We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect relaxing break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siop y Rhos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moelfre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siop y Rhos
Save
You added Siop y Rhos to your Saves list
Near Lligwy Beach | Moelfre, Moelfre LL70 9PZ, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
TARIFF AND AVAILABILITY
Ranked #1 of 8 Moelfre B&B and Inns
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“perfect relaxing break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

A very special thank you to both Catherine & Steven for their kind hospitality during our recent stay at Siop y Rhos. This was our first trip to Anglesey and I can say it exceeded all expectations, beautiful, clean, modern room and ample choice of foods at breakfast. Extremely welcoming hosts who ensured our visit was very enjoyable. Siop y Rhos is a hidden gem and has a beautiful beach (Lligwy) on its doorstep. We would definitely recommend staying at Siop y Rhos for what can only be described as an "unforgettable" break for all the right reasons......idyllic !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine D, Owner at Siop y Rhos, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We remember you and your family well, especially as this is an extremely stressful time for all your family, a time that you will need all the support and love around that you can. Steven and I were only to happy to provide you with peace and quiet, a place to unwind and relax and leave the worries and strains in the cupboard for a few days. It was truly lovely to meet you, and we would like to offer our support to you all in the hard times you have to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
71
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for just one night, as we were visiting family who have a caravan on Anglesey.
We spent the day at the Anglesey Show, which we really enjoyed, and was made memorable, by shaking Prince William's hand. We arrived at Siop Y Rhos at 5pm to a lovely warm welcome by Catherine and Steve. The location was beautiful, and lovely and quiet. The room was spotlessly clean and the decor well thought out and stylish. Breakfast the following morning was the best we have ever had in a hotel, lovely and fresh and well cooked. We were wishing we were staying for longer, but sure we will be back. Well done.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine D, Owner at Siop y Rhos, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. To have someone compare our small family run B&B breakfasts to a hotel's is praise indeed and extremely flattering - so thank you again. It was good you got to meet Prince William and shake his hand (and then shake mine afterward). Please do come and stay with us again - you're most welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

we stayed with 2 kids and Catherine and Steven's B&B and could not have asked for a warmer welcome. We had two adjoining rooms, one twin, one double, but there was also a lovely guest lounge so we did not have to stay in our room in the evenings whilst the kids were in bed. Catherine and Steven could not do enough for us and the kids, one morning making 3 different breakfasts for my daughter! The rooms and bathrooms were extremely clean, tidy and well maintained and the garden was fantastic for running around and laying football. The breakfasts were delicious and we were completely spoilt with the packed lunches! We have recommended it to all our friends, Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine D, Owner at Siop y Rhos, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We will never forget the little 'farm yard' of toys arranged in the bedrooms and hallway. We often tell guests how lovely it was to come into the rooms in the morning to service them, only to find a children's paradise playground in the form of a farm. Oh, to be that young again! One day we will have grandchildren, and hopefully they will be just as lovely as your two little one's - you are most welcome here at Siop y Rhos anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Catherine and Steve put their heart and soul into making us most welcome. Nothing was enough trouble from booking restaurants on 3 of 4 nights we stayed and providing a sandwich on the one evening we decided to stay in. The breakfasts were superb with plenty of choice and Steve's pancakes are to die for!
The location is ideal for those wanting a quiet break as it is off the beaten track yet within a few minutes drive of pubs and restaurants and only a 10 minute walk through lovely meadows to the beach and the coastal path which was great for keen walkers like ourselves.

