Castle
Castle Street, Haverfordwest SA61 2EF, Wales
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Landmarks
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I spent a fascinating hour going through the few rooms of this building. It is filled with many articles, items associated with different trades, like barbers, and cooks. There are costumes, and maps and old documents. There is something to interest every one.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Full Of Litter”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband & I spent a couple of hours in Haverfordwest so decided to walk up to the castle. Upon our arrival the grounds were full of litter, dog muck & broken glass. We were only there for 5 minutes then decided to go back to the car. We didn't go into the museum.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haverfordwest
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dogging anyone?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

If you like combining a rich historical building with used contraception and strewn beer cans then this is the place for you.
If you are really lucky you'll find some homeless people camping.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Broken glass, dog mess. What a way to treat heritage.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Firstly, this review is about the Castle and grounds and NOT a view of the excellent little town museum in the castle grounds which we've reviewed separately.

Three year old was desperate to visit so called in on a Friday morning. The castle dominates the town and you'd think it would be a major feature but even finding the way in isn't simple. There is a path up from the car park or you can wend your way up from the town square along a dirty, glass strewn side street.

There's very little to see regarding the castle, the main building which was a prison (built 1820, presumably reusing stone from the castle ruins) now houses council archives and is locked. But the state of the site curtailed our visit anyway as it was far too dangerous for a toddler with considerable dog fouling and a large amount of scattered broken glass. I reported this to the county council who are responsible for the site and was assured it was a 'one off'. Sorry, but the dog mess looked like some had been there for some time and the amount and spread of the glass looked like a long term issue.

This is all such a waste. Haverfordwest centre is, like many towns, struggling with shops closing. Surely an inviting tourist attraction in the centre could be valuable to the town but this isn't it. Basically, it's a disgrace. For a glimmer of hope see our review of the excellent little town museum which sits in the castle grounds.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haverfordwest Castle also viewed

Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
 
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Haverfordwest Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haverfordwest Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.