We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Narrow Gauge Railway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talyllyn Railway

Talyllyn Railway
Wharf Station, Tywyn LL36 9EY, Wales
01654 710 472
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Tywyn
Type: Scenic Railroads, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Talyllyn Railway is a historic narrow gauge steam railway, running from Tywyn to Abergynolwyn and Nant Gwernol through unspoilt Snowdonia. Tywyn is home to the Narrow Gauge Railway Museum, Railway Shop and King's Licensed Cafe & Bistro. The line passes the delightful Dolgoch Falls and there are excellent forest walks at Nant Gwernol.We offer a great day out for all the family. Groups receive a discount when booked in advance.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Narrow Gauge Railway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Staff were very friendly and enthusiastic, immaculately turned out trains and staff. Good value for money and my son particularly liked the Rev. Awdry exhibition in the museum.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalyllynRailway, Marketing Officer at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments we are glad to hear you had a good time visiting the railway and the Museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    34
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Essex
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Enjoyable trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Had a very enjoyable two hour trip on this delightful little train. Very well organised and stunning scenery. Staff were all extremely friendly!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalyllynRailway, Marketing Officer at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we're always glad to hear people have enjoyed themselves. We hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delightful little Railway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Gorgeous preserved (slate transporting originally?) railway (wish there were a lot more of these)!

Will definately go again, and it is so nice to see young people volunteer to do such fantastic work to keep this going. Well done :D

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalyllynRailway, Marketing Officer at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

We are glad you enjoyed visiting. You are correct that the railway was built to carry slate as well as passengers. A brief but informative history appears on our website http://talyllyn.co.uk/history for anyone who is interested.

We are also very proud that we have so many young volunteers who give their time to help out (in-fact we love all our volunteers!).

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

regards,
Phil Eaton,
Marketing Officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“All Day Train Journey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

For a contrast boarded Cambrian Railway train (Arriva Wales) from Pwllheli ti Towyn to join Talyllyn Steam train for journey, the are more vintage in style then Ffestiniogg however they offer excellent disabled access to passengers in adapted carriage with removable ramp to BR standards.

Toilet facilities at Towyn excellent unfortunately toilets not so good at other stations.

I know early in season - however menu very limited - no soup on afternoon run or hot snacks - basically tea/coffee/hot choc with cake/sandwich/crisp/chocolate and cold drinks.

Heater did not work

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalyllynRailway, Marketing Officer at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you appreciated the ramped access to the carriages. You will be glad to hear that since your visit we have purchased three additional ramps, so that all our principle stations are now accessible from the train.

I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with the standard of the toilets at the 'other stations', if there was anything specifically wrong or something we can improve on, please get in touch with enquires@talyllyn.co.uk and we will do our best to make the improvements.

You are correct in your statement that there is a limited menu at Abergynolwyn during the low season. It is our intention to try and avoid waste in order to keep our food at affordable prices. We do indeed add a wider range including hot panini and soup from the start of the main season (typically last week in March/ first week of April). Hot food including daily specials are available at King's Cafe at the other end of the railway.

The heaters on our trains should charge up overnight and heat the trains during the day, this is necessary because we do not have electricity to power them onboard the trains. However the heaters do occasionally fail to charge, if you did not report it on the day we would be keen to hear what train you travelled on (date & time) so we can make sure that we solve these problems.

We look forward to being able to welcome you again in the future.

regards,

Phil Eaton,
Marketing Officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great day out for all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I took my young daughter to meet the Easter bunny. A great day was had which included chocolate eggs, a trip on the train and lunch!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalyllynRailway, Marketing Officer at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed meeting the Easter Bunny and taking a trip on the Talyllyn Railway. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

regards,

Phil Eaton,
Marketing Officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talyllyn Railway also viewed

 

Been to Talyllyn Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talyllyn Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.