We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely old house in a delightful town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sir John Trevor House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruthin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sir John Trevor House
Save
You added Sir John Trevor House to your Saves list
Castle St, Ruthin LL15 1DP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Ruthin B&B and Inns
Ludlow, Shropshire
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
180 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“A lovely old house in a delightful town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed here over the Bank Holiday with a walking group. Fortunately.we had a back room but one of our group had the front room and was unable to sleep due to the noise from the nearby pubs on each of the three nights.Her room also had the quirk of its bathroom, including loo, being in the middle of the sitting room - this could so easily have been partitioned off without the room losing any of its character.She was on her own but it could be embarrassing even for long-married guests like ourselves; some things are better done in private!
Jackie was very helpful and prepared a very good breakfast, including fish on request on one of the days. However, it would have been nice to have been offered fruit and the bread for the toast could have been a better quality especially as there is a good bakery in town as well as the ubiquitous Tesco!
Parking could have been a nightmare but, as it was a holiday.we were able to park free nearby. Perhaps there could be a disc for overnight visitors.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misodali, Owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for your review of our home/B&B. The noise at the front of the house has now been dealt with.Many travelers like the convenience of being in the centre of town near all the facilities., without having to drive. Sir John's dressing room is not a 'sitting room' even though there is a chair in there, the photo shows it as a 'dressing/shower room'. A different menu other than full Welsh can be done with an advanced request but this would be reflected in the price,However, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your walking weekend around Ruthin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

This is not a place that will suit all travellers. If you like a modern, antiseptic clinical bedroom, this is not for you. If you revel in the different, the eclectic, shabby chic, and don't mind the odd cobweb, then I think you would like this place.

We escaped here for two nights. The reason for the poor marks regarding sleep quality is simply the fact that we had the four poster room at the front of the house. This is a smashing room with a great view of the historic High Street. The only bad thing is that it is about a 100 yards from two pubs, one of which has speakers outside the building. (Personally I don't think playing music to an empty High Street at 1am benefits anyone). At home our bedroom overlooks fields so we are used to quiet nights. If you live on a busy road, then I don't think the music and laughter will disturb you so much.

There are an additional two rooms at the back of the house, and we were shown a quick glimpse of both. They both have stunning views of the mountains and the twin bedded room was utterly charming. (The photos on their website do not do these rooms justice).

It was a joy to able to be able to ask and get breakfast at 10.00am. It is good quality food, well cooked. Proper decent sausages, bacon and marmalade. We were offered extra juice on both mornings. Food wise the one thing that does need improving is the toast. It was cold and over cooked.

The downside for this place is the carparking. It will be challenging for mid week visitors because there is none. We stayed over a Bank Holiday so we could park on a single yellow line with no problems.

Room Tip: Sleep in the two back bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misodali, Owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Regarding your comments I am sorry that you were not satisfied with our establishment and I am sure that your observations are meant to be helpful but this is our home and our attitude to our guests is that they are also our friends ( even though I appreciate they are paying) and we welcome them as such. Regarding your disappointment with our front bedroom, it was unfortunate that you had made a late booking and our back guest rooms were already occupied. It was a bank holiday weekend. Our location, as our website will show, is in the middle of our lovely town and consequently there can be noise on occassions. This is not a normal occurance and we have raised this issue with the local council.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

I stayed here a few weeks ago for work and promised the wonderful owners that I would get onto Trip Advisor at my earliest convenience! I stay in a lot of B&Bs across the UK and this one has to be one of the best I've stayed in. Not only does it have such charm, but the owners really went out of their way to make my stay comfortable - I felt that they went above and beyond what was expected! As far as value for money goes, you really will not find anything better for your money...and there were numerous individual touches such as a bathrobe and what I would call 'proper' bath towels - large enough to wrap yourself in, rather than the poor excuses for bath towels that you find in many places! The breakfasts were delicious - cooked with care and attention to detail using good ingredients - I particularly enjoyed my cooked cherry tomatoes on the vine! If you are looking for somewhere to stay in this area you should end your search here - you've found it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misodali, Owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful compliments I am pleased that we were able to fulfill all your requirements and hope we will see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall Wood
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

Lovely couple. We were made to feel very welcome. There was never any rush to eat breakfast. And the cat was very friendly too, especially if you feed him a little bacon fat! The room had a beamed ceiling - and a HUGH en-suite with shower and bath! The furniture was all genuine wood period pieces. We were located a few steps from the centre of Ruthin, and a serviceable pub that served evening meals even out of season. The only thing we didn't like was having to come home again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misodali, Owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Thank you for your kind words and photo's it's good to know we are maintaining good customer relations and that you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed here and were made to feel very welcome by Jackie and Stuart. We were given a tour of all the guest rooms (as we were the only visitors that day) which were beautifully decorated and, like the rest of the house, full of character and spacious. The breakfast, which was served to us at 8.30am (although we were offered breakfast for a time that suited us) was just right - cereal, toast, full English, fresh orange juice and a cafetiere of coffee. It was a shame that we were only there for one night as Ruthin is a lovely place and there is more than enough to occupy a full day with both places of historic interest and one or two very nice shops. The Sir John Trevor House would have made a great base from which to explore the surrounding area. We have stayed in a number of B&B's and this was one of the best. We would both recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bollington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Charming B&B. We had a separate dressing / sitting room in addition to the timber framed bedroom containing a four-poster bed. Lovely breakfast, very friendly hosts.

We were staying there to attend a wedding at the nearby Ruthin Castle, it was an excellent (as well as cheaper) alternative to staying at the Castle itself.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misodali, Owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review, July 4, 2010
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we enjoyed meeting you too and hope that you will want to stay with us again in the future, perhaps for a longer vacation in North Wales? Thank you for your kind comments, it's always good to have positive feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We were made very welcome by the owners who did all they could to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The house is really old and the rooms have incredible character. We liked it so much we stayed an extra night. Breakfast was wonderful. We had excellent dinners nearby, twice at On The Hill and one at the Wynnstay Arms. Ruthin is an interesting town and I'd wholeheartedly recommend staying at John Trevor House. There's no parking outside, but we always managed to park close by.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misodali, Owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
Thank you for your kind words it's always good to welcome people from all over the globe and I hope that we will meet again in Ruthin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir John Trevor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir John Trevor House

Address: Castle St, Ruthin LL15 1DP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the modern traveler bed and breakfast, in the warm and luxurious atmosphere of our home, with two tastefully appointed comfortable en-suite double bedrooms. It is a charming Elizabethan town house of exceptional character and a fine example of a grade 2 listed building, with hundreds of years of history but with all the amenities and facilities today's traveler expects, in the most historic street in the centre of the Ruthin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sir John Trevor House Ruthin, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir John Trevor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.