We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be one of the best restaurants in N Wales” 4 of 5 stars
Review of On the Hill

On the Hill
1 Upper Clwyd Street, Ruthin LL15 1HY, Wales
+44 1824 707 736
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Ruthin
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Mold
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Must be one of the best restaurants in N Wales”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Went here for an anniversary meal. The place is popular and deservedly so. Lovely atmosphere if a little cramped. The food is first class. The wine is resonably priced and ther eis a good selection of beers.

If I could change anything it would be smaller portions please, particularly the starters. Of course its posssible to leave what you cant manage but the food is so good you end up eating it all. Watch the waistline!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    48
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Tried to get a table for two very early (6pm) on a Friday evening as a walk in, no luck. The restaurant was almost full and they had just opened. We where offered a table at 8.30pm which was very politely offered. We declined as we where hungry.
We did go back for Saturday lunch at it was fantastic; easy to see why you need to book. All the food is homemade and the quality shines through. It feels like a traditional family bistro with top quality food and great wines.
Lovely staff, great menu and lots of specials. Very informal and superb value for money. Make sure you book, it is well worth it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“A very pleasing dining out experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Booked for a birthday meal way in advance. We had a nice table in the upstairs room.

The choice of starters and main course was daunting - too many tempting combinations! But we coped...

The food was delivered promptly and in good quantities by smiling, helpful staff. And the food quality was the highest we have encountered locally for some time. We both had a chargrilled fillet which was so tender and tasty and the accompaniments were prefect too.

I can't recommend the food highly enough here. We liked the setting too. It will be our destination of choice in the Vale

How about linen napkins instead of paper ones though? It might just bring your score to 6 Stars!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Impressive Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went to this restaurant with mother and father in law the day before our holiday. It was a cold windy Monday evening and I was surprised to see so many people eating out. It was just as cold inside but it wasn't time for the central heating to go on, the food certainly made up for it. Well worth a visit for all to enjoy.
Have now got the Christmas menu for friends to indulge in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titchfield
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Met for a meal with with family. Great menu with beautifully presented food and a good range of beers and other drinks.Friendly service,tasty food of good quality.
Really reasonable price for quality of food.
Will definitely return when next in North Wales.
Thank you for a lovely evening.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Hill also viewed

 
Ruthin, Denbighshire
Ruthin, Denbighshire
 

Been to On the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.