We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good start to our holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dylan's

Dylan's
St Georges Road, Menai Bridge LL59 5EY, Wales
01248716714
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dylan's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $44
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“good start to our holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We travelled to Anglesy for a bank holiday weekend and i ensured we arrived at Menai just in time for lunch at Dylans having checked out the reviews.
We were seated upstais with wonderful views of the Straits.
I had Dy's Drunken Mussels which were small,due to the coldness? but very tasty, my husband had Mackerel and was slightly disappointed with the taste but overall, lovley place, lovely staff and would not hesitate to recomend and most definatley, return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane E, Owner at Dylan's, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Good start to our holiday
Thanks for giving us a try and a thumbs up Aew. The mussels are small at this time of year – though with the waters now warming up on the Strait and spawning season coming to an end, they will plump up fast. You’re right though – they don’t loose any of their flavor. I’ll pass your comments onto the kitchen about your husband’s mackerel, sorry it didn’t quite meet his expectations. Hope to see you back at Dylan’s soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    270
    103
    51
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
anglesey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“much improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

very uncertain performances on earlier visits
seems to be running more sweetly now
food standard and service much better
great news as a great setting for eating

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane E, Owner at Dylan's, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
I really am grateful to you for your feedback. The staff have been working really hard over winter on service and delivery – it’s great that customers can see the difference and is a credit to the team. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“What a lovely find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We called in purely by chance last Tuesday at 7pm only to be told they were full. The Manager offered us the outdoor balcony and as the weather has been reasonable we decided to accept. No sooner had we sat down, we were presented with a welsh wool blanket in case it got too chilly. The food was very good indeed. We had mussels, goats cheese pannacotta, two pizzas and two large glasses of wine. £45 in total which I thought was very reasonable. Definitely be going again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane E, Owner at Dylan's, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Fantasyfood, thanks for the positive feedback. We’ve had a few lovely evenings on the terraces recently – and glad you got to share one with us. When it’s warm enough to sit out, there’s no finer place to watch the sun go down over the water. Hope we’ll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A sophisticated dining experience, for families, hooray!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend in Anglesey with our friends who have a holiday home there and they booked for us all to have lunch at Dylan's on Sunday afternoon of the bank holiday weekend. We had five children between us so, with adults, made a total of nine diners. As others reviewers have mentioned the welcome was wonderfully warm putting us all at ease immediately and we were shown to our table, (which was booked previously luckily as they were very busy). We had a lovely table upstairs with fantastic views over the water which was very relaxing. The menu was varied and elegant and all nine of us were exceptionally pleased with the quality of our food. The waiting staff were all incredibly friendly yet professional and the whole experience was a delight. It is so nice to find a restaurant that is stylish, sophisticated and very family friendly also.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane E, Owner at Dylan's, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Emma, we’re delighted that your party had such a nice time at Dylan’s on Bank Holiday Sunday. It was our busiest Sunday since we opened and it’s really pleasing to hear you all enjoyed the visit. We all have kids ourselves and our collective experience as parents visiting restaurants with small children has informed us of the need to make families feel welcome and at home in Dylan’s. Hope you make it back to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The food's ok but the menu needs some changing. The atmosphere is very good, I have been several times and will keep going. Barry the bartender is really good at his job & has a really good personality.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane E, Owner at Dylan's, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hi Julie,
Thanks for the thumbs up, but not sure what you mean about the menu – perhaps when you’re next in, have a word with one of us – would be good to know more specifically your thoughts on this. Barry is great and pleased that he looks after you so well. See you soon, I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dylan's also viewed

Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 
Newborough, Island of Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Dylan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dylan's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.