We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“third visit to this little boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manorhaus Ruthin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Manorhaus Ruthin to your Saves list
Manorhaus Ruthin
10 Well Street, Ruthin LL15 1AH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Ruthin B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“third visit to this little boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is our third visit to the Manorhaus and we were not disappointed. We were greeted by Chris one of the owners as Gavin was at their new hotel in Llangollan (sorry to the welsh about spelling ) There was a magnificent real Christmas tree in the entrance. We were shown to our room we stayed in Oriel 7 again a favourate of ours, beautifully decorated with a large coach, tv dvd player and radio alarm clock, a small bathroom with bath and shower.~The pictures on the wall and throughout the hotel are from local artists and i am sure if you can afford to buy you can! The breakfast is lovely with freshly squeezed orange juice, cereals and fresh fruit, and then a selection of lovely home made breakfasts we had the full english excellent. We travelled by the local bus on Saturday to Wrexham only every hour but it was relaxing sitting and letting the driver do all the work.We booked the cinema which is situated in the basement, the stairs leading down have all been improved as has the lighting leading to the cinema it has a real feel of a real cinema and very easy to operate there are two sittings 6.30pm and 8.30pm After watching the film we went upstairs and sat by the log fire and had coffee with delicious home made sweets and relaxed. I would definately recommend this hotel for couples who would like a romantic weekend (or longer) which is very intimate.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    59
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
12
225
13
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I am going to be brief, if you are a couple or family ect do stay here I am sure you will enjoy. If you read the bad reviews you might notice somthing in common all of these guests were traveling for buisness purposes. If you travel with work or world wide and you are used to a 24hr reception, all you can eat breakfast buffet. Customer service, minimalist clean functional rooms and a lift. Room service around the clock. You are probably going to the wrong place. We stayed two nights here and then one in the star at the bottom of the quaint little village that is ruthin as my wife could not take any more. We found the staff in the star to be more pleasant. The rooms were more modern and clean looking. The food was to die for. As for the Manorhaus we were disapointed and would not concider staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The room though a little small was well appointed and the wet room was nice. There are plenty of drinks provided with the tea and coffee making facilities and lovely fluffy towels. The dressing gown and flip flops were a nice addition.

The hotel is quirky with art works around, a library (including dvds for your room) and a sauna & steam room. The restaurant is good, including breakfast. The bar and lounge too - the chairs are much comfier than they look! But a real gem is the cinema that can be booked by guests. It was lovely to sit in comfort and watch our choice of film for free and without anyone else. A treat!

It was a lovely escape from normal life and I would recommend it. Ruthin is a nice small town too. We went on a KGB deals which made it even sweeter.

Room Tip: Probably best to choose a room away from the road if you can. It was a little noisy on a Saturday ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This place is excellent - friendly and extremely helpful staff and owners, and a great room. We had the suite (Room 5) which is great, next to the Library full of books, CDs and DVDs to borrow. There is also a small Spa which you can book, and it's right in the middle of Ruthin which is a great little town. Ruthin has several bars around the main square (1 min walk away) and 2 great restaurants, but the restaurant in this hotel is the best place to eat in town. It's about £26 for 2 courses and well worth it, with lots of good wine too (the wine is £20+)
Best feature of all however is the little cinema in the basement which you can also book, and watch any of about 70 films all available - amazing!

Room Tip: Quietest rooms are 4 and 5 which are suites and a bit more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Got a 2 night stay with a living social voucher, did not know the area at all so did not know what to expect. The hotel is in the middle of a lovely historic town set in the middle of beautiful welsh country side. The hotel itself is really stylish with great decor and real attention detail. Our room was lovely, clean and well accessorised. The cinema room and spa were also a great bonus feature and the food in the restaurant was outstanding. Would definitely reccomend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is the second timewe have stayed at manorhaus. Unlikley to be the last.
Everything about this hotel is excellent. All staff are vey friendly and nothing appears to be any trouble for them.
We stayed in Oriel 6 which is pretty small but we knew that before we arrived. The room albeit small had everything we needed. Asked for hypo allergenic bedding prior to arrival and it was there on arrival.
Our room had a wet room which again wasn't huge but as I keep telling the Mrs, size isn't everything.
Well replenished tea and coffee within room, excellent flat screen TV, bed so comfortable. Room was above the main street and there was some noise partic on Sat night, but hey, its a town with pubs, what do you suspect.
Managed to change the clock in my room from BST (unlike other reviewer) and as such was in plenty time for the excellent breakfast. Loads of choice, made to order, freshly squeezed orange juice, great coffee. Used both the Spa/sauna and the private cinema. Both facilities are great and a huge plus for the hotel.
Never ate in the restaurant this time as decided to try some other local ones but have done so previously.
would recommend Manorhaus to anybody. The owners and staff are very nice, facilities are great.Hope to return. Thanks Oh yes, parking permit is great too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Clean, friendly and perfect location - even provided a car parking permit! Well organised and lovely breakfast. A great place to stay and would certainly book again if we were in the area. We spent 3 nights in Ruthin and had a very relaxing time. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manorhaus Ruthin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manorhaus Ruthin

Address: 10 Well Street, Ruthin LL15 1AH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manorhaus is a boutique style eight-bedroom townhouse restaurant and gallery in the centre of Ruthin, a historic market town nestled in the Vale of Clwyd. A Grade II listed Georgian building, its original features have been juxtaposed with stylish modern interior design and 21st Century facilities, including mini fitness room; guest library with magazines, books and dvd's; private cinema; sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Manorhaus Ruthin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manorhaus Hotel Ruthin
Manorhaus Ruthin Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manorhaus Ruthin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.