We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talyllyn Railway

Talyllyn Railway
Wharf Station, Tywyn LL36 9EY, Wales
01654 710 472
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Tywyn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Talyllyn Railway is a historic narrow gauge steam railway, running from Tywyn to Abergynolwyn and Nant Gwernol through unspoilt Snowdonia. Tywyn is home to the Narrow Gauge Railway Museum, Railway Shop and King's Licensed Cafe & Bistro. The line passes the delightful Dolgoch Falls and there are excellent forest walks at Nant Gwernol.We offer a great day out for all the family. Groups receive a discount when booked in advance.
Eyam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I visited the railway as part of my research for a university project based on the railway. I couldn't have asked for better service. The staff were all friendley and approachable and when they found out y reason for visiting they even managed to arrange a quick ride in the cab of the engine as it ran round the train and a ride int he guards van back down to the wharf.

I really cannot fault the service this railway gives. All the staff kindly went out of there way to make the day as good as it possibly could have been. I'll definatley be back for another visit!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalyllynRailway, Marketing Officer at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
@RobJackson We are glad we could assist you in your university research and that you had an enjoyable day whilst your were here. We are always happy to help out were we can and show people behind the scenes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    36
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tårnby
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Top class narrow gauge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Best narrow gauge railway i've tried. Nice engines and nice route. Do get of at Dol Goch and walk around.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset uk
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a lovely day out on the railway. We arrived not knowing the timetable and the station master very kindly held the train for us to get on. It was good fun with nice plush seats! We didn't get out for the falls.... maybe next time? There were no signs warning people NOT to put their heads out of the window.. I shut my eyes when we went through tunnels as a child was sticking his head out. Fortunately, he pulled his head in, in time! I know it wasn't his fault, just his daft- but- nice Grandad's, maybe?

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry, england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

a little piece of living history against a fantastic backdrop. never fails to disappoint come rain or shine.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Baby's first steam train”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My 20 mth old, like most his age I expect, has a fascination for trains so while we were staying in Dolgellau during a short break in Wales we were recommended to go to the Talyllyn Railway. We got there just in time and in actual fact were a bit late but the platform guard held the train up while I got the tickets! We spent a great afternoon despite the rain travelling up and down this mostly picture postcard route and at the end of it rounded off the trip with a visit to the Museum. I loved it! ... I think my son did too ;)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talyllyn Railway also viewed

 
Fairbourne, Gwynedd
 

Been to Talyllyn Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talyllyn Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.