We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruthin Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ruthin Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Ruthin Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Recently stayed here ona KGB deal and it was absolutely divine ! You really do know you are staying in a castle from the moment you drive through the front gates. Our room was perfect with I-Pod docking station, roll top bath, top of the range toiletries.

Peacocks roaming around the grounds can be a little noisy but they just added to the charm in our opinion.

We didn't eat in Bertie's restaurant as we were too late back from our sightseeing and Snowdon climbing but breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    328
    111
    59
    40
See reviews for
126
700
11
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Used a voucher for this midweek break and what great value this turned out to be.Beautiful castle set in tranquil grounds although the peacocks were a bit noisey outside our window.The food in "Bertie,s restaurant was faultless and the whole experience made me feel quite special.Cant wait for a re-visit.Steeped in history.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms at the front of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Visited this Hotel on Sunday 17 March for an overnight stay with my Mum and two sisters on a DBB basis. Overall very relaxing, enjoyed the afternoon in the Spa, had lovely rooms, fab meal in the restaurant, super breakfast. Hotel has a relaxing bar, friendly hotel staff and we loved exploring the ground walls. Hotel is only two minutes walk in to the quaint little market town of Ruthin. Would recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Having been here for afternoon tea a while ago, I've always wanted to stay but since we are fairly local it seemed excessive! However, we were given a voucher as a gift and booked the Lillie Langtree suite for a one night stay. At £165 it wasn't cheap but the room was beautiful. A large, airy room with four poster bed, sofa, big TV, dressing area, fireplace, double bath and separate WC/shower. Huge bay window with views over the grounds. The room was clean, air conditioned and very well presented - we just noticed a few ceiling cracks. We had a wander round the beatiful grounds - very peaceful with peacocks wandering around. We ate in the Library bar and ended up sat there the whole night playing cards - it was lovely and relaxing the the staff were attentive and friendly. It really is a great place to stay and is only a couple of minutes' walk from the town centre so is well placed too. The grounds and building are very grand and full of character. Would love to stay here again and make use of the spa facilities next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We looked for a weekend retreat away from kids and dogs and found Ruthin Castle. The minute we walked through the door the team made us welcome in a relaxed family way, quite unique in a 4* castle. Although it was full over the weekend we both felt relaxed and at ease with all efforts from the team to make our experience an enjoyable and relaxing one. The spa was excellent and food superb, making you feel you were taking part in an episode of Master Chef. I have never experienced food and flavors to this level yet a staff team relaxed and on your level. Would highly recommend and will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My Fiancee and I booked through secret escapes a night at Ruthin Castle. We arrived on a sunny spring afternoon and the peacocks were wandering round the courtyard. We could not check into our rom until nearly 3 pm but the hotel said we could use the spa facilities until then. Instead we walked around the castle.
We checked into our room which was a Noble room. it was very spacious and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities, iron, hairdryer and TV. The beds were comfortable and the Spa was nice with very helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have just got back today from a two night break here and cannot fault the place. We had a very good deal with KGB which I booked a few months ago. As this weekend was our 1st wedding anniversary and my birthday too checked before booking with KGB dates were available and the hotel came straight back via email saying they were so went ahead and booked the deal.

For what we had paid was expecting to be put in a broom cupboard or as good as but no, the room was stunning with a view of the fields and moden but still in keeping with the Castle atmosphere.

We ate twice at the hotel in the Libary Bar where the barman, think his name was Kenny was very helpful and made sure we had all we needed, insisting he bring everything to us to save us standing at the bar. All other staff were very helpful to and everybody smiled and said hello.

The grounds are so nice to stroll around and I have so many pictures if peacocks wanting to show of their feathers I could fill an album just with those.

I also found out on returning home that I had left my mobile phone in my room so phoned up and Amy on reception, again very helpful, has promised to post it back to me next week.

So all in all, I would visit again and pay the full price as even without the deal I would say it would be worth every penny!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruthin Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthin Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthin Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical Welsh hotel with mediaeval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on award winning cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ruthin Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Ruthin
Ruthin Castle Hotel Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruthin Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.