We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable old world” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruthin Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ruthin Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Ruthin Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable old world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a really comfortable hotel in a old wall charm environment , the rooms are large as you'd expect in a modern castle with lots of original features . The bedrooms are also large with a very comfortable bed and modern amenities , the staff are pleasant and very helpful, there is a nice friendly feel throughout. The breakfast room / restaurant really is a special room that has a old world feel , there is a good choice for breakfast either continental or cooked with the evening meal being of a high standard. The ground are well maintained with their own peacocks to wake you up nice and early, there is also the remains of a medieval castle in the grounds that you can stroll around at leisure. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon. Also don't miss a visit to Ruthin town as it is a lovely market town.

Room Tip: Room 202 very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    278
    93
    49
    36
See reviews for
110
609
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights B & B with 3 course dinner included on 1st night in Bertie's Restaurant. Had a fabulous time, loved everything about the hotel especially the peacocks and the so cute baby peacocks.
The grounds are amazing and the castle ruins are so romantic. Food in Berties was excellent and beautifully presented, the staff surprised us at the end of our meal with a glass each of complimentary champagne and a large glass dish of chocolate brownies and fresh strawberries, iced onto the plate was 'Happy Anniversary', we were very touched by this lovely gesture.
Breakfast was good, especially the homemade welsh cakes which were delicious.
Our room was spotless with a huge comfy bed and stylish slate bathroom with fluffy towels.
All the staff were so friendly, polite and welcoming and I would like to say a big thank you to them all for making our Silver Anniversary so special.
We were sad to leave and really hope we get to visit this beautiful place again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Marketing Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Tracey

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review of your stay at Ruthin Castle Hotel. The whole Castle Team are exceptionally pleased that you enjoyed your Anniversary stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon...

Best wishes for many more happy years of Marriage.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Beautiful hotel, much bigger than expected. Excellent staff, all welcoming and helpful without exception. Well thought through guest rooms finished to a lovely spec. Can recommend Dragon tyres in Ruthin if you have problems with your car - we had a tyre puncture on arrival and reception gave a recommendation which turned out to be brilliant. The peacocks wonderful entertainment! Ruthin a lovely small historic town (more like a village.....). We shall return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Marketing Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to give us such lovely feedback regarding your stay with us.

I'm exceptionally pleased that you enjoyed your stay and have passed your comments on to the Ruthin Castle Hotel team.

I look forward to welcoming you back upon your next stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Afternoon tea, sitting in the sun on the bar terrace. Excellent service, very friendly staff. Will definitely be back, hopefully to stay next time. Thoroughly enjoyable afternoon. Ruthin is a lovely town to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Another lovely stay in Ruthin The accomodation is spacious and charming and the area well worth a visit We will return often.This is our second visit and we were just as pleased as last year.The check in staff are helpful and the overall atmosphere is welcoming.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you want to splash out but not neccesary
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is an awesome place to stay especially if you are into history as it still has the remains of the old medieval castle in the grounds which we took delight in exploring every nook and cranny even over in the cow's field where there seemed to be some standing stones? I call it 'fairy tale' as it was our anniversary and was so comfortable and relaxing to stay here. Admittedly this was done on a KGB deal we probably wouldn't have stayed otherwise as it is quite expensive. On our arrival we were greeted with the door being opened for us and escorted to reception where we enjoyed complimentary champagne, this seemed to be the norm, we were then escorted around the castle to our room. Our room looked out onto where the wedding gazebo was along with the gardens and of course all the 'peacocks' and 3 babies who were a little noisy at times especially first thing in the morning as they woke my hubby up, but they were beautiful and liked to display their feathers. We have no complaints whatsoever about room, inside the building is absolutely fascinating. The bar area was not overly expensive and was quite surprised at the cost of drinks, food was excellent in the bar. Breakfast is continental style with the waiting staff treating you like royals. The downside was that it was very warm in our room and were asked not to open our windows because of the 'May bugs'. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anybody especially if you are looking for something a little different and cosy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for a couple of nights in April while visiting family and loved everything about the place, apart from one incident.

Check in was smooth, the staff were friendly and welcoming. In the evening, we went for drinks in the bar before our meal in the main restaurant, the service was very professional in both the bar and restaurant and the food was delicious.

The next day we were looking after my niece and decided to have lunch and a wonder around the grounds of the castle, the hotel really is in a beautiful setting!

The one incident that would have ruined our stay if everything else wasn't perfect happened while we were walking through the corridors with my niece, a young girl with dark red hair in staff uniform burst out of a door swearing very aggressively and loudly and then stormed past us without even a second glance. I couldn't believe it, all in front of my young niece! We had seen this girl the day before and both commented that she looked miserable, slumping around the place like she didn't want to be there.

I felt like I didn't want to say anything on the day or on check out because I didn't want to take anything away from how lovely the rest of our break was but now I wish I had said something.

All in all, everything was perfect apart from that one incident, and that girl really is a disgrace to the rest of the hotel. Every single other member of staff we encountered was friendly and couldn't do more for us. I would still go back again, just with the hope that girl was no longer there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruthin Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthin Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthin Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical Welsh hotel with mediaeval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on award winning cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ruthin Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Ruthin
Ruthin Castle Hotel Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruthin Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.