We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Judith & Ken” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monfa Guest House

Monfa Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tywyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monfa Guest House
Pier Road, Tywyn LL36 0AU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Tywyn B&B and Inns
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Judith & Ken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here twice recently, firstly for three nights and then a short time later for a further night.
Although the reason for our visit to Tywyn this time was not a happy one we could not have been more warmly welcomed both by Shaun and Paula and Shaun's parents Sylvia and Stewart.
Nothing was too much trouble and the help and kindness shown were above and beyond.
The room was first class, lovely and clean with a very comfy bed.
The breakfast was fantastic, plenty of choice and with a full English superb breakfast if required, superb in both quality and quantity.
For anyone staying here in the summer time the beach is only a stone's throw away and you can walk to the town centre in a few minutes.There are plenty of wonderful places nearby to visit and a narrow gauge railway in Tywyn which does trips up into the forest.
If we return to Tywyn we would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
21
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have stayed at the Monfa on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed . There is always a warm welcome from Shaun & Paula who make you feel like one of the family. The rooms are well kept and comfortable even in the worst of weather. A real plus is Shaun’s full English breakfast which together with the cereals and toast on offer will set you up for the day. Would recommend the Monfa to any one, a real jewel in Tywyn’s Crown

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We are so glad we decided to stay at Monfa guest house again for our out of season break. This is our second stay. They provide the warmest of welcomes. Our breakfast, which was presented beautifully, was very tasty and saw us through till the evening. Our room was well decorated and immaculately clean with a lovely cosy feel. It was a joy to return to after a long days walk. All just as we remembered from our first visit last year.
Monfa is conveniently situated 3 minuets walk from the town of Tywyn so evening meals are easily obtained. It is within a stones throw from the beach and a few miles inland brings you to the foot hills around Cader Idris. So if you like walking with your shoes off along the beach or climbing the hills, valleys and river estuary’s then Monfa is the base from which you can do it all.
We highly recommend this welcoming friendly guest house to anyone visiting the Cardigan Bay area. Monfa has it all.
Well done Paula and Shaun. We look forward to seeing you again soon

S & J Darby

Room Tip: Our first stay was in a room on the front of the property over looking Pier Road, with a sea view to...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We booked this guesthouse for a 2 night break but wished we had booked longer, our room on the front had fantastic views of Cardigan bay and Snowdonia, the whole place was spotlessly clean and comfortable, Shaun and Paula are the perfect hosts supported by Shauns parents Sylvia and Stewart, breakfast was another enjoyable experience will be going back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Having booked this guesthouse for its location.....next to the sea and away from the hustle of Aberdovey!.....I was delighted to find the owners were very welcoming and added greatly to my stay. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable and I shall be returning again next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Dropped in on this fantastic B&B by chance during a spontaneous seaside day visit brought on by a great weekend weather forecast and could not have asked for more! The bedroom and dining room were imaculately presented and the whole place was spotless. Add to this the warmest of welcomes given to myself, my wife and our two young children by our married hosts, Shaun & Paula and thanks to them the weekend was a complete success! Not to mention the beautifully cooked and served full english breakfast. We will definitely be going back to Monfa

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Called on spec, around 7.30pm whilst on weekend motorcycle tour, made to feel very welcome from the off. Family run and homely accomodation, spotlessly clean, very comfortable. Our room on the front of the building had views of Cardigan Bay and up to Snowdonia. Perfect. Shaun booked our evening meal for us in town, and with Paula (and Mum!) produced a tasty breakfast too.
Would happily recommend, we will stay here again without question.

Andy and Julie

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monfa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monfa Guest House

Address: Pier Road, Tywyn LL36 0AU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tywyn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tywyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B. All rooms en-suite. One double,one twin and one family room. All rooms have view of sea and/or Snowdonia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monfa Guest House Tywyn, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monfa Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Monfa Guest House to your Saves list