We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfectly formed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruthin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B
Save
You added Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B to your Saves list
Efenechtyd, Ruthin LL15 2LP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Ruthin B&B and Inns
Worcester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

A warm welcome awaits from Dave and Marylin (and Molly the cat - and assorted chickens). Rooms are comfortable and well equipped. Mein hosts were quite happy to recommend places to eat or visit - useful if you don't know the area. Breakfasts include freshly laid eggs and home made jams. Not easy to find but worth the effort. The Cross Keys does good standard pub food, even if the portions are a bit challenging. For a (pricey) blowout try the restaurant meals in the Ruthin Castel hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
75
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, Devon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

From the moment we arrived Dave and Marilyn ensured that our stay in their home was everything we could want. Our room with lovely views of the garden and the Welsh hills beyond was very comfortable with a good bathroom . We were woken from a peaceful night's sleep by the smell of homemade bread drifting up the stairs. Breakfast was excellent with a good range of fresh and homemade local produce. We wished we could have stayed longer but will certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My partner and I have just spent a wonderful weekend at Plas Efenechtyd. The cottage is beautiful and in a fabulous location. Our room was small but well equipped and very clean. The only downside, for us, was the communal breakfasting arrangements. We like to take our time over breakfast in a private, comfortable atmosphere and are not keen on being 'thrust' upon strangers first thing in the morning. Although our fellow guests were chatty, we prefer to be on our own at breakfast. Had we known in advance about the breakfast arrangements, we would have booked alternative accommodation. The dining room is easily large enough to accommodate 4 or 5 smaller tables.

On the plus side, Dave and Marilyn were the perfect hosts - warm and welcoming and very knowledgeable with regard to the local area and facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I have just spent three nights at Plas Efenechtyd with two old friends from Michigan and found the accommodation excellent. The rooms were comfortable and warm, the breakfast was good with in particular their own free range eggs, home made jam and marmalade, and excellent bread. Dave and Marilyn are very friendly and welcoming.

Peter J. Eccles

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed for a weekend in March and found the room warm and clean . Helpful and friendly people . Breakfast with fresh eggs from chickens in the garden . Quiet location well off the main road but not far from Ruthin .

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

My husband, daughter and I have stayed with Dave and Marilyn 4 times in the last 3 years and every time we go we have a wonderful time. It's such a lovely place and Dave and Marilyn couldn't be friendlier or more accomodating. The food is always fresh, beautifully prepared and cooked to perfection. It is very much out of the way but this really appeals and to us. If you fancy really getting away from city life and having a relaxing weekend or week away, then I can't recommend Pas Efenechtyd highly enough!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I thought such places were only found in fairy tales, but this one was for real. It was extremely cold when we visited but it was warm and cosy inside the house. The owners were very friendly and knowledgable about the area and the local attractions. The bedroom was very comfortable and the breakfast was superb, especially the homemade bread.

Room Tip: We only saw one of the two available rooms, but we were quite happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B

Address: Efenechtyd, Ruthin LL15 2LP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the beautiful Vale of Efenechtyd, this 4 star B&B is an ideal base for exploring North Wales. Enjoy a hearty breakfast with homemade bread and locally sourced produce including eggs from our own free range hens. Our two en-suite rooms have stunning views of the Clwydian Range and we are just two miles from the medieval town of Ruthin where you’ll find a wide choice of great pubs, restaurants and independent shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B Ruthin, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.