Room Tip: Ask for the king size room if you are a couple for more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine D, Owner at Siop y Rhos, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, and we're really pleased you enjoyed staying with us. It was so lovely to meet someone from 'back where we hail from', and both you and your wife were model guests. Thank you also for being our 'guinea pigs' with the fresh milk, and we're both chuffed you enjoyed our breakfasts. Please do come again, and don't forget to mention which room you would like :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife, Jayne, booked us into Catherine and Stevens B & B because of a previous trip where she had stayed with them and raved about it ever since. I soon found out that she was not exaggerating.
The location is absolutely stunning with great views of the surrounding country side and nearby sea. The property is very well done with nice rooms, very clean, well laid out and all to a high standard. As if that was not enough, I then met the hosts and was immediately made to feel very welcome. A cup of tea and some cake soon had us relaxed from the journey.
Throughout our short (unfortunately) stay, nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and the breakfast has to be seen to be believed. Steven and Catherine are both very friendly and extremely like-able people who make you feel as if you are old friends within minutes of meeting them.
I loved everything about the place and will definitely be returning. It is the perfect location with the perfect hosts and all at a very reasonable price. Thank you Catherine and Steven.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine D, Owner at Siop y Rhos, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are truly grateful for your wonderful comments, and it was an absolute pleasure have you as our guests. We had already met your lovely wife earlier this year, and it was obvious she thinks the world of you. Now we have met you too, and we think you are a lovely couple. Please do come and visit us again. Thank you, Catherine & Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Arrived with friends after a very weary days motorcycling to a really warm welcome from Catherine and Steven. A beautiful location with ample private parking and stunning views out to sea. The rooms and en suites were impeccable and well appointed, showers very warm and the tea and cake went down a treat! The property has clearly undergone a loving restoration by our hosts who have done a first rate job. The grounds are spacious and very well manicured and it has an openess whilst still retaining that secluded, homely, "country cottage" feel. The essential local pub and beach are all within a few minutes walk. The beds are very comfy, nice crisp linen on the duvet and everyone slept well.
The breakfast is to die for, a great choice of top quality fare, from yoghurts, cereals, fresh fruit and juices to traditional home cooked options and there's plenty of it. Go for the "full english" and trust me you can ride all day on nothing else!!
Overall, It is a fab b&b and superb value for money. Probably the lasting impression is that Catherine and Steven really do have an affinity with the property and their guests. They really are genuinely nice people, clearly love what they do and it's infectious to those who stay there. Had a great time and "I'll be back." ( probably with the wife instead of the motorbike next time....)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine D, Owner at Siop y Rhos, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Well thank you very kindly for your lovely comments - Steven and I are really quite humbled. Needless to say you and your friends, and your bike, and of course your wife, are always welcome here at Siop y Rhos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

In August 2013 a group of friends and I undertook what has become an annual motorcycle trip and this time our destination was Anglesey.  Half the group set off from the east coast with the goal of chasing the sun across the country and my half of the group travelled up from Cardiff with both parties convening in Llangollen, North Wales.  From Llangollen we travelled through Snowdonia and eventually arrived, weary and hungry, at our destination for the night: Siop Y Rhos bed and breakfast.

Siop Y Rhos is pleasantly easy to find (given it’s quiet location) and once we tracked down two members of our party who had stopped at the local shops en route, we made our way down the driveway and parked on the B&B’s ample (and private) driveway.  Steven and Catherine met us at the front door and showed us around, the décor is homely and modern, and the rooms are spotlessly clean.  We could have been forgiven for thinking we were the first people ever to stay!  Keen to get out of our bike gear, the priority was hot showers all round (in perfectly normal sized cubicles), after which our hosts provided us with a pot of tea in the guest lounge where we settled down to watch the bike racing.

After the race had finished we made the short walk (10 minutes) to the Pilot Boat Inn, Dulas, where we enjoyed traditional pub fayre.  The food was typical pub-grub, the prices were reasonable and the service was prompt – no complaints.  However, after a long day in the saddle it took only 2 pints before noises were made about heading to bed and we pottered home in the darkness (take a torch!).

Morning came and after a peaceful night’s sleep in comfortable a bed and linen I sat and enjoyed a cup of tea with my bedroom window pushed wide open, the sea air and sea view pouring through in equal measure.  We’d agreed a breakfast of 8am and Catherine and Steven were on the dot with the main event being preceded by medley of melon, grapefruit, prunes, yoghurts and cereal (also accompanied by fruit juices, coffee and tea).  Everyone had selected the full English option and having made our choices the evening before the breakfasts arrived simultaneously and promptly, allowing us to all eat together.  The black pudding was delicious (but with our hosts hailing from Lancashire, what else would you expect!?) and if any item isn’t to your taste then the hosts are very flexible.

I left Siop Y Rhos with mixed emotions; Sad to be leaving, but happy to have found such a hidden gem.  Each one of us plans to return (in my case with my wife!) and the concensus was great service, a winning product, a warm welcome and fantastic value for money.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine D, Owner at Siop y Rhos, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
I think Steven and I have read your review of Siop y Rhos more than half of a dozen times, and we are still overwhelmed. The first time I read my eyes filled, the second time I read it my chest filled with pride, and each time I read it I want to jump about with happiness.

We love Anglesey; we love Lligwy; we love Siop y Rhos, and most of all we love what we do - so when guests have comments like yours it really makes us feel so good because you have loved it too. Thank you, and please come again - maybe all of you would come again next year, only don't leave booking us so late. Nice one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siop y Rhos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siop y Rhos

Address: Near Lligwy Beach | Moelfre, Moelfre LL70 9PZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Moelfre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Moelfre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated as Gold Standard by our guests, Siop y Rhos provides immaculate accommodation in a stunning location with extensive parking, 3 mins from the beach and a pub/restaurant, an excellent night's sleep, and an extensive breakfast menu to 'dine for'. We pride ourselves on ensuring our guests feel comfortable, relaxed, and thoroughly enjoy their stay ensuring that they come back time and again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Siop y Rhos Moelfre, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siop y Rhos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.