We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seaside break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ty Dderw

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ty Dderw to your Saves list
Ty Dderw
Llanallgo, Moelfre LL72 8HB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Moelfre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
warrington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“seaside break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Ty Dderw with family including 3 grandchildren; the new owners deserve to succeed since they provide exceptionally comfortable accommodation and very pleasant, obliging staff. We dined in on both evenings and the menu, quality and presentation of the meals were excellent, as were the breakfasts.All reasonably priced too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    57
    23
    15
    3
See reviews for
22
90
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed for 1 night with dinner, good food, with generous portions. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Nice fire in the dining room.
Our room was small but comfortable, and newly decorated.
Very enjoyable and comfortable stay.
Will return

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Just come back from a two day break in Anglesey. Had a very good deal by booking direct with this hotel rather than going through a late deal website. When we arrived we were given a room upgrade which was excellant. Had a fantastic meal and drinks in the hotel which was excellant and after a stressful drive and enjoyed the banter in the bar with the locals who were very friendly. Wonderful walk along the coastal path and saw about 12 porpoise frollicking in the sea on our journey to Bellech which made our day. Decided to spend the second evening in the hotel for the evening meal and we were not disappointed, the hotel should be very proud chef and the menu he produced. Another beautiful meal and Aaron and Jo provided an excellant service. The cooked breakfast was also good value for money and you will not need to have anything else to eat all day if you take this. All in all an excellant hotel and would certainly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at Ty Dderw as a last minute booking for New Years Eve. Upon arrival we were greeted with a very warm welcome which immediately made us feel at home. We were informed that the other guests had already sat down for their evening meal however, we were informed that we were welcome to help ourselves to the buffet later that evening. We decided to go out for dinner and the staff were extremely helpfull in suggesting eating venues and even booked a table for us at a nearby resturant. Our room was brilliant, very spacious with beautifull views of the mountains. The bathroom was compact but with a very good power shower. The bed was the most comfortable I have stayed in when away from home and the decor of the room was tastefull. I didnt have breakfast but my partner did and he reliably informs me that it was excellent, his only criticism was that the cooked breakfast was slightly on the small side. The lady on reception is a credit to the hotel, on our last morning, we were late for breakfast and she arranged for bacon sandwiches to be prepared for my partner to take with him so he didnt go hungry on our return journey home!!! A very pleasant stay and i would deffinately stay again and highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We enjoyed a lovely meal which gave terrific value for money. The menu was well thought out, designed by a talented chef who had clearly been given the independence to be creative - so much better than the usual bog-standard, replicated fayre. My starter of woodpigeon was delicious and the fish in the main course was perfectly cooked. The background music was lousy and minor details such as proper napkins would have raised the experience to a position the food deserved - but the service was relaxed and friendly and our waiter very obliging. The chef, management and staff at Ty Dderw deserve to succeed and I highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moelfre
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Local produce cooked to a high standard; innovative menu. So nice to find a very good restaurant close to home with an interesting choice of food at a reasonable price. A few more diners on the night we were there would have made a better atmosphere. Good luck to the new owners and staff.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed here in October when it had just opened. Room was a tiny double. It was ok but nowhere you would want to spend any time as there was nowhere to sit really except on the bed (which was comfortable). Bathroom nicely refurbished.
Waited forever to have the breakfast order taken although there were no other guests around. Crumbs on the table from the night before (or the morning before). Hospitality tray was replenished the second day but the bin was not emptied. Heating could not be adjusted, it was very hot in the room.
Staff were friendly but nervous and you could tell that this was all new to them.
All in all, a nice enough place that just need to get everything in order (I'm sure they will). Good value for money. I wish them all the best, taking over a hotel in the current economic climate is a brave thing to do.
Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ty Dderw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Dderw

Address: Llanallgo, Moelfre LL72 8HB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Moelfre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Moelfre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ty Dderw Country Inn, on the beautiful Isle of Anglesey. It is short walk from the maritime village of Moelfre and The Anglesey Coastal Path. The Inn is a converted farmhouse set among neighbouring farmland with panoramic sea and countryside views. All of our 11 en suite bedrooms have views of either the sea or the countryside and some have views of both. We have single, double, twin and super king bedrooms as well as a family bedroom,each with their own individual character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Ty Dderw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Dderw Moelfre, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ty Dderw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.