We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredibly rude owner, dreadful bed and wet towels” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Slate Mill Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haverfordwest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Slate Mill Lodge
Save
You added Slate Mill Lodge to your Saves list
Dale Road, Haverfordwest SA62 3QR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 43 Haverfordwest B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“incredibly rude owner, dreadful bed and wet towels”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Don’t be fooled by first appearances – this is a CHEAP place! The initial impression was of a quality, welcoming home. How wrong we were! Mouldy shower curtain and room blind, broken lamp shade (see photos), patched bathroom, cheap polycotton bed linen and a bed that was so uncomfortable it felt like it had been in student digs for at least 20 years! The springs were so bad that we hardly slept at all the first night! Incredibly unpleasant owner, Jane (so why do this job??), simply did not care about this and REFUSED to give us fresh towels though we were staying 3 days (and ours had been wet on the bathroom floor all day) and was unbelievably rude in public in front of other guests when asked. David, on the other hand, is lovely and welcoming and provided an excellent breakfast. The rest of the staff were very pleasant too. This SHOULD have been a wonderful place and is in a great location but with the current attitude, just try the loads of other local B and B’s. We checked out a day early and will never return to this pretentious dump.

Room Tip: don't go to this B and B
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
6
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alderton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed on the campsite last week for 5 days and had a great time. The site is set in a meadow with a stream running through it and is unusual in that each pitch is separated from others by grasses and wildflowers. The location is excellent, with many lovely beaches, such as Dale, a short drive.

As others have mentioned, the host, David, is a great chef and we enjoyed a fantastic meal of seafood and lamb on our last night. The bar is a treat as the site isn't near any pubs.

The only downsides were no loo roll provided and hand wash was a bit intermittent. They could do with more than one washing up sink and bigger bins but these are not major gripes.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, do not have anything to complain about really! We have loads of room on our pitch and plenty of kids for our children to play with!! Lovely atmosphere on the site, wonderful family friendly site. Will be back soon! Many thanks :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights camping on this relaxed and charming camp site. Free logs for your camp fire. The owners were very friendly and welcoming going out of their way to make the stay the best possible. We would have liked to try the food but alas run out of time. Dale peninsula is beautiful. If you walk a few hundred metres you can get a cove to yourself.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Great location for a trip to Skomer. Very good standard of accommodation in a quite and peaceful environment. We were made to feel very welcome and the owners are great hosts.

I booked a twin room for £90. The twin room was already occupied so we were given a double room each, and here's the sting, we were then told to pay for single occupancy in the double room. I should have refused, but didn't want to get kicked out at 10pm to find alternative accommodation. There was no notification before hand, and if they double booked they should waive the charges. Very underhand and appears rather money grabbing.

If you're staying here in a twin room, double check before hand that they're not going to charge you extra.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

As some others have mentioned, David is really a great host and is a lot of fun to talk to! The vegetarian dinner that we had was innovative and great - although it certainly is very expensive! Since we were only staying the one night we went ahead anyway rather than driving to Marloes / Haverford West. For Skomer we took our own lunch (from Tesco) but some of the others who stayed did ask David to prepare a packed lunch as well so there is that option.

Rooms are on the small side but to be honest were perfectly fine for a night. Overall, a great place to stay for a short break - although it is on the expensive side. It is in a great location for going to Skomer so certainly recommended for short breaks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I came down for a night prior to a trip to Skomer Island. David not only picked me up from the train station but I was also taken to Lobster Pot to meet with my group for a meal and was also taken down to the Jetty the next day to catch the boat. On top of that I was served a hearty vegan breakfast. The room was a double which may have been a bit tight for 2 people but was great for me. Clean shower and toilet. Beautiful countryside for a quick walk around the accommodation. Would have no problems in booking again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Slate Mill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slate Mill Lodge

Address: Dale Road, Haverfordwest SA62 3QR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Haverfordwest
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slate Mill Lodge provides Self-Catering and Bed and Breakfast style accommodation in beautiful Pembrokeshire. A completely restored 14th Century corn-mill, the lodge is situated just minutes from Dale in superb peaceful surroundings, close to many local attractions, bars and restaurants. Guests have the option to let a complete apartment or a private en-suite bedroom. Slate Mill Lodge is open ALL YEAR, priced from £35pppn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Slate Mill Lodge Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slate Mill Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.