We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   St Peters Square, Ruthin LL15 1AA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Ruthin B&B and Inns
Hull
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

we had a problem with our room, there was a locked door in the room leading into the next door room which caused such a lack of soundproofing between the rooms the next door guest could have been in our room. we complained at reception and where moved into another room which was a fantastic room as was the original room apart from the noise. The hotel is a fantastic old building the rooms are fantastic and the staff where really friendly and helpfull.The management are aware off the soundproof problem and hopefully will be rectified soon but all in all is a great hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin C, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments.
At last the offending door has been replaced with a sound deadening one
that does a much better job.
Kelvin Clayton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    37
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
40
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Came for for a meal with my wife, good offers on the food if wanted, very helpful and polite staff. Good choice on menu and when food arrived was very good, large selection of drinks ans guest ales.
A large building with lots of floors and plenty of tables. In the middle of the village , well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slough
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Large airy whetherspoon pub with rooms.
Food was what you would expect but the ambiance was really good.
Decor and cleanliness first rate.
Was staying at the Ruthin castle hotel but we ate at this castle as it was more affordable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here on 7 October and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodation. The whole building - hotel and bar - has been sympathetically refurbished, looks really good and is unlike any Wetherspoons we have visited before. Our room was well decorated, well equipped and very clean, although the bathroom was small. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. We ate both dinner and breakfast in one of the bar lounges which was very nice. We had an issue with one of the main meals at dinner but the Bar Manager, Claire, was extremely helpful and apologetic and rectified the problem immediately, offering more than reasonable compensation in the form of a free drink each with our meal and a free breakfast the next morning for both of us. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Ruthin, we would definitely recommend - don't let the fact that it is a Wetherspoons put you off. It is completely different.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin C, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay with us.
I am pleased to read that the duty manager dealt with your issue promptly and
you where overall happy with your stay.
Kelvin clayton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We were at a wedding in Ruthin castle. This hotel is a very short walk away. Room was lovely (204), spacious, spotless and no noise at all. Would definitely recommend for anyone attending a wedding at Ruthin castle. We had breakfast the next morning which was reasonably priced, tasty and filling.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin C, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kelvin Clayton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

As frequent visitors to the food side of The Castle Hotel, Ruthin, we have had good and bad meals. The steaks tend to be over-cooked. The chicken with salad - ceasar salad - is usually OK. The beefburgers, especially the dearer one with cheese and bacon, is the best I have had there. Don't expect great fare. For that you need to be at 'On the Hill' but that is booked-up for weeks. The tikka massala is OK. Remember that Wetherspoon's is micro-wave cooking.

The service could be better. I wish the manager would insist on his serving folk that when guests have departed, their table should be cleared and cleaned within five minutes. There is nothing worse than getting a fresh table which is surrounded by other people's debris. It has happened to us a number of times, sometimes when the room is mostly empty.

The place has been very well re-furbished, although the original shape and character of the hotel side has been ruined by having a dingy entrance at the side, instead of the previous elegant entrance and reception area off the front door facing the Square.

Wetherspoon have changed Ruthin. It offers parking and a place to meet up with friends, and have a cheap acceptable meal. It has brought all ages together, young and old.

Room Tip: Have a look at the historical notes on the walls; they are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin C, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place a comment.
We very much appreciate your comments and will put them forward at our next managers
feedback meeting!
Kelvin Clayton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We arrived quite late in the evening, and although it was quite full we managed to find a seating are for 6. We placed our order and received it quite timely. Foor was delicious. Staff were busy but friendly. Great meal! Great atmosphere. Quite busy for such a small little town:)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin C, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit to the Castle hotel
which I have past onto the team
Kelvin Clayton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: St Peters Square, Ruthin LL15 1AA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ruthin
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17 bedroom property was purchased and totally refurbished by J D Wetherspoon in January 2012.All reviews pre January 2012 do not relate to our operation of the business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Ruthin, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.