We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pembrokeshire Falconry

Pembrokeshire Falconry
Haverfordwest, Wales
07833 921421
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 Activities in Haverfordwest
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our aim is to give everyone, no matter how old or how young, the chance to experience that thrill of having a bird of prey or owl, fly to your glove. By only taking bookings for private groups, we are able to make each moment you spend with the birds all the more special, as it's tailored to you and your family and friends. All of our experiences include refreshments and free photos of you flying the birds
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a perfect morning on the 'Hawk Walk' with Alex and the two Harris Hawks at Picton Castle. It was incredibly peaceful there first thing in the morning, and with hardly anyone around we felt extremely privileged to experience the beauty of these birds being flown in the grounds and the gardens of the castle. There really is nothing quite like walking along with these birds flying from tree to tree, following you along the way and soaring over head, and having them land on your gloved hand for a quick treat before taking off again. Alex knows his stuff and is an excellent host, really getting you involved in the whole experience. He loves his hawks and it shows in his enthusiasm. It really was a pleasure, and we will definitely be going back for more in the future.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The afternoon with Alex and Zephyr and Malachi ( 2 Harris Hawks) was a surprise birthday gift from my partner Caroline and it was without doubt the best surprise present ever. We had a wonderful time in the grounds of Picton Castle and ended up with over 800 photos and a clutch of excellent memories. You get to fly the hawks and get up close and personal with them. Alex was informative and entertaining and I would recommend the experience to anyone.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was an all day activity spent at Picton Castle nr Haverfordwest. We flew Harris Hawks, a Scops Owl, an Eagle Owl, a Buzzard then 2 Kestrels. We had a lovely lunch in the coffee shop, which was included in the price; My husband has always been fascinated by birds of prey and this was an amazing experience for us both, the highlight was when the Kestrels,started mobbing us because they wanted feeding but didn't want to fly. It was hilarious . A huge thank you to Alex Hill for making it such a wonderful day and for all the amazing photos, some of which are attached, also to Malachi, Zephir, Frodo, Popeye and the other birds. Alex is a great teacher, very patient and a very skilled falconer. I would highly recommend this day to anyone, but if you don't want to do all day you can also do a Hawk Walk which is half day just flying the Harris Hawks.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

What an incredible day flying hawks and owls with Alex and Emma at Picton castle, Pembrokeshire. The setting was fantastic and the handlers got the best out of the birds (Malachi the Harris hawk and Frodo the owl) and emailed me loads of brilliant photographs too .If this wasn't enough, I was also given the opportunity to handle their other birds, be shown how to prepare the birds to fly and given loads of advice and tips on how to pursue my interest. If you are interested in birds of prey, this experience is a must and I will be booking again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My parents, my boyfriend and I went for the hawk walk with Malaki one of the two harris hawks, the walk was amazing in spite of the fact that we were there on the day of the country fair and the grounds became very busy. Alex and Emma are lovely people and even though they were rushed of their feet insisted we came back to the stand to hold the other birds after the walk, and they both made us feel really welcome. Alex took loads of amazing quality photos of us on the walk and was full of knowledge about the birds. We thoroughly enjoyed the morning and we plan to do the full day experience in Easter. Thank you so much for a wonderful day.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pembrokeshire Falconry also viewed

Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
Pembroke, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Pembrokeshire Falconry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pembrokeshire Falconry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.