We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruthin Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ruthin Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Ruthin Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Anniversary Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and i had a fabulous stay at the castle for two nights for our 30th anniversary. The staff were superb throughout our stay, they were more than accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. We had the 'Lillie suite' which was very airy and a large room. It was a wonderful few days away. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: As far as i am aware all of the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    328
    111
    60
    40
See reviews for
127
702
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked a deal with group on and was not too disappointed with overall look of hotel . But unfortunately there were two weddings taking place which interfered with what was supposed to be a relaxing one nights stay.room was very small despite the fact we upgraded but the furnishings were gorgeous. The only issue in the bathroom was that the curtains did not meet and water went everywhere . We were told the bathroom was a wet room and that's how the curtains were meant to be!dryer not working , surely everything should be checked, but one was sent o the room. Restaurant was expensive so ate in the bar lounge. Portions not too big. After dinner went to bar area but had to leave as noise from disco was rather loud. Hotel should let you know when there are weddings on

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at Ruthin Castle with three friends last week.

Was there things wrong? Yes there was. But at every turn, when an issue was flagged, the wonderful staff, were straight on it. This is the reason for the 'very good' review. I do feel that the hotel staff take it upon themselves to 'get it right'.

I won't linger on the small issues, as the location, the quality of the rooms and (yes I know I've mentioned them previously) the wonderful staff make this a great hotel.

To be expected, but really not at all appreciated, are the awful tasteless remains of very many poor souls, hung in reception, looking down at the guests as they arrive and depart... unpleasant!

I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelmersdale lancs
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just arrived back from a lovely one night stay.My daughter bought the hotel stay from groupon. We had a really nice time. We were greeted with warm smiles and although we were a little early, we were booked in right away with no fuss. Our room (122) was very nice, a very large comfy bed and a very nice bathroom. I found it a bit difficult to get into the bath(shower attached) but I have only got legs like Ernie Wise had,short,fat etc!! Bathroom and bedroom were both spotless. The room was temperature controlled, so you could be as warm or cool as you liked. Also the window opened wide if required. Flat screen t.v. in room, as well as a docking station for ipod. Tea and coffee and kettle in room also and a hairdryer in the bathroom.The hotel has lovely grounds and there are peacocks roaming around. I will return here in the future.All staff were very pleasant and helpful. I thank them all.

Room Tip: We were in room 122. Very quiet, looked out over fields with sheep in. No problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in March 2013. The room was very small (no. 129), but the decor was lovely. Massive super king size bed, that was very comfortable and filled up most of the room available... as I say, the room was very small, but adequate. The bathroom was very tastefully done (black and white) with a kidney shaped bath standing on lovely silver clawed feet. What I particularly liked about the bath was that there was a hand held shower which you could use to wash your hair whilst lying in the bath, and then another shower above that you could stand under to rinse off. Also the bathroom was a nice size. There were plenty of bathroom toiletries too, which were very nice. There was a well stocked tea and and coffee unit with biscuits. Unfortunately, both the bed side table lights were not working (which we didn't realise until we went to bed!), but they got fixed the following day. However, the towel rail in the bathroom did not work, but that didn't get fixed. This meant that when we both had baths/shower on the second night, our towels were still damp the following morning.... we did mention it again when we checked out so hopefully the next guests might have a working towel radiator. There were not many people around in the hotel, so the public areas were empty e.g. the bar and the seating areas, which were all lovely and comfortable with nice leather sofas. The Library bar was nice and relaxing... unfortunately the fire was not lit in there as it had been a particularly warm day I suppose... but would never the less would have liked the fire going. We did not have the cooked breakfast... just the Continental ( they call it a Welsh Bakery breakfast). There was some lovely ham (the proper ham off the bone), and some nice cheeses, hard boiled eggs and a good selection of different breads. However, strangely enough, there was no cold sliced tomato. The selection of the breakfast fruits was lovely.. prunes, apricots, mixed fruit salad (although there was no fresh fruit), and a great big bowl of thick cream (which was very yummy). The croisants were beautiful... very fresh, and there was a variety of pastries and muffins. And there was the usual cereals and fruit juices. The grounds of the hotel are really lovely, and there are quite a few peacocks strutting around. We did not dine in the hotel because we found a fantastic restaurant in Ruthin (On the Hill) which I had read up about on Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed, dining there on both the nights of our stay. Just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and you are in the centre of Ruthin town. There is a large Wether spoons in the square which was very clean and comfortable. We had lunch there one day which was great and there was a meal deal with a drink. Ruthin is a quaint little market town, and enjoyed ambling around it. There is a fantastic mens shop (Trevfor Jones) where the other half kept popping in and ended up buying some great Barbour trousers, and some Brhuel trousers and a lovely jumper. It really was an excellent mens shop. There are 3 or 4 pubs we came across, and went in them all. Unfortunately, as with most pubs today, they are empty and therefore not much atmosphere. I will write a separate review about the On the Hill restaurant, but it is some of the best food that we have ever had, and was quite reasonably priced. Starters were around £6, mains were between £14-£22, and deserts around £6. And the bottles of wine started at around £14. The menu is, I feel, very inventive and not your run of the mill stuff.... it was all so beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. You are advised to book a table. On both the nights that we went (which was mid week) it was very busy. So, all in all, we had a nice 2 day relaxing break in Ruthin, and the castle was an ideal location in beautiful Ruthin. Forgot to say, we had a Living Social deal for or stay at Ruthin Castle which was £99 for the 2 night stay. I would not have liked to have paid the usual tarriff of around £100 per night, it was just not worth it.... but the deal of £99 for the 2 nights was great value.

