We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cliff Cottages” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plas Darien Self-Catering Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trearddur Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plas Darien Self-Catering Apartments
Save
You added Plas Darien Self-Catering Apartments to your Saves list
Lon Isallt, Trearddur Bay LL65 2UR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
mossley
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cliff Cottages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed, once again, in cottage number 8, which has 2 bedrooms and a lounge/kitchen/dining room. The cottage has been 'done up' and now has a new bathroom. It is basic but has everything you need for a self catering break and we love it! It has a bath but no shower which might not suit some people. It is 5 mins from the sea and has lovely views across Trearddur Bay from the top of the path. We used the indoor swimming pool which you book for an hour and have to yourself which is lovely and if you are feeling energetic you can now hire kayaks and bikes from reception. we had difficulty finding reception as it has moved from where it used to be and was not well signposted but I'm sure that will change once they have completed all the building work that is going on. It's also a great base to get to other places on Anglesey or over to Dublin on the ferry from Holyhead.

Room Tip: There are different sized cottages and flats to accommodate different sized groups of people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
29
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Plas Darien self catering apartments offer a fabulous break at one of the most stunning coastlines in Wales.

The holiday complex is conveniently located just eight minutes walking distance from Trearddur Bay and all that has to offer. The bays across from the apartments are even more beautiful and unspoilt.

The apartments are modern, clean and comfortable, equipped with all you need to make a good holiday. Nearly all have beautiful sea views, and two bathrooms, which is ideal when you are in a party of 4+ people.

The staff are very helpful and friendly, nothing too much trouble!

Plas Darien is ideal for a relaxing break - sit at the window and admire the view, or at the picnic tables on the lawn. For those who prefer a more active holiday, facilities include tennis courts and indoor and outdoor swimming pools to name just two, and beyond the complex, beautiful coastal paths to explore.

I have been visiting Plas Darien for many years, and hope to continue for many more,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Disapointment on arrival and finding damp, black mold on the walls of the living room. The furniture is more than tired The Cooker needs replacing due to loose hobs, oven door gets so hot and no handle on the grill. Rust inside the microwave. The bathrooms are useable but have no towel rails or toilet roll holders. The white covers on the double bed had holes at the bottom. The windows in the bedrooms had Black Mold
This was a family holiday total 12 of us and other members were in Trearddur bay at different accoumodation paying the same amount but there accomodation was very good and we had to eat with them or go out which we did do and had some very good meals.. i boked in good faith over the phone and at no time was told that theses appartments where privatley owned and the responsibility was on the owners to keep the appartment in good condition. Only when we left today and i voiced my disapointment was i told. As it was bank holiday i did not complain on arrival as i knew we would not get anything as i was told that this was the only appt avaiable and as all the family were in Trearddur Bay our family did not want to go home. I will be contacting the Welsh Tourist Board tomorrow as to give this Appt 3 Stars is wrong and i believe that Plas Darien Holidays should take some of the responsibility as this morning they explained they go into the appts to clean and they would clearly see the problems with this appartment also take the payments for these appartments. I beleive that this appt should be removed from their site untill the problems have been sorted so no other family have a total disappointing holiday .
I do have photos of thes issues and will add when i have recieved advice

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Me and a group of friends have been coming here for the past 3 years and always enjoy our stay. We always book Cottage 2 as it sleeps 8 and there's usually that many of us.

I would love to say it is Plas Darien that keeps us coming back but unfortunately, the facilities here are getting worse rather than better. Our first year we were able to play golf and the tennis courts weren't too bad. The past 2 years the golf course has been over grown and unusable. We were expecting it to have been sorted out before we arrived a few weeks ago but unfortunately not!
Also, the tennis courts seem to be being ignored and are getting worse. We saw the groundskeeper a few times, mowing patches of grass but not really touching the main problems i.e the golf course!
We've never booked the indoor/outdoor pool for numerous reasons... the weather is too temperamental, and we don't like to be stuck to plans. We go away to relax and unwind, walk around and don't like the idea of booking hourly slots in case that's not what we want to do that day.
The cottage itself is really comfortable, although the interior stairs are awful, your feet don't fit the width, their VERY slippery and it can be very awkward trying to get downstairs when you've just woken up/are tired.
There are 2 double rooms (1 upstairs with cot, 1 downstairs) and 2 twin rooms with bunkbeds (1 up, 1 down) that are comfortable and nicely furnished. They aren't very big but fit storage space and beds so perfect for use.
The lounge/living area has 3 quite big sofa's that comfortably sit 2 per couch or 3 each at a push.
The kitchen has an electric grill, hob and oven which seems to switch itself off when it gets to the required temperature.. can cause a problem when cooking! There's a big dining table and plenty of cooking utensils etc
There are two bathrooms with toilet, bath and sink (no showers)

Overall, we thoroughly enjoy our stay here. We love the surrounding area, although there's a lack of chip shop/variety of foods available. The Tesco and Asda are very close, with KFC and McDonald's close to them (just in case) and there are two pubs that serve typical pub grub and a newly opened chinese restaurant near the shops.

It's very quiet around the apartments/cottages compared to the likes of Treaddur Bay Hotel but this is what we prefer.

Personally, I would recommend this cottage to travellers as they are value for money and in a nice part of Treaddur Bay. Just don't expect the Hilton when you arrive!

Room Tip: Cottage 2 for large groups :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Been to Trearddur Bay many times but the first time we've stayed at Plas Darien.

The accommodation was perfect; well equipped, comfortable and clean.

Plas Darien itself offers good facilities including: free wifi in reception, tennis courts (no need to book), two separate heated indoor pools (bookable by the hour), one outdoor pool (heated summer hols only).

Views from apartments are amazing.

10 minutes walk to the village centre. The pleasant walk takes you past little shingle bays before you reach the sandy beach of Tr. Bay.

The booking process is efficient. Thank you to Yvonne and the staff at Plas Darien.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed in cottage 8 which we found to be perfect for the 4 of us, children aged 10 & 8. Although basic we needed nothing else, it was clean, warm, pet friendly and had the added bonus of the use of the large outdoor pool and the 2 indoor private hire pools included in the price. The staff were friendly and helpful and the surrounding area and bay are beautiful. Wouldn't hesitate to go back and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Me and my family have been going to Plas Darien for many years.Have stayed in a few different apartments and they have all been excellent..We first went when my children were little they are now grown up with there own children and love Plas Darien too...I am having a week there next week and can't wait..I love just sitting looking out the window at the sea and open air...The apartments are clean and most of them have all mod cons...Will continue to have holidays there for as long as I can...I always recommend it to my friends telling them how lovely it is....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plas Darien Self-Catering Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Darien Self-Catering Apartments

Address: Lon Isallt, Trearddur Bay LL65 2UR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Trearddur Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Trearddur Bay
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering apartments with stunning sea views and pet friendly cottages in beautiful Trearddur Bay. Anything from 1 to 5 bedrooms, sleeping 2 to 10 people and equipped with all your self catering needs. Large groups welcome. All facilities are free and include Tennis courts, outdoor and indoor heated swimming pools. Also in the Bay, horse riding stables, premium golf course, water sports galore, breath taking coastal walks, bars and restaurants serving excellent food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plas Darien Self-Catering Apartments Trearddur Bay, Island Of Anglesey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plas Darien Self-Catering Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.