We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would recommend to a friend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruthin Castle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ruthin Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ruthin Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ruthin
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“would recommend to a friend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We recently stayed at Ruthin Castle for 2 nights . we were impressed by the service,quality of rooms and continental breakfast. If you are looking for somewhere special to go you need look no further. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    458
    245
    76
    43
    29
See reviews for
101
530
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We bought a deal from KGB - For two people for two nights including continental breakfast and stayed from 26-28th oct. I really wouldn't have paid anymore than the deal price for what we got. We felt we were treated 'like we got a deal' I think we got the smallest room available (room 108) where you had to back yourself into sit on the toilet which was squeezed in next to the shower...I'm only a size 10 if your thinking different! The tv didn't work, the safe had to be reset before we could use it (I would have expected this to be checked when the room was 'cleaned'), the bed was full of dust and the headboard was chipped, the sheets even had dirty marks on them.
The staff were miserable only two managed to give us a smile the three days we were there.
We had breakfast there each morning. The first morning the staff clearly struggled to attend to everyone and keep the continental breakfast topped up and the second morning we were given a table with used cutlery.
For a 4* hotel this was not what I would expect. There were no dressing gowns, the fridge had no mini bar and our room wasn't cleaned until we left! We were there two nights.
On a positive note the cooked breakfast was good (I chose the £6.50 one) and the grounds of this hotel are stunning. The town is beautiful too with very friendly people. We ate at a local restaurant called 'on the hill' and the service was amazing...far better than that of the hotel.
All in all we won't return to Ruthin Castle hotel but will return to this part of Wales again.
I would only rate as 3*.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and i stayed in the Ruthin castle Hotel on October 21st and 22nd. We have to say that our stay was superb and we would recommend the hotel to everyone.
The bedroom was very large and had a beautiful large bed that could sleep4!! The room had 2 very comfortable chairs as well as a writing desk and a large flat screen TV. The room was very clean and the decor evoked images of Edwardian splendour.
The castle itself is magnificent and steeped in history, with the extensive and well kept grounds being an added bonus as there is plenty to explore.
The standard of cleanliness was very good throughout and the staff were all very helpful and friendly.
We enjoyed the bar meals and the setting to eat them in could not be beaten.
Special mention should be made of the wonderful continental breakfast as not only was there a wonderful selection but the quality was superb, whether it was the croissants , welsh cakes, breads or fruits.
We were very impressed for a first visit and will certainly visit again, especially as it is right in the centre of Ruthin.
Alan and Elaine Macfarlane

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livepool UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed overnight using a gift voucher bought for my wife and I ( 25 years married ) Room spotlessly clean and had a massive bed. Had a meal in the A la carte restaurant. Very enjoyable. Had full english breakfast next morning and very easy to summerise the experience. SUPERB ! Many thanks to all the staff who made our stay very memorable.

Room Tip: Enjoy the grounds. Just a beautiful place to stay. Go on treat yourself !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went to Ruthin Castle friday 26th from the moment we got there nothing was to much trouble ,the room was to die for an a view out of every window ,the food was of a very high standard in Berties restaurant an the library bar you never wait long for assisants .The grounds are breathtakeing as is the views where ever you look inside the castle grounds an out the town is right outside the entrance to the castle which has some very good restaurants an a wide variety of shops an to top everyone in the town was friendly an helpful,it was a great break away only stopped a couple of days but we will be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nice grounds and location and in general good room. I would advise you to check because in our room the toilet was next to the bath and a "larger" person would really have struggled. The staff were friendly and really helpful and the food and service in the restauarnt was excellent. Bar staff very helpful and prices for a hotel fairly reasonable. As with most old character places it could do with some investment but will gladly come back again.

Room Tip: Check bathroom facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here on a deal,superb value for money.Our large bedroom was comfortable,and the recently decorated bathroom,warm and first class.Our breakfast and setting was very good.
We eat in Bertie's Restaurant here on the first night and On the Hill in Ruthin the second night.
Bertie's was my favourite,for the food,which in my opinion was in a different class than On the
Hill,which was plentiful,less expensive but just not as good.If you want to stay in a Castle with excellent food,look no further.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ruthin Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthin Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthin Castle Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical Welsh hotel with mediaeval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on award winning cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Ruthin Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Ruthin
Ruthin Castle Hotel Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruthin Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.