We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Pigeons Inn

Three Pigeons Inn
Graigfechan, Ruthin LL15 2EU, Wales
01824 703178
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 31 Restaurants in Ruthin
Cuisines: Contemporary, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Consistently Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We've eaten here over 30 times in the last few years and the food is rarely short of excellent, accompanied by great beers, wines & whiskies. This is a place we take our friends for a treat.

Run directly by the owner, Paul (always wearing shorts - even in winter!) and his wife, Debbie (always elegantly dressed) and a bevvy of younger beauties, service is always friendly and efficient.

This charming village pub seems to attract a widely based clientele as well as locals.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    26
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We called in at the Three Pigeons when we were over in that neck of the woods last weekend (15th Dec). My husband and I have been a few time before, and this time took our grown up family (and the dog!) with us. The pub has a lovely atmosphere, enhanced by the real fire. We had a warm welcome from the landlord and landlady, and our dog, Sam, was made welcome too. There was a good choice on the menu, of all courses. There was also a good choice of wine (I would greatly recommend the El Bombero!) The food was lovely and plentiful and the service was polite and friendly. I would definitely recommend a visit here, either in the summer, to enjoy the lovely views, or in the winter to enjoy the cosy warmth of a roaring fire and great hospitality.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lefkada, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We went today for the first time, lovely location, old Drover's inn, warm and cosy wood burning stove, great view, very friendly and happy staff, menus brought immediately. Turkey and all the trimmings was excellent, huge portions and so many fresh vegetables. Beef also very good. Horseradish and redcurrant relishes on the side. Expresso with hot milk and a chocolate. The restaurant is beautifully done - a wonderful gem in an old Welsh pub - and not a red folded serviette triangle in sight! Very stylish and comfortable and the ladies loos are FAB. We will return. The landlady is very helpful and friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, Wales U.K.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Friendly Rendezvous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were recently invited out ( The Memsahib & I ) by friends on what was to be our last such dining out of this year, and their choice was the Three pigeons.at Graigfechan.
On arrival we were greeted by Paul the resident landlord, and ordered our drinks whilst we awaited the arrival of our hosts.& were conducted to the " snug" and provided with menus for our perusal.
After studying the menu and "specials" board, by which time we had been joined by our friends and our order was taken, and we were shown to our table.
The food was served in early course, and was as anticipated, piping hot, well presented, and of generous proportions, with .additional side dishes of seasonal vegetables which proved to be more than enough for our party of four.
We opted out of starters as is our general principle, and concentrated on the Main courses which proved to be all that we had anticipated. which was the opinion of everyone.
Desserts were then ordered. and these were varied, from traditional Christmas pudding to the usual sticky toffee, to Crème Brule. .Everyone expressed their satisfaction with the standard of the food, and the service, on what was a quiet midweek winters evening, there only being a party of possibly a dozen having a Christmas celebration and one other couple. Although the restaurant was geared to take many more covers. Our well satisfied party expressed their delight at the success of the evening and left in their different directions vowing to visit again in the New Year.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Friendly and Cosy place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We camped here one November cold night - the pub was warm, lovely open fire, the locals are friendly and everyone said hello to both of us and our dog :)
The pub lets dogs in and all the people inside are cool with them being there.
The owners make you feel very welcome on arrival and made time to come and say hello - they are doing a great job! Well done Paul for the charity joker and the hat looked fab.
I've not reviewed the food as we didn't eat here, although I would go back to eat here.
The campsite is very basic, it has a tap and a shower and loo with a key - but very clean and warm.
The town was lovely as advised to go and visit by the friendly locals in the pub. Ruthin is small and charming, don't overlook this lovely place on the way past!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Pigeons Inn also viewed

 

Been to Three Pigeons Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Pigeons Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.