We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The exterior hides a hidden gem on anglesey.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trearddur Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Trearddur Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Trearddur Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trearddur Bay, Trearddur Bay LL65 2UN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Trearddur Bay
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The exterior hides a hidden gem on anglesey.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Business trip to Anglesey made all the more pleasurable after long drive by this excellent small hotel. High quality interior and one of the nicest rooms in any hotel class for a very long time. Friendly and welcoming staff I would have no reservation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    113
    70
    25
    27
See reviews for
81
130
12
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Hotel very clean and newly refurbished downstairs along with a handful of the bedrooms.With regret we were in one of the 70's decor bedrooms complete with chipped bath base and seriously creaking floor boards. Once these bedrooms are refurbished and a decent chef found for the Bay restaurant I could recommend .
My partner had to send his tastless venison starter back together with my main course of sweet potato rissoto. The latter consisted of normal dry long grain rice, 6 tiny cubes of sweet potato & a few shards of parmesan. The dessert was banana bread & butter pudding...sounds ok but the reality was a solid wedge of a grey looking mass. Coffee was advertised as coming with petit fours but there weren't any as we were told the fridge had broken down!!!!
Overall an expensive experience not to be repeated until bedrooms upgraded and restaurant gets it act together.

Room Tip: ask for a newly refurbed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterToft, Manager at Trearddur Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the hotel. Any feedback we get is useful to us to be able to gauge our customers experiences and perceptions of the hotel - I'm very sorry on this occasion your expectations were not met.
We have an ongoing investment programme at the hotel to refurbish a number of bedrooms each year - the rooms you have highlighted are due for refurbishment, and I am sure they will be done to the same extremely high standard that the ground floor and dozen bedrooms we have completed.
Our menu in The Bay Restaurant is constantly under review and your comments will be taken on board when a new menu is introduced.
Once again, many thanks for your feedback, and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Peter Toft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heywood , Gt. manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

arrived at this hotel unexpectedly after disappointed stay night before somwhere else in wales. Have never been to Angelsey before arrived at hotel without pre booking. Reception very efficiant gave us one of the newly refurbished rooms,very light and spacious ,enjoyed lovely meal in the resturant very reasonably priced.Will be back again as soon as possible for more weekends on newly discovered Angelsey

Room Tip: we had room number 11 would like room no 8 next .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterToft, Manager at Trearddur Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Many thanks for the review of your stay at the hotel - I'm really pleased you enjoyed it and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel - perhaps for room 8!
Peter Toft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

I had a great stay here over bank holiday weekend. It was an impromptu trip but the reception staff couldnt help me more, gave me a great room (room 5) with a balcony, took my bags up and helped me turn on my televison!
We both ate in the Bay restaurant in the evening, had three course for £26.50 and it was great value, we both had steaks and the recommeded wine as per the wine waiter.
Really enjoyed it, will come again and hopefully use the pool this time!

Room Tip: Room 5!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterToft, Manager at Trearddur Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Many thanks for your very favourable review. I'm very pleased you enjoyed the restaurant and the Table d'Hote menu with our recommended wine.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Peter Toft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

the room was shabby for a 4 * the wall papper was peeling of the wall ,the bathroom door would not shut,are room over looked the bins,the bar food was the worsed frozen chicken.

Room Tip: dont stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterToft, Manager at Trearddur Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time for posting a review of the hotel and your stay. I am very sorry that we did not reach your expectations on this occasion.
Though we are a three star hotel, we certainly aim to be at a four star level for our facilities and service, and whilst we cannot change the views from a bedroom window we should certainly address wallpaper issues and door closings. The bedroom in question is on our next list for refurbishment, which will hopefully be completed in the autumn, and the appearance of our service yard is to be addressed earlier than that.
Please accept my apologies for an unsatisafactory meal in the bar - whilst it was not frozen chicken it obviously diappointed, and for that I am sorry.
I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future, perhaps to stay in one of our already refurbished bedrooms.
Peter Toft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We decided on a last minute break over Easter, this being the second place we rang (first hotel booked) after reading some of the reviews, I was a bit concerned... But upon arrival the hotel is located in a lovely position, the hotel is very clean, reception very open and bright , rooms pretty good, bar nice, breakfast good... It seems to be run and managed well. Jon and heather

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterToft, Manager at Trearddur Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thanks for posting a review of the hotel - I'm very pleased to read of your enjoyable stay.
I hope you will book again soon with us.
Peter Toft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We found this hotel perfect for our family! The service was wonderful; staff was friendly and the food was delicious. We had a room overlooking the bay, it was large enough for a comfortable stay for a family of four. We just stayed overnight before catching the ferry in the morning, but definitely would have stayed another night if we hadn't already booked our ferry!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterToft, Manager at Trearddur Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you for your review - I too hope that you return for another night! Hope your journey home good and look forward to welcoming you back.
Peter Toft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trearddur Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trearddur Bay Hotel

Address: Trearddur Bay, Trearddur Bay LL65 2UN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Trearddur Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Trearddur Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Trearddur Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Trearddur Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trearddur Bay Hotel Island Of Anglesey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trearddur Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.