We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a not to be missed experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skirrid Mountain Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skirrid Mountain Inn
Save
You added Skirrid Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Llanvihangel Crucorney NP7 8DH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“This is a not to be missed experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Well what can i say myself and another 7 of my nearest friends stayed here for an overnight spooky experience and having booked all 3 of the rooms what a fantastic time we had. Greeted at check in with friendly staff and i simply could not have wished for a better place for my special occasion. We were made to feel so welcome and we all ate in the restaurant and food was gorgeous.

If you are looking for 5 star accom this is not the place but for sheer service and overall experience this would be up there with the best.

Thanks to geoff and his staff for a wonderful time and i hope you enjoyed the corned beef pie i left you

We will definately be seeing you all again soon

Anne marie and the skirrid scaredy cats

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    25
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
13
45
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Called in and had lunch with my family. Lovely choice of menu, with local welsh produce. When our meal came it was nicely presented and piping hot. Service was good as well as good value for money. Beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Ordered a table in the restaurant, however, we were told that we needed to order from the blackboard in the bar before sitting down as there were no menus to look at! This was a major gripe for me as I enjoy sitting down relaxing with a drink while studying the choices on the menu. Ordered two 10 oz sirloin steaks (£15.50 although the website says £12.95)......one with chips and one with new potatoes. Unfortunately we were brought two portions of chips and by the time the potatoes arrived we were halfway through the meal and the potatoes were not fully cooked. Having said this, the food was nice with fair sized portions and the staff were all very friendly. I enjoyed it for what it was but in truth it wasn't worth the fairly high prices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDIFF. WALES
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

You want ghosts? You want 4 poster bed in a spooky room? You want to sleep next to a stair well where 200 people were hung? You want to eat in front of a log fire in the bar of this 700yr old pub? Then this is the B & B for you. I loved the company in the bar, loved the room but the bathroom was to say the least, dated. Still who cares, Great Landlord and staff. Extremely obliging with great pub food. Definately worth the experience.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 or 2 seem to be the ones, though I looked into room 1 and that seemed the spookiest and is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend popped into the Skirrid for some Sunday lunch as we had heard great things about the food and atmosphere. We were certainly not disappointed!

The food and service was great; with ample portions at very good prices. To those in the know there is also such a thing as a good 'pint' and a bad 'pint' and let me assure you that the Landlord seems to be an authority on the subject. In the Skirrid Inn you get a 'beautiful' pint, and certainly the best in the area.

However the main positive was the incredibly warm and welcoming Landlord and his wife (beautiful people) who regaled us with superb stories and provided plenty of laughs. We were even shown the spooky rooms and were given a thoroughly enjoyable mini ghost tour by the Landlord.

Highly recommended and we will certainly be booking an overnight stay!

Room Tip: Ask the staff about the history of the Inn as they are fantastically engaging and enthusiastic about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALES
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Just got bk from visiting the Skirrid Inn for the first time with my wife & father in law. It was awkward to get a wheelchair in but the owner apologised & said it was impossible to create Disabled access due too the age of the Inn. We orderd drinks & meals x3 & the service was very good & efficient. The meals were very good & plentiful, & worth the money. All in all a lovely visit & will be back 8/10.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

once again stayed at the skirrid inn,had a wonderful time and treated like royalty by Geoff and his staff. would highly recommend staying here,or just calling in for a quiet drink after a days walking in the beautiful surrounding countryside. can't wait to come back again soon

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skirrid Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skirrid Mountain Inn

Address: Llanvihangel Crucorney NP7 8DH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Llanvihangel Crucorney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Skirrid Mountain Hotel Llanvihangel Crucorney
Skirrid Mountain Inn Llanvihangel Crucorney, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skirrid Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.