Room Tip: Room 129 was very small and a little claustrophobic, but tastefully furnished. And there was not mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I have just arrived back from a 2 night stay at Ruthin. I am close to saying that our stay was 'faultless'. The Castle is steeped in history and you get a real flavour of this when walking around the magnificent grounds, which are kept to a very high standard and home to a number of beautiful peacocks. Internally, the originality has been maintained where possible and despite extensions and renovations, the theme of the architecture and history continues throughout. There are plenty of areas to relax/lounge and feel like lord/lady of the manor. Our room was airing on the small side (R127) but was beautifully decorated, well equipped and contained lots of storage. The bed was VERY comfortable and the bathroom with the roll top bath and power shower was a nice touch. The Library Bar has a comfortable, relaxed, friendly ambience and drinks/food are reasonably priced. The staff that dealt with us on reception, in the bar, breaksfast room and spa were all incredibly friendly, helpful and a credit to the hotel. The stay included a continental breakfast which was fantastic and gave more than enough choice but you can pay extra for cooked items. We visited the Moat Spa (indoor) twice during our stay which was included as a hotel guest and made the experience even more relaxing - variety of hot tubs, steam, sauna, drench shower and relaxation room (treatments as optional extras). As for the location, the castle is right on the edge of the town of Ruthin which is definitely worth a stroll into. Also steeped in history and has a number of stunning houses and buildings from the mid centuries. Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend and will definitely be returning at some point.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just returned from an excellent weekend away at Ruthin Castle. Couple with two children, 3.5 and 5 mths. We were given a larger room with a single bed for my eldest and a cot for out baby. Great room, wonderful view and couldn't fault it. Lovely.

We were married here 5 years ago, and the new spa is a great addition. Use was included as part of our package, we didn't pay for any treatments or extras and weren't expecting much to be honest.

Has a brand new feel, 3 great hot tubs (well one was an ice cold tub that we couldn't quite manage). Really good sauna and steam rooms and very nice relaxation room. Will certainly return with friends and reserve the outdoor tub/sauna area.

Can't comment on treatments/extras but highly recommend a visit to the spa in it's own right - don't be put off by the lack of a pool as we nearly were.

Room Tip: 218 was a great large room with space for the kids. The feature rooms are superb as are the new ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruthin Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthin Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthin Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical Welsh hotel with mediaeval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on award winning cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ruthin Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Ruthin
Ruthin Castle Hotel Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruthin Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.