We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, fantastic service, but slightly pricy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dylan's

Dylan's
St Georges Road, Menai Bridge LL59 5EY, Wales
01248716714
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dylan's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Menai Bridge
Price range: $11 - $44
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Holyhead, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place, fantastic service, but slightly pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

First time here and definitely won't be the last. Lovely food; I had pizza and my husband had the ham hock penne carbonara. Fairly big menu with a good choice. The staff were all excellent; friendly and attentive but not overbearing. The place was packed at Saturday lunchtime and there was a nice friendly vibe. The location right on the Menai Straits is stunning, with the only real drawback t that being the lack of parking, although there are options fairly nearby.

We ordered a side order of chips and so glad we did - possibly the best we've ever had! Great choice of drinks too, although at £3.75 for a wine and soda, I thought the price was slightly steep.

Despite this, we will certainly be returning, and would definitely recommend it. A credit to the island! Only reason it wasn't five stars was the lack of parking and slightly pricy menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    218
    83
    48
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First time visit, lovely food but pre-occupied staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Visited Dylans for lunch and had a lovely seat overlooking Bangor Pier. The food was lovely. I do not usual write reviews but was frustrated with staff. We asked if there was availability for a birthday party the next evening and the waitress advised that someone upstairs dealt with bookings and she would ask. We also asked if there was availability for Mothers Day - again she said she would ask. Didn't hear back from her at all, and we asked again when paying the bill.

We finished our main course and asked another waitress what the cakes were on the counter, she explained but we asked to see the dessert menu. She went off to get it, but we never saw her again and gave up waiting (quite some time while we were chatting), I did mention at the checkout but the waitress just smiled????

Would like to go again as I liked the food and setting of the restaurant but would be wary of service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Anglesey Travellers at Dylan's, Menai Bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was an impromptu late Sunday morning walk with the dog. Parking in the car park next to the Jade Village in Menai Bridge and walking through the woods down to the Strait and walking along the coastal road through the Bridge arches and into Menai Bridge. After 200 yards or so eventually lead us to Dylan's on the waterfront at about midday. Very busy then but we sat out on the veranda because of the dog, with a few others in a cool watery sunshine overlooking the fast flowing body of water with Bangor on the other shore. Lots of seafood fare to choose from but we chose Breakfast stack of bacon, mushroom, black pudding, tomato & Anglesey egg. All very nice and filling, washed down with a pot of Welsh Tea ( a bit pricey!). Tub of water for the dog too! Great seafood (& other foods) place to eat - if you can get in!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Super restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Cant fault it top class service and top class food a super value , the owners are a huge credit to the business.
If you are a coeliac like me and need a great gluten free meal this is the place to visit

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“satisfyingly tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I went for lunch last week and we were really impressed. everything was fantastic from the food to the service to the beautiful location. would highly recommend the crumble it was to die for.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dylan's also viewed

Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Dylan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dylan's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.