We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Court Gardens

Hilton Court Gardens
Roch, Haverfordwest sa62 6ae, Wales
+44 1437 710262
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Shopping in Haverfordwest
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hilton Court is nestled in the heart of the Pembrokeshire National Park. With 12 aches of beautiful gardens, woodlands and lakes its the perfect place to unwind. The victorian court yard houses the galley, gardens restaurant, pottery and the superb gift shop all offering local crafts and local produce from the surround area. The woodland cafe overlooks mature gardens and serves some of the best cake and coffee Pembrokeshire has to offer. Come and relax, recharge and rejuvenate at Hilton Court.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly and helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

A very helpful, friendly family run business, with a lovely tasty menu. Well worth a visit and the view of the sea as you approach, is breathtaking.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanjean262, Manager at Hilton Court Gardens, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thankyou so much for taking the time to leave feedback, hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    26
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great home made cakes and home made service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The Cafe...
It's a hideaway for the local retirees to grab a bun, a cuppa and while away the afternoons. The young servers are chatty, efficient, and nicely unassuming as they approach tables. Quite often conversation rambles on about the part time servers career aspirations... The variety of cakes and things on offer have that homemade feel to them; fresh, delicious, traditional and nicely portioned.
The grounds are quite extensive with a walkway through low shrubbery as well as around a sizeable pond flanked with intermittent garden seating and flower beds. There are garden features and ornaments, a tree house and other wooden play houses which I believe were made by the resident wood craft shop owner in the courtyard. It's a shame to have to pay to go wonder in the gardens (it's empty) but I suppose it all helps to upkeep the place.
The garden centre bit is not extensive but may be adequate for the local residents.
Overall I liked the place and have been back several times but only for 2 or 3 hours for a chit chat; it's a quaint family run quiet place in the countryside.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanjean262, Manager at Hilton Court Gardens, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to leave feedback and we are glad you have enjoyed your visits. You are right that the small entrance fee does pay for the upkeep but also allows us to expand with the glass dome, extra woodland paths, planting a woodland, an outdoor schooling area and being able to offer free access and equipment to local schools, young carers etc. we also have free open days and free family pond dipping days during spring/summer time. Look forward to seeing you again and thanks again for the lovely feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Been to Hilton Court many times. Number of activities there, indoor and outdoor cafes,garden centre,shop and various craft workshops in courtyard. Together with distant sea views. A pleasant way to spend an afternoon and easy to get to as just off main Haverfordwest to St Davids Rd.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanjean262, Manager at Hilton Court Gardens, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to leave feedback. Hopefully you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickham Market
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Super, welcoming venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A lovely friendly place to visit. We arrived before the 10am opening time, but were still welcomed into the restaurant, where I had a Pembrokeshire cream tea, my wife had coffee. Lovely friendly chatty staff. We walked through the garden centre to the shop. The shop is full of unusual gifts, and again the service was cheerful and friendly. We didn't have time to look round the craft areas, so we will return (I started a loyalty card for a free hot drink!)"

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanjean262, Manager at Hilton Court Gardens, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We are a small family run business and I really appreciate the positive feedback on friendliness as we all try to accommodate all our customers. You will be pleased to know that your locality card can also be used in the wooden balcony tearoom so hopefully when you return the sun will be shining and you will be able to enjoy the gardens. Thankyou again and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not quite up to the hype”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

The website made us think this was a much larger place than it really is. It's a nice garden, with a pottery and an art gallery, but not a whole day's entertainment. Inexpensive, so I'm not complaining, but we probably wouldn't have travelled as far as we did to visit. If it's on your doorstep then I would recommend it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanjean262, Manager at Hilton Court Gardens, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to leave feedback but sorry it didn't meet your expectations. We haven't tried to mislead anyone in anyway, all the photos on the website are of the gardens and there are 9 acres open to the public. Obviously the gardens are better enjoyed in the Summer months and when the weather is finer but we are constantly developing the area to add extra interest, such as the glass dome, "squirrel lodge" which is a 3 storey educational/ outdoor schooling area plus we offer free family pond dipping days in the summer. I hope it won't put you off returning in the future or when the weather in finer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilton Court Gardens also viewed

Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
 
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Hilton Court Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Court Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.