We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe R, Ruthin Craft Centre

Cafe R, Ruthin Craft Centre
Ruthin Craft Centre/Lon Parcwr, Ruthin, Wales
01824 703571
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 31 Restaurants in Ruthin
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: British, Café, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Cafe R, a family run restaurant at the Ruthin Craft Centre, is an elegant cafe with a light, airy and contemporary feel. We serve freshly made food, using high quality ingredients prepared by a team of skilled chefs. We endeavour to use local suppliers where ever possible. We are fully licensed and serve a full menu from light lunches and breakfasts to a three course lunch.We are open 7 days a week from 10am to 5.30pm (Closed Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Years Day)
Wales
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Could do better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Canteen atmosphere, abrupt service . Food O K ....useful as a meeting place. Would not go here for a relaxing meal.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    23
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Great Veggie options, well thought out menu using local produce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Ruthin Craft Centre / Centre for Applied Arts is the hub of this development in Ruthin. you can spend a good hour browsing around and then a visit to Cafe R is a must. Friendly staff and a lovely contemporary venue with furniture sourced from artisans and a menu which embraces local produce.

A family run business, Cafe R produces first class food and snacks and provides a great place to relax, with free car park on site and daily newspapers to read. The best cup of coffee (Fair Trade) in Ruthin (together with Crown House cafe, also run by the family). The menu always has Veggie options and a lot of thought has gone into it. On our there was butternut squash risotto - delicious.

Short walk into Ruthin is worth the effort. A lovely day out .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food in wonderful countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Julie and the staff at Cafe R were more than helpful when I visited despite having a full cafe to serve on a Saturday afternoon, and were personal and friendly, even remembering me by name after an earler phone call! The food was superb and hit the spot, and they even looked after some of my luggage for me while I went to explore some of the town and beautiful countryside nearby. Many thanks!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for informal lunch/meetings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great food, reasonably priced. Friendly service. Only downside is the noise - the acoustic is not good, and it makes for difficult conversation if the cafe is full.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“room for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

had soup and sandwich which was okish, could have had better salad and decent amount of crisps with the sandwich. the tuna tasted like the cheapest low cost stuff you could get which was disappointing. staff are friendly but i have to agree with other comments that the service needs to be quicker and this hasnt changed as in the past i have experienced things the same.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeManager, Owner at Cafe R, Ruthin Craft Centre, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
This is an interesting review with a couple of points that we would like to address. Firstly the soup and sandwich deal is advertised as coming with a garnish rather than a full salad. This is because this is a cheap lunch option on our menu and represents excellent value for money. Secondly we do not, and have never, served crisps with a salad or as a garnish as we do not consider them to be a salad ingredient.
We pride ourselves on using high quality ingredients and this includes the tuna. We do not cut corners on ingredients. We serve a huge amount of tuna in our dishes and have never before received a complaint about its quality.
Lastly good food and coffee takes time to prepare. Particularly if you take the time to prepare everything from scratch using the highest quality ingredients, which is what we do at Cafe R. We think good food made with care and attention is worth a few extra minutes. If time is short you can however save time by pre-ordering with us and then your lunch will be ready when you arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe R, Ruthin Craft Centre also viewed

Ruthin, Denbighshire
Ruthin, Denbighshire
 

Been to Cafe R, Ruthin Craft Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe R, Ruthin Craft Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.