We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning! Fantastic staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Rhianfa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Rhianfa to your Saves list
Chateau Rhianfa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beaumaris, Menai Bridge LL59 5NS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Wirral
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stunning! Fantastic staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My Mum and I stayed at Plas Rhianfa at the end of May for one night (if only more!). We checked in and the receptionist was really helpful and friendly. We were in the Bangor Suite - such a lovely room and a WOW bathroom built in the turret with THREE shower heads in the huge walk in shower. We then went to explore the hotel and there were so many interesting and beautiful things to look at in the communal areas / rooms and the grounds were simply stunning. We spent ages just exploring the place and kept discovering new little nooks and crannies - including the 'snugs' off the balconies off the main dining rooms / lounge.

The grounds were so well kept. We had the 'chateau dining experience' for dinner and were entertained bu our host Fran throughout the evening. Food was fabulous!

We had a great nights sleep in the beautiful room with stunning views across the straits. Breakfast was amazing with really good quality food.

The main thing this hotel should be really proud of is their staff - they are so friendly and helpful and not at all snooty even though you are in such a grand and regal setting.

We have booked to go and stay in the self catering coach house mid july - can not wait!

Thank you for a lovely stay Plas Rhianfa.

Room Tip: All the rooms look stunning but ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear JenCWirral,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review of your experience at Plas Rhianfa.

My team were delighted when I briefed them of your comments. We are extremely proud of the Chateau Dining Experience and delighted that you had a wonderful evening.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    76
    38
    15
    7
See reviews for
44
253
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Annes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at Plas Rhianfa for the first time this weekend and we had an amazing time, we stayed in one of the superior rooms overlooking the Straits, the room was plush and the decor was excellent, there was a stand alone bath in the bedroom and the shower room was in the turret which was a great touch, all the staff were very attentive without being over the top and were always on hand if we needed anything, the views are incredible and we had a lovely walk in the gardens which lead directly on to the Menai Straits, the bed was the comfiest I have ever slept in and unlike a lot of hotels there was no noise at nights, no banging doors etc we woke up to the sound of birds tweeting outside after a lovely sleep, the breakfast at the hotel was very good and obviously made with the best ingredients and the staff again were excellent, overall our stay was exceptional and a real treat as it was my birthday, it was a step into the world of how the other half live as the hotel is top class, if you want to really spoil yourselves then Plas Rhianfa is ideal

Room Tip: The Superior rooms are well worth the money with excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Geno W,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Plas Rhianfa. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience whilst visiting us on Anglesey. We have many guests choosing to celebrate a special experience at Plas Rhianfa, and it's lovely to see that you enjoyed your birthday so much.

We hope to welcome you back for your next birthday!

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel was superb having been beautifully restored to a very high degree with friendly & attentive staff.
We had a delightful suite overlooking the Menai straits complete with 4 poster bed & a bath in the room together with a separate wet room shower in the turret.
The Chateau dining experience having canapés & Champagne in the lounge prior to eating in a private room with the other guests was very enjoyable although the food was nothing special.
Altogether, a lovely stay which we enjoyed very much.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dukes suite which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear 4Harvey,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Plas Rhianfa, and for also taking the time to write your review.

It is a pleasure reading your review, especially that you enjoyed our Chateau Dining Experience. The evenings are proving to be very popular and many of our guests comment on how they enjoy meeting fellow guests over Canapes before dining together.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Plas Rhianfa is a beautiful hotel overlooking the Menai Strait, and we were blown away by the view when we first arrived. The staff were friendly and attentive, and the hotel's renovation has been very tastefully done. The whole thing, however, is let down by an extraordinary decision to remove all dining options other than a £45 "Chateau Dining Experience" - a five course set dinner (although seemingly comprising of regular ala carte dishes), and canapes with the other guests. While I've got no problem with this being an option at the hotel, this felt like an attempt to apply a pretentious veneer to what would have likely been a nice dinner, and a method to extract revenue from customers. This frustration was compounded by the fact that there are no other places to eat within a 30-minute walking radius, so you are forced to get taxis if you plan to drink with your meal. This also extends to room service - after a day spent exploring the island, we just fancied grabbing a sandwich or something simple (didn't want to head out for the evening) and asked about room service, but were told that the hotel management policy was that once again it is Chateau Dining or nothing. This is not the fault of the staff at all, the were warm and very helpful throughout our stay, and seems to be a new experiment that the management have decided to implement. Judging by the number of other guests that we saw avoiding the Chateau dining, I can only hope that they reverse this experiment and allow the hotel to flourish.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The building is stunning and every public room has been decorated to the highest standard. We stayed as part of a travel Zoo offer but paid to upgrade to the Snowdonia room to get the most out of the views. We were not dissapointed. Fabulous room.
We took part in the 'Chateau dinning experience'. It was what it said an experience and we enjoyed the company of others for the evening. Three of the couples including ourselves were celebrating wedding anniversary's and would I think have welcomed the choice to dine alone. We chose to dine out the second night.
The breakfasts were lovely nicely served. All the staff are very welcoming and we would not hesitate to visit again.

