We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wanderer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gatehouse

The Gatehouse
Castle Street | Kidwelly, Kidwelly sa17 5ax, Wales
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Kidwelly
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Kidwelly, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Wanderer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Being local, and spend a fair amount of my time walking the lovely countryside around Kidwelly, a coffee stop is essential. There is no better place to stop than the Gatehouse which is situated near the walled entrance to the Castle. All staff offer a warm and friendly welcome and always aim to please. The coffee and selection of cakes available are scrumptious.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    18
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heathfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bobby & Sarah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Having spent most of the day in the village we had three visits to this lovely cafe/restaurant. The welcome was warm and the food excellent. Sue couldn't have given us more of her time and entertained us with her tales and history of the business. We would recommend anyone stop here for morning coffee, lunch or afternoon tea. Wish we lived closer as we be happy to visit regularly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruislip, uk
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“lovely selection, thanks for a lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

nice atmosphere, all visitors are welcome, great menu choice. the thai curry is lovely on a cold day (I'm Asian), the orange and lemon sponge is a treat, and the various paninis are very good. nice modern presentation. lamb burger is ok, but I'm a beef fan so my mistake not the cafe's. thoroughly recommended after a wet cold day at Kidwelly castle.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidwelly, South Wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delightful cafe, great food, great ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

As a local, I and either family or a group of friends, meet at this pretty cafe weekly, where we enjoy the great food and the delightful laid back atmosphere. Sue and her team always give a warm welcome and are very polite and efficient. Nothing is too much trouble. Situated at the Gatehouse to the Castle, it is a gem for visitors with reasonably priced food and good service. Well done Sue.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An outstanding cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

With only a short walk down the street from the castle, the Gatehouse is the first place you come to that serves food. We weren't expecting much from a cafe, a selection of sandwiches, an all day breakfast perhaps but here there was just so much more! They had homemade burgers, a Thai green curry, chilli and a few other great selections. The food was outstanding and the atmosphere was relaxed; only bad point was the service. The main order was taken fairly quickly, but we had to wait about 25 minutes before our plates were cleared and were offered dessert and that was only because we went up to ask if they were still there! One note to the waitresses- Service with a smile!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gatehouse also viewed

Kidwelly, Carmarthenshire
Kidwelly, Carmarthenshire
 
Kidwelly, Carmarthenshire
Llanelli, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to The Gatehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gatehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.