We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. David's Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added St. David's Guest House to your Saves list
St. David's Guest House
Well Lane, Haverfordwest SA612PN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Haverfordwest B&B and Inns
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I loved this accommodation. The period house is well maintained and beautifully appointed. the hosts are very helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is huge, tasty and offers a good range to accommodate all tastes. I was very comfortable here and it suited me particularly well because I was in Haverfordwest on a family history mission and it fit right in to the period I was studying!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stdavidsguesthouse, Owner at St. David's Guest House, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed the house whilst following your roots , always a pleasure to look after our guests and to hear tthey were comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
71
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Everything about the old rectory,the building,the decor and facilities are of the highest quality and very stylish. The owners Colin and Estelle were great and went that little bit further than other hosts to make your stay very special, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast time was heaven with so much to choose from.
Haverfordwest makes a great base from which to tour Pembrokeshire.
You would be hard put to find anywhere better to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stdavidsguesthouse, Owner at St. David's Guest House, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Your stay with us was so great. Thank you for letting us share in your ancestry and local history.
The house seemed to be filled with history. Please do come again or pop in for a cup of tea and a chat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
from London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed there for 3 nights at the end of August and had a magnificient experience. The owners went the extra mile from the beginning. I was very keen on getting the Chepstow Suite as it has two beds zipped together but it was already booked. However, they moved things around so that we could have that suite. So nice. The guest house is beautiful in the outside and inside. Large room, comfy mattresses, luxury toilettries, great TV, fantastic welcoming welsh cakes and the breakfast was just the best one we have ever had in a B&B. It's a 2 minute drive to the city centre or a 10 minute walk. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here for two nights 5th-6th September 2012. What a welcome, coffee/tea and welsh cakes on arrival and bedrooms to die for. Beautifully decorated, loads of space, all the usual facilities and the beds are absolutely sumptious. In room drinks include tea (two types), coffe, horlicks and chocolate with biscuits and a chocolate mint. The bathroom had a power shower (one other room has a walk in shower and jacuzzi bath), soap, shower gel, shampoo and even a face flannel, so no wet flannel in your washbag when travelling home. Estelle and Colin were great hosts and breakfast was an experience never to forget. Not just full english, for those who like porridge or kippers they were available too as were fruit salad, cereals and all the usual toast, jams, marmalade and honey. This is one Guest House which goes the extra mile to ensure you have a luxury stay. Our party has already booked for a full week next year. Any downsides? None that I can think of except finding it in the first place. It is a very tight, almost blind turning, into the lane to St David's Church and there is no signage, but once there the old vicarage, which is the guest house, is just next door.

Room Tip: Chepstow was a double room but will particularly suit single travellers. Picton was a very spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stdavidsguesthouse, Owner at St. David's Guest House, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
look forward to seeing you next year and mum of course !Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlswood, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and had the most wonderful stay. We were treated so well throughout our stay. We felt special. The room was incredible with some lovely little extras. The shower was 'wow'. We will definitely come here again.
Following our visit we went on to stay at a hotel and realised that we had heightened our standards due to St David's. There are some hotel chains which could send their managers here to learn about the art of providing a top quality service at a reasonable price from Colin and Estelle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stdavidsguesthouse, Owner at St. David's Guest House, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
sounds like we looked after you just right . Pleased we could ,hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

A great place to stay if you are exploring the area. Can't recommend it highly enough. Hosts extremely welcoming and attentive. Super comfortable room, excellent bathroom. Really first class. Delicious breakfast, smashing welsh cakes. This place is brilliant and I would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have stayed here many times whilst visiting relatives in the area. The guest house is an old Vicarage and wonderfully appointed. The bed rooms are more of a suite than a room. It is the best accomodation in the area, if you are on business they would arrange early beakfast , whatever you need. Friendly is not the correct word, run by two of the nicest people you could meet, now Fawlty Towers syndrome here. The main event in my opinion is breakfast, Colin is the King of the fry up. This fry up is a meal we only eat when away and I have top say it is the best I get, and I travel a lot on business. If you are in the area and can get booked in, do not miss it.

Room Tip: We always stay in downstairs near the front door as I am a smoker, so it is easy for me to pop out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stdavidsguesthouse, Owner at St. David's Guest House, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
you are too kind but we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit and we both look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. David's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. David's Guest House

Address: Well Lane, Haverfordwest SA612PN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Haverfordwest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian former vicarage with many original features offering suited or en suited rooms set in large gardens but close to town centre and Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St. David's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David's Guest House Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. David's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.