Room Tip: Look carefully on their web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I'd been looking forward to a visit to Plas Rhianfa with my girlfriend for a while, the idea of staying in a French Chateau style hotel on the banks of the Menai Straits appealed greatly.So, my Birthday beckoned and it seemed an ideal time to visit.

Plas Rhianfa is a fantastic building and there are so many nooks and crannies that you can explore, in addition to the main (and very grand) public rooms. Gardens are beautiful too. We made full use of the facilities, Hot Tub was great, with views across the Straits. Enjoyed a game of tennis on the full size court. Played Pool in the Games Room. I lost both times to my girlfriend, oh well.

Room (the Menai Suite) was lovely, well furnished and very clean. Bathroom looked very expensive. Slight quirk of design meant lots of water splashed onto floor when using shower, maybe needs an additional glass screen? Nice selection of good quality toiletries.

We didn't eat in the evening, as the Chateau Dining Experience looked a little too formal. Maybe the option to have a 'normal' evening meal would be a good idea?

Breakfast was good, had the Full Welsh. My only comment would be that the portion size could be a little larger, it was delicious, but I could have eaten it twice over and not been full!

Lastly, I must comment on the staff - they were all fantastic, so friendly and professional. A real credit to the hotel and Clarenco.

Will we be going back? Definitely! A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Really lovely hotel. We were blown away when we arrived. The place is amazing and with stunning views over the Menai Strait to Snowdonia. Guests are allowed to roam everywhere and we were brought tea/coffee to a beautiful room where we sat to admire the views.
Our room (a superior double) was a mixed bag: we had the turret converted to wet room with three showers - it was stunning, but you can only spend so long in the shower! The room itself was a bit cramped with a very small window and was stuffy.
We had paid for Dinner, B&B and had informed the hotel in advance that we were vegetarian. The evening meal was a bit disappointing. It was trying to be fine dining but was not really good enough to justify it - would have preferred less pretentious food or better fine dining. Tomato consomme was a particular miss. Breakfast was not pretentious, but was not great either! In particular vegetarian sausages appeared after the rest of the breakfast as they were frozen (despite us having told them in advance that we were veggies.)
But don't let the above put you off. We would happily stay again but would eat out in the evening.

Room Tip: The turret shower is a great gimmick/fun addition but the room wasn't that great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Rhianfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Rhianfa

Address: Beaumaris, Menai Bridge LL59 5NS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Rhianfa 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château Rhianfa is an enchanting Grade II* listed Victorian home, modelled on the 16th-century French Renaissance château of Chenonceau, that stands amidst spectacular gardens on the Island of Anglesey with commanding views over the Menai Strait and towering peaks of Snowdonia. Close to the picture-postcard village of Beaumaris and just 12 miles from Snowdonia Park.A private home until 1955, the Château Rhianfa estate has undergone an extensive revamp in recent months, to both the house itself and surrounding grounds that comprise four acres and quayside. The Grand Hall, wood-panelled sitting rooms, Music Room, Drawing Room and Dining Room have all been carefully refurbished complete with Lady Sarah Hay-Williams' meticulously renovated painted ceilings. The opulent 42-foot Banqueting Hall at Château Rhianfa is a superb setting for lavish events with wooden flooring, panelled walls and breathtaking views of the Menai Strait that are sure to impress. Elsewhere, wine cellars and tasting rooms, vaulted spa rooms, a games room and lounge bar, as well as a private beach and tennis court are all available.The whole house has the feel of a regal hideaway making it an ideal location for weddings, business conferences, events, or your next product launch.There are also a number of cottages in the grounds, luxuriously furnished and available for hire on a self-catering basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Rhianfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Rhianfa Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Rhianfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.