We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Before you book...dont” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bull Hotel

Bull Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bull Hotel
Save
You added Bull Hotel to your Saves list
London Road, Valley LL65 3DP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Valley
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Before you book...dont”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

My partner booked this 'hotel' for a birthday weekend away for myself for a 2 night stay. Firstly when we first walked in and checked in within half an hour we was driving around to find another hotel to stay in as was going to cancel! The place felt smelt and looked dirty...cigarette stumps on carpets...musty stale alcohol and smoke smell! The staff...which was all young girls...came across as ignorant and rude(apart from 1) as we waited 15 minutes to be served a drink and a further 15 to speak to someone about the cancellation...We was the only ones at the bar at the time! When we finally spoke to a man about it he advised us that we couldn't cancel and fed us all this rubbish and was rather rude! In the end we spoke to the company we booked with and cancelled the 2nd night free of charge with no myther! The room was ok and the bed was comfortable...best part of the 'hotel'! In the morning when we went for breakfast(very early as we couldn't get away quick enough) the floor hadn't been cleaned or brushed for a long time...dusty and covered in food and splashes...just grotty and the other part had the day before food on it and dirty glasses all over the bar! The advert for this hotel is so mis leading...There is nothing to do for miles even tho it states there is all kinds! I wouldn't call it anything more than a scruffy local boozer...The type of place when you walk in and everyone looks at you like you have 2 heads and shouldn't be there...uncomfortable! So glad we got out and went somewhere else! I would advise anyone to not stay here if you want a nice decent break away...but that's just my opinion :)

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    5
    6
    7
See reviews for
7
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The hotel has been neglected and is, therefore, run down and both inside and out are in need of a good clean and re-decoration. The public rooms are extremely dirty, but the bedroom was nott too bad. The staff appear to be working under very difficult conditions and need more guidance.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were clean and tidy reception staff were fine outside to the ground floor rooms were a disgrace with litter everywhere, skip that was overflowing with rubbish we woke to a hallway of vomit from the night before (not ours!!) on our way to breakfast. Then at breakfast we had to ask for clean cups as they were rather dirty! Very offhand breakfast staff. If you want a spit and sawdust b&b the bull will be fine they will just have to reduce their prices to £10 a nite and not £70 !!! P's took lots of photos to show everyone but not able to put them

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

booked 2 nights so called in for breakfast before catching the ferry to dublin for the day,left the car here and had taxi to the docks which the hotel staff sorted for us and said someone would be up that evening to show us to our room even though it was nearly 1am and he was up our room was ok a bit damp but the beds were comfy,the room could do with a little maintainence as could the outside of the property the staff were all pleasent and the breakfasts were the best you could wish for.evening meal was just ok.the pub/hotel is on the main road to holyhead port and could be a little gold mine we sat in the pub on our last afternoon and counted 5 cars enter the car park look out of their windows and just drove off,because there is no real signs that the pub is open,i think they are concentrating on the contractors who stay there but they must remember the contractors will not be there for ever oh and get a bin for the contractors to put their rubish in would we stay here again YES

Room Tip: try a room inside the pub not the ones around the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed three nights the breakfasts were fantastic and the staff could not do enough for us. Accomodation was good nice clean presentable rooms, friendly people would definately stay again. Really enjoyed our stay thank you.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

booked here last minute as everywhere else was full Didnt eat here in the evening but the food looked lovely ,room was ok but had a really strong smell of cats wee,bed was very comfy had a good nights kip ... jumped in shower in the morning to find that it wasnt working properly there was a tiny trickle coming through so had to get back out, no shower, didnt bother going to ask anyone dont think i would have got anywhere unless id been male because thats where the female staffs attention was, with all the workmen staying there ...as for the breakfast fab choice of cereal ,fresh fruit ,full english ,toast jams coffee was well impressed ,chief was pleasant but the waitress well i might as well of been talking to myself

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

we stayed at the bull whilst walking the Anglesey coastal path. We arrived dripping wet but was made welcomed. Room clean, shower hot, good pub meal, good atmosphere, efficient and helpful staff and breakfast was really good. Did not expect such an excellent breakfast for the price. Fresh fruit salad, yoghourt, yoghourt drink. Smoked salmon etc. Good on you Bull. Worth those few minutes off the path.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Hotel

Address: London Road, Valley LL65 3DP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Bull Hotel Valley, Island Of Anglesey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bull Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.