We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel if you are only staying one night!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton by Hilton Newport East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton by Hilton Newport East to your Saves list
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   M4 J 23a; Wales 1 Business Park Newport, Magor NP26 3RA, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 15% off
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Essex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good value hotel if you are only staying one night!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Good value hotel if you are only staying one night. Everything is very new and clean and the rooms are decorated to a good standard. One design feature we were not a fan of is that there is a sliding door for both the wardrobe and bathroom and you can only have one closed at a time, ie) only wardrobe or bathroom. A bit pointless and annoying.

The staff are very helpful and friendly and the breakfast is very nice too.

I would certainly stay again if it was for one night but not for longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your views,
we try very hard to make this Hotel a fantastic place to stay, and helpful feedback like this is very useful.
All the comments I receive are discussed with the whole team as we strive to learn from every response in order to continually improve our service and facilities.
Thank you for coming to stay with us please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    227
    55
    18
    8
See reviews for
188
206
27
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Good stay, excellent value, good location, friendly staff. Breakfast quick and efficient, dinner service bar meals was good. I would reccomend this as a place to stay in SE Wales with access adjacent to the M$ mortorway within two minutes of the hotel. Local amenities in Magor are good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words,
Enormous effort has gone into creating this new UK brand, with the aim to deliver the best Hotel experience within the focused service sector.
The key to delivering this ambition is not only to build high quality Hotels with top of the range fixtures and fittings, but to ensure the quality of the service and welcome match this aim.
When this is recognised with comments such as this my whole team are encouraged to try even harder to make every stay for our guests a great experience.
Thank you
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Okay, lets get the good bit our first, the rooms are clean, modern and for an overnight stay you will be quite pleased. It is better than a premier Inn or a travel lodge.

Getting a reservation however will get you subjected to a "special offer" which is the equivalent of a time share pitch. I can't stand it! Every time I ring Hilton reservations they use my need for a room to try and sell me time share or some holiday at a ridiculous price which I can get for 50% of what they are offering by booking direct. Terrible. Hilton, you have to stop this nonsense, I refuse to go to the hotel now simply because of this.

Now, if you have to stay for a few nights things are much harder. The bed for one is very firm. I like a firm bed, but this is only slightly more comfortable than a plank of wood. The pillows are very poor and unsupportive. As a result of my last stay I had to visit a Chiropractor to get myself fixed.

Breakfast is like a motorway cafeteria, which I suppose for the price of the room is quite good, but really, just not my thing in the morning.

The staff are fine, the hotel is clean, it's good value and for a one night stay is very good value. Just don't linger. Oh, and did I mention, It's miles away from anywhere so if you are visiting Newport or Cardiff you are 30minutes away on the motorway.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
Enormous effort has gone into creating this new UK brand, with the aim to deliver the best Hotel experience within the focused service sector.
The key to delivering this ambition is not only to build high quality Hotels with top of the range fixtures and fittings, but to ensure the quality of the service and welcome match this aim.
Whenever we fail to deliver the high level of standards and service we aim to provide we take these comments very seriously and review what we need to do to rectify these failings.
When this is recognised with comments such as this my whole team are challenged to try even harder to make every stay for our guests a great experience.
Thank you
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was our third visit to this hotel and yet again we were not let down.
Clean spacious rooms with Breakfast thrown in all at a very good price, on this occasion we ate in hotel on arrival as weather on arrival was not good. The menu was not extensive but what was on offer was a good mixture, we had a sharing platter for starters and then a main which was served quickly and was very tasty.
The staff were polite and friendly and quick to offer help and advice.
The hotel is right on the M4 with easy access to Cardiff or Chepstow for us the latter where we visit family members.This will not be our last visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your views,
we try very hard to make this Hotel a fantastic place to stay, and helpful feedback like this is very useful.
All the comments I receive are discussed with the whole team as we strive to learn from every response in order to continually improve our service and facilities.
Thank you for coming to stay with us please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Chose this hotel as on our way back from South Wales. Very convenient to M4 but rooms quiet, clean and well appointed including welcome tray, hair drier, iron etc.
Limited choice on buffet breakfast but it was included in the rate.
Reasonable priced competing well with travelodges and premier inns.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your views ,
We try very hard to make this Hotel a fantastic place to stay, and helpful feedback like this is very useful.
I am pleased to say, we have now introduced free Wi-Fi throughout the Hotel as another benefit to our guests.
Please come and see us again soon.

Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We found this hotel on line and what a find. It is so close to the M4, it's really handy for quick access to Cardiff where we were heading. The quality of the accommodation was exceptional for the price we paid. Rooms were a good size and very clean, shower was amazing. To get breakfast thrown in the price was brilliant, there was a wide range of food and you could eat as much as you wanted. Parking right outside the door made it a completely great experience. Would use again.
It was the best night sleep ina hotel ever.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you so much for this review,
We will have been open 3 years as of September 14th and I am pleased you comment on it still looking like new as we take great care in the upkeep and maintenance of the Hotel.
We work hard every day to make the building spotless, and work closely with our team to ensure they give great service and offer the relaxed friendly environment we wish to create.
Please come and see us again soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

very efficient hotel - clean and well run, and in a very accessible location. The breakfasts are tasty with a variety of hot and cold options and there are snacks available for lunch or light bites if needed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your views ,
We try very hard to make this Hotel a fantastic place to stay, and helpful feedback like this is very useful.
I am pleased to say, we have now introduced free Wi-Fi throughout the Hotel as another benefit to our guests.
Please come and see us again soon.

Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton by Hilton Newport East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Newport East

Address: M4 J 23a; Wales 1 Business Park Newport, Magor NP26 3RA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Magor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Newport East 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton by Hilton Newport/East is proud to be the first newly built brand hotel providing the perfect location for a visit to South Wales close to Junction 23a of the M4 [Opened September 2010]. Start the day off while enjoying a relaxing hot & cold breakfast in our dining area or in our work zone with our free Wi-Fi or even back to your room for a high speed internet connection. With a focus on unfussy service & great facilities this contemporary hotel is only a 25 minute drive to Cardiff. With an enviable location close to the M4, Newport, Bristol & Cardiff the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts you near it all. We’re close to Cardiff City with Cardiff Castle, Millennium Stadium & Cardiff also Bristol Hippodrome. Newport train station is 8 miles away; Bristol airport and Cardiff airport are only 34 miles & 26 miles respectively. Whether you’re travelling for business or pleasure the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts South Wales and Southwest England at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Newport East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Hotel Magor
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Magor, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton by Hilton Newport East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.