We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Narrow gauge railway with lovely scenery.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talyllyn Railway

Talyllyn Railway
Wharf Station, Tywyn LL36 9EY, Wales
01654 710 472
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Tywyn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Talyllyn Railway is a historic narrow gauge steam railway, running from Tywyn to Abergynolwyn and Nant Gwernol through unspoilt Snowdonia. Tywyn is home to the Narrow Gauge Railway Museum, Railway Shop and King's Licensed Cafe & Bistro. The line passes the delightful Dolgoch Falls and there are excellent forest walks at Nant Gwernol.We offer a great day out for all the family. Groups receive a discount when booked in advance.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
99 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Narrow gauge railway with lovely scenery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A gentle and pleasant journey will views of rolling hills and mountain scenery with a few waterfalls as well. The round trip takes around 1hr 30mins. A friend and myself decided to stop off at Dolgoch Falls and took the next train up to the end of the line on 23rd May .

Whilst waiting for the next train up we had a lovely chat with the station manager who was very friendly and informative.

The 1st class supplement was £2.00 each way and is worth the extra cost. One of the coaches had leather seating and the other was upholstery. The great thing about 1st class is that you pay on the train so you can have a look before you decide if you want to or not.

You stop off at Abergynolwyn on the way back for 30 mins for refreshments. Service was quick and efficient. Although I thought the sandwiches were a bit expensive the money does go to help fund the cost of the railway. A great day out nevertheless and I would have no hesitation in going again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalyllynRailway, Marketing Officer at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
I’m glad you enjoyed your trip on our railway and glad you appreciated our friendly station staff.

I’m sorry you felt the sandwiches were a bit more expensive than you expected. You are correct that all profits from the the cafe are put back to restoring and operating the railway. We also source quality produce, much of it locally and make sandwiches fresh in our own kitchens, so you are not paying for an inferior product.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

regards,

Phil Eaton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    36
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely scenic wee trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had trip last week while in the area and it was lovely, 1 x 70 yr old, 1 x 5 yr old and me, all loved it. Staff very friendly and knowledgable, loads of photo opportunities and the food was good for a snack lunch as well

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“More steam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Definitely one to visit. A lovely steam train ride through the countryside with plenty of scenery to admire. There is a very nice cafe/restaurant at the station although I think the meals are over-priced.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Narrow Gauge Railway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Staff were very friendly and enthusiastic, immaculately turned out trains and staff. Good value for money and my son particularly liked the Rev. Awdry exhibition in the museum.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalyllynRailway, Marketing Officer at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments we are glad to hear you had a good time visiting the railway and the Museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Enjoyable trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Had a very enjoyable two hour trip on this delightful little train. Very well organised and stunning scenery. Staff were all extremely friendly!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalyllynRailway, Marketing Officer at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we're always glad to hear people have enjoyed themselves. We hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talyllyn Railway also viewed

 
Fairbourne, Gwynedd
 

Been to Talyllyn Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talyllyn Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.