We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Arthur Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tywyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Arthur Guest House
Save
You added The Arthur Guest House to your Saves list
6 Marine Parade, Tywyn LL36 ODE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Tywyn B&B and Inns
Truro
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Maggie and Jack provide an excellent service in this lovely guesthouse, facing Cardigan Bay.
Waking up to the sound of the waves takes some beating, as does their delicious breakfasts. The rooms are tastefully furnished, immaculately clean and if you're not lucky enough to get a sea view room, (book early) the rooms at the back have wonderful views of Snowdonia. Maggie and Jack are excellent hosts and guests are made to feel so welcome. All in all a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
27
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Have been going to tywyn for over 20 years to visit my parents, and offcourse always stayed at thier home, However, due to the loss of my father ( Bob baines ) both my wife and I plus other members of our family stayed at this lovelly guest house which was just a 2 min walk from my parents house, we didnt expect anything special , we just needed a room to sleep in , WOW, what a surprise we had, excellent friendly service , lovelly clean rooms , sea views to front ( I have seen dolphins on every visit to tywyn ) and mountain views to the rear, breakfast menu was extensive and superb. Very comfortable and relaxing lounge area and in just 1 minute you could be sitting on a bench whatching out for the dolphins . Alas, my mother is now selling her home so not likely to be visiting tywyn so often in the future , But when we do, we will not even consider staying anywhere else than the arthur.

Room Tip: It is a small bonus to have a room at the front with the sea view, but to be honest you only have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

If you are going to Wales you must stay at the Arthur. It is one of the best experiences you will ever have in a small friendly hotel. The whole expereince is just wonderful. The rooms are modern and bright and very clean. The food is beautifully prepared and served. And best of all the staff, that is mainly Maggie and Jack, are the very best hosts you could ask for. We think it is the best value and the location is fanstastic for local sightseeing or day trips. \you must try it!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great , but book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

Great rooms, very clean, great welcome, great breakfast, all in all lovely place

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We arrived at this Hotel having stopped previously at other Tywyn Hotels which have to say the least have been disapointing. Well we need'nt have worried because this Hotel is Quality throughout, from the time you arrive and are met by the hosts Maggie and Jack who can not do enough for you.

The Hotel it's self is very well decorated and furnished to a very high quality. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel is close to the twon and local restaurants.

Would we return, We intend to.

Room Tip: Book early the Hotel is very popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

You always get a warm and friendly welcome from hosts Jack & Maggie to their 4 star Guest House. The Guest House is situated overlooking Cardigan Bay and just a few feet from the beach at Tywyn. Parking could not be any easier.
We have stayed here on several occasions and have chosen the seaview room with views over Cardigan Bay. The sounds of the water breaking on the golden sands is welcoming and relaxing. The sunset is lovely.
The room is very clean, spacious and very comfortable with en-suite shower and toilet.
There's a very good choice of breakfast from traditional cooked Welsh breakfast to cereals, fruit, fruit juice, toast, tea, coffee etc..
We will definately be back again next year.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudhoe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Stayed four nights in room 4 (small solo, with balcony), Fantastic.

Room Tip: Seaview is a bonus, also rooms with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Arthur Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arthur Guest House

Address: 6 Marine Parade, Tywyn LL36 ODE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tywyn
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tywyn
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Arthur Guest House Tywyn, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Arthur Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.