We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skirrid Mountain Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skirrid Mountain Inn
Save
You added Skirrid Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Llanvihangel Crucorney NP7 8DH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

This was my second stay at the Skirrid Inn and I thoroughly enjoyed it each time. It's rustic, historic and cozy, definately a great place in winter when the open fireplace is burning. Great views of the peak and lush countryside scenery as well. The rooms are comfortable with large beds and plenty of space. For those looking for paranormal activity there is definately something about this place, sudden waves of freezing cold air, items moving and hearing heavy footsteps are one of the things I personally witnessed so if you're into that you won't be disappointed! Will definately be returning there regularly!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    22
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
10
41
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

this was a second visit for us and as good as the 1st we invited the phsycic this time which was a different .the food was lovely .great rooms plenty of space comfortable 4 poster beds staff friendly.nothing bad to say about the skirrid really.geoff thank you for making us feel at home yet again you will see us aberdare girls soon xxx

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Have stayed a number of times for leisure and business, the location is superb with a atmosphere and history that you couldn't recreate if you tried. A real change from the the standard chains and plastic smiles. Geoffs jokes are almost as old as the building itself but great to see that there are still a few re.al landlords out there. Hospitality is top class with nothing being to much trouble. Without doubt there is something more than meets the eye in this place, too many odd things happening even before the Guinness levels get going

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

myself and 8 girls are going to be there on 9th sept we have had very good comments about the skirrid inn,i have spoken to geoff on the phone and he seems friendly and a bit mad right up our street really,none of the girls know that we are going here so its a total surprise,as its my mothers birthday goeff has allowed me to bring all the banners and cake etc watch this space for the gossip next weekend..

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Aggressive barman, mediocre pub grub - worst chips I have experienced so far in the UK.
Accommodation was not required - just an evening meal. Not a pleasant experience, with sticky tables, and a perception of homophobia as the barman's aggression heightened - although there is no proof of homophobia. Not a nice atmosphere for two blokes together.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Skirrid Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2010
I am the owner of the Skirrid Inn and the person referred to as the aggressive barman. The wonderful gentleman who posted the review forgot to mention that he was openly smoking in the main bar some 3 years after the ban. He showed total disregard for other customers, my licence or the law. This conduct is unnacceptable to me and I believe my response was proportionate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

On arrival we were welcomed by Geoff, who was very friendly, he gave us our room keys and let us get settled. Food was second to none and cooked to perfection, One friend stated it was the best steak she had ever had!!! and very reasonable price. steak at 10.50, I had fish which was 7.95 and delicious.
Geoff told us some history about the pub, then recommended we visit the near-by graveyard, he then left us to our own devices, we had a paranormal free night, and bacon rolls for breakfast...........we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. would definitely go back..

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

second stay at the skirrid inn and just as good as the first ,stayed in room 2 this time and friends kath &stuart stayed in room 1 ,geoff & sharon are still the perfect hosts {nothing to much trouble} . we ate at the skirrid in the evening and it was excellent {recomend the lamb shanks} unfortunately still hav,nt seen any ghosts , never mind will have to try again next year, i highly recomend a stay at thiswonderful historical inn. thanks geoff all our best wishes terry & nikki {tells tavern awaits}.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skirrid Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skirrid Mountain Inn

Address: Llanvihangel Crucorney NP7 8DH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Llanvihangel Crucorney
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Skirrid Mountain Hotel Llanvihangel Crucorney
Skirrid Mountain Inn Llanvihangel Crucorney, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skirrid Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.