We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to see the Talyllyn Railroad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merton Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tywyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merton Villa
Save
You added Merton Villa to your Saves list
High Street, Tywyn LL36 9AD, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Tywyn B&B and Inns
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to see the Talyllyn Railroad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My family and I stayed here in late August, 2012, traveling all the way from New York City. We booked at the last minute, and were very happy to find a place in Tywyn. The Merton Villa and the Ralph family made us feel incredibly at home in Tywyn, and Wales. The hotel is centrally located in Tywyn, convenient to the main train station (a 3 minute walk) and the beach (10 minute walk). The hotel is also 5 minutes from the attraction we came for, the Talyllyn Railroad, the oldest preservation narrow gauge railroad in the world, featured in the Railroad Series of W. Awdrey (Thomas the Tank Engine). The rooms in the hotel were impeccably clean, quiet and comfortable. The full breakfast was excellent. I can't say enough about the Ralph family, and how welcome they made us feel. They arranged for cab rides to neighboring towns, found an ATM for us when we ran low on pounds sterling, and even washed a few of my son's shirts, when he ran out. If we ever have the good fortune to return to coastal Wales, we would certainly want to stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a two-bed room, facing away from the street, towards the garden. Very quiet, easy to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
14
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just to back up what others have said , superb accomodation , spotless , great breakfast and nothing was to much trouble . Also great location would highly recommend to anyone , will be back again . Many thanks Dave & Angie .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We enjoyed 2 nights here,the family were very welcoming we stayed in the double blue room which was clean and the bed was very comfortable and I loved the hot shower,and the full English breakfast filled us for the day,highly recommended to anyone,many thanks April and Darren

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

stayed here 11-8-12 for 1 night,wish we could have stayed longer the ralph family are so friendly after about 5 mins was like you had known them for years,food was great, rooms were faultless,they just make you feel so much at home,thank you so much will definitly stay again,
p.s. i almost forgot stan asked me not mention him,ooops

Room Tip: rooms at the rear are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed there last weekend for three nights. Superb accommodation, clean, warm and luxurious. Service was extremely friendly and made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble.....and the breakfast should be award winning!

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Spent 4 nights here with my mum during Race the train 2011. I can't reccomend this place enough the rooms are spotless, the catering and hospitality was second to none they even let us wash our muddy trainers out in their beautifully planted garden! The best part of the stay was meeting the family who made us feel so at home. So a big thankyou to the Ralphs! X

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haag an der Amper, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We spent 2 nights here and can only recommend to stay here,very nice and very clean rooms,and a great great breakfast to start the day would come back again.An ideal place to travel around mid Wales a must isthe Talyllyn railway which is a day trip on it`s own.We travelled by train for this short trip but had no problems getting around

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merton Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton Villa

Address: High Street, Tywyn LL36 9AD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tywyn
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tywyn
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merton Villa has a four star rating by the Welsh Tourist Board and all of our rooms are en-suite. We are situated on the West coast of Wales, in the town of Tywyn, which is in the county of Gwynedd within the Snowdonia National Park. Tywyn has a lot to offer, both for families and adventure seekers, and our guest house is situated just a short walk away from many of the local attractions and the blue flag awarded beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Merton Villa Tywyn, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merton Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.