We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groupon Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruthin Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ruthin Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Ruthin Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Groupon Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Lovely Castle Hotel.in Ruthin North Wales, Stayed for one night courtesy of our Lovely Daughter as a Xmas gift. The room was lovely and clean and well heated and the Staff very polite and made you feel welcome. The Welsh buffet breakfast is more than adequate but you can pay extra for a cooked breakfast (6.50).We did not use the Hotel restaurant but instead visited the local Weatherspoons and had a lovely meal inclusive of a free drink.. The only down side to our visit was the use of sauna in the Moat Spa, after checking in we went down to use the sauna but the staff member told us it was full and to come back later. We asked what time it was open till and he said 8.00 pm. We returned at 7.10 pm and was told it was closed because " they did not think any one else would be using it at this time".and told us to try again on the Sunday at 9.00 a.m. We did not bother as Breakfast is served between 8-10 am.and checkout is at 11.00 am.So be aware closing time is when the staff decide and not the advertised time. Apart from this, we had a great weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    279
    94
    49
    36
See reviews for
112
609
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stafforshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Me and my husband have been coming to ruthin castle for years this was our 35th time and has never disappointed us. The staff are always ahappy,smiley, welcoming and always give 100 percent service on everything they do.
This weekend was extra special for us as we have booked to re take our vows in 2014 in the castle.
Thank you ruthin castle yet again for an unforgettable weekend.
See you July.
Love always the lisle family :) x

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a lovely romantic castle, ideal for couples, right in the centre of beautiful Ruthin, within easy owrk of numerous lovely shops cafes and restaurants. We stayed in their smallest room ("noble room"). The room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom is gorgeous. The room was lovely and warm, but you might need a cardigan when sitting in the public areas, as this is a real castle.
The welsh bakery breakfast is an excellent continental style offering, which had a good range of cold meat & cheese alongside the usual fruit, cereal & pastries. Your room rate includes this at no extra charge, but excellent hot options are also available.
Berties restaurant is superb as a special occasion venue. Excellent menu, highly recommended for a "dress up" evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked for a late valentines get away in a 'Noble' room. The hotel is fairly easy to find, and is very impressive on the drive up. The receptionist was very welcoming and efficient. We were given room 304 (top floor, no lift!), which was very spacious and clean, with lovely views of the surrounding hills and of the castle gardens.
I was slightly worried beforehand due to previous reviews about possible 'shabbiness' of the room, but considering the castle is almost 800 years old I have no complaints whatsoever! The only issue with the room was a rather firm mattress, we found another duvet which we laid on the bottom, but was still quiet hard for us.
The breakfast was great, the choice was really good. Think 7.30-930 for breakfast is limiting, we like to relax while away and having to get up at 9 can be early when your used to getting up at 6 and would like a lie in!
Just as a side note, we both believed we had a visitor on our last night in our room, we both had the feeling of being watched and heard strange noises. Maybe a plus for avid ghost hunters!
Overall we would definitely recommended the Ruthin Castle to anyone! We would love to come back soon!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Breath taking views, history & location. Didn't want to come home, can't wait to go back. The most amazing hotel I've ever visited.
We gasped at the views on arrival & was not disappointed when we entered. This castle is full of character & history. Very elegant & romantic surroundings with the most beautiful views from our suite room 218.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in the Prince of Wales suite at this fantastic hotel. The castle grounds are well worth a walk around if only for a chance to see the peacocks that make their home on the grounds. All the staff were helpful and pleasant and took the time for any questions we had on this busy weekend. The spa was well worth a visit and we enjoyed a relax in the jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has plenty of character and is steeped in history, fully recommended.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our third time here. The only hotel we've returned to repeatedly through choice. We took my wife's parents this time, who also loved it. We were in noble rooms this time, which were a bit smaller than other rooms, but still beautifully appointed.
As ever the food in Berties restaurant was excellent, as was the service throughout the hotel. We did'n t use the Moat spa, but the treatments sound lovely. Another reason to return!

Room Tip: I prefer the classic rooms to the noble, but they're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruthin Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthin Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthin Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical Welsh hotel with mediaeval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on award winning cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ruthin Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Ruthin
Ruthin Castle Hotel Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruthin Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.