We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with poor breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Beach Motel to your Saves list
The Beach Motel
Lon St Ffraid | Holyhead, Trearddur Bay LL65 2YT, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trearddur Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Average hotel with poor breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Large, clean rooms with regular-sized tubs with jacuzzi fittings. The room was just a bit better than basic as far as decor and furniture, with no wifi, and the breakfast was the cheapest quality bread and meats--the bacon was flavourless. I'm used to 3-4 star and would regard this as 2+. We only used the bar once as the wine was poor quality, and I like a good glass of wine, so we had our drinks at neighbouring hotels instead.

Room Tip: The bay views are only from the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBeachMotel, General Manager at The Beach Motel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do have a extensive wine list that was put together by our merchants and my self. I can only presume that you were not offered an alternative than the house wine. Re wi fi we do have in the bar area and the is a LAN socket in every room and cables are available at reception.

Regarding the breakfast we have many positive reviews on trip advisor and unfortunately on this occasion we have not been able to meet your personal standards

John Hanby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    58
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
56
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Was arriving very late off the ferry from Ireland and Chris ( a member of staff) could not have been more helpful. Even though reception would normally be closed at that hour we were able to get into our room and have a nice, quiet night's sleep. Was very impressed with the size of the room and the cleanliness of the place. We did not stay for breakfast unfortunately, but both my husband and myself said we would love to come back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBeachMotel, General Manager at The Beach Motel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you soon

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Was on a short break to Wales and needed somewhere to stay near Holyhead and was so glad I made this my choice. The room was large with every amenity (except WiFi) and bed very comfortable. Cleanliness was brilliant. Staff were all excellent and the food in the restaurant was very good value and a varied choice for evening meal. I didnt have breakfast although this is available if requested. A hidden treasure and one which I will return to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Love the setting it was like holiday apartments in butlins, the staff was great very healpfull.

Your room has plenty of space for movement. Although they have WI-FI in the bar its still not a good reception.

Meals in the bar or restuarant area was plesant nice choices on the menu fresh cooked.

Plenty of choice at breakfast would deffo stop here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Have just had three nights at the Beach Motel with my husband and young son and we had agreat time. The breakfast was great, the room very clean and comfortable and the staff very pleasant and polite. My son loved the Spa bath :-) as did we and we will be booking again in the near future and have recommended the Motel to out friends and family. Could do with blinds on windows as only full length curtains for more privacy. Yes the Snooker Hall is an eyesore but it does not alter the fact this is a super Motel with a dedicated and caring staff. Thanks Caroline, John and Gabriel.

Room Tip: Central location - on bus route to Holyhead and therefore good access to train station. Ask to be lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just had two nights at the beach motel.This is the second time we have stayed and enjoyed it on both occasions.Nice large,warm,very clean rooms with a great bathroom. Very nice welcome from Chris and his staff. Food and drink at the London inn next door was superb.We will be staying again for sure.

Rick and Sue from Stockport.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights in Aug. It is clean, comfortable and modern. The bathroom was nice and spacious. Breakfast was nice although, more juice should be on offer as it ran out very quickly, other than that a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Motel

Address: Lon St Ffraid | Holyhead, Trearddur Bay LL65 2YT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Trearddur Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trearddur Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2006 the Motel is close to the centre of Trearddur Bay and 200 yards form Trearddurs award winning beach. 15 Rooms on 3 floors. All rooms are modern and comfortably furnished. All rooms have colour TVs with free view channels, free Bt Infinity fibre super fast wi fi in the rooms & Bar, whirlpool baths and showers, tea/coffee making facilities, hair driers, family rooms with interconnecting doors. Food available in the adjacent Driftwood Bar & Restaurant. 10 Minutes from Holyhead Seaport makes it an ideal stopover for ferry passengers to Ireland. 15 Minutes from RAF Valley and Valley Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Hotel Trearddur Bay
The Beach Motel Trearddur Bay, Island Of Anglesey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.