We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Anglesey Model Village & Gardens

Anglesey Model Village & Gardens
Newborough LL61 6RS, Wales
01248 440477
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 5 Attractions in Newborough
Type: Gardens, Cultural
Attraction details
Penmaenmawr, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We took our 3 year old grandson to the model village we arrived at 1.30ish to be told by the man at the entrance " oh I was just about to close its so quiet " we payed £8 to enter hoping to have our lunch in the tea room but the only did drinks and cake . The area is very tired and could do with some TLC the best bit being two trains which do a circular run of the garden . And the drive yourself little train . The whole experience took less than half an hour.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    14
    15
    13
    33
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
isle of man
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Upsetting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We visited this place quite some time ago now but still feel upset at the way we were treated and feel I should enlighten other families. I paid for a family ticket 2+2, my children were teenagers but there was no age limit stipulated on the +2, The man ?owner ran after us and stated in front of other visitors we should have paid full price as he didn't realise my children were older. He implied we were trying get away with not paying. I was mortified. He left us alone to walk round but I just wanted to get out of there after been so humiliated. We walked out without looking at anything. I went to the counter and practically forced the extra money on them as I have never tried to sneak in anywhere and was made to feel as if we had.His wife tried to apologise and said to please excuse her husband. The place did not look anything special anyway, we whizzed around to get out quickly but even at a leisurely pace it wouldn't taken 10 minutes, When are these places going to realise that just because kids are older they are still dependents and don't bring in a wage so should be classed as kids. A family ticket should mean just that. The owners need some updates/lessons in how to treat their visitors. The experience completely ruined our day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham abbey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Was very disappointed with visit to this model village
It took less then 10 minutes to walk round. £3 per adult entrance fee as you walk around the very skinny path with everyone else trying to see these old exhibits after less than 10 mins you come across the exit back to the car park don't waste you money.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Model Village”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Enjoyed by adults and children alike. Make sure weather good for visit. Have visited many times over last 8 years, well maintained but havent noticed any new buildings

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“an absolute delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

kept the kids and grand kids occupied loved everything about it. Lovely little place in a very nice location. A good place for all ages to enjoy quality time together.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anglesey Model Village & Gardens also viewed

 
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Anglesey Model Village & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anglesey Model Village & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.