We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware "Chateau Dining Experience" only” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Rhianfa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Rhianfa to your Saves list
Chateau Rhianfa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beaumaris, Menai Bridge LL59 5NS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beware "Chateau Dining Experience" only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Plas Rhianfa is a beautiful hotel overlooking the Menai Strait, and we were blown away by the view when we first arrived. The staff were friendly and attentive, and the hotel's renovation has been very tastefully done. The whole thing, however, is let down by an extraordinary decision to remove all dining options other than a £45 "Chateau Dining Experience" - a five course set dinner (although seemingly comprising of regular ala carte dishes), and canapes with the other guests. While I've got no problem with this being an option at the hotel, this felt like an attempt to apply a pretentious veneer to what would have likely been a nice dinner, and a method to extract revenue from customers. This frustration was compounded by the fact that there are no other places to eat within a 30-minute walking radius, so you are forced to get taxis if you plan to drink with your meal. This also extends to room service - after a day spent exploring the island, we just fancied grabbing a sandwich or something simple (didn't want to head out for the evening) and asked about room service, but were told that the hotel management policy was that once again it is Chateau Dining or nothing. This is not the fault of the staff at all, the were warm and very helpful throughout our stay, and seems to be a new experiment that the management have decided to implement. Judging by the number of other guests that we saw avoiding the Chateau dining, I can only hope that they reverse this experiment and allow the hotel to flourish.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    77
    38
    15
    7
See reviews for
44
256
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The building is stunning and every public room has been decorated to the highest standard. We stayed as part of a travel Zoo offer but paid to upgrade to the Snowdonia room to get the most out of the views. We were not dissapointed. Fabulous room.
We took part in the 'Chateau dinning experience'. It was what it said an experience and we enjoyed the company of others for the evening. Three of the couples including ourselves were celebrating wedding anniversary's and would I think have welcomed the choice to dine alone. We chose to dine out the second night.
The breakfasts were lovely nicely served. All the staff are very welcoming and we would not hesitate to visit again.

Room Tip: Look carefully on their web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I'd been looking forward to a visit to Plas Rhianfa with my girlfriend for a while, the idea of staying in a French Chateau style hotel on the banks of the Menai Straits appealed greatly.So, my Birthday beckoned and it seemed an ideal time to visit.

Plas Rhianfa is a fantastic building and there are so many nooks and crannies that you can explore, in addition to the main (and very grand) public rooms. Gardens are beautiful too. We made full use of the facilities, Hot Tub was great, with views across the Straits. Enjoyed a game of tennis on the full size court. Played Pool in the Games Room. I lost both times to my girlfriend, oh well.

Room (the Menai Suite) was lovely, well furnished and very clean. Bathroom looked very expensive. Slight quirk of design meant lots of water splashed onto floor when using shower, maybe needs an additional glass screen? Nice selection of good quality toiletries.

We didn't eat in the evening, as the Chateau Dining Experience looked a little too formal. Maybe the option to have a 'normal' evening meal would be a good idea?

Breakfast was good, had the Full Welsh. My only comment would be that the portion size could be a little larger, it was delicious, but I could have eaten it twice over and not been full!

Lastly, I must comment on the staff - they were all fantastic, so friendly and professional. A real credit to the hotel and Clarenco.

Will we be going back? Definitely! A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Really lovely hotel. We were blown away when we arrived. The place is amazing and with stunning views over the Menai Strait to Snowdonia. Guests are allowed to roam everywhere and we were brought tea/coffee to a beautiful room where we sat to admire the views.
Our room (a superior double) was a mixed bag: we had the turret converted to wet room with three showers - it was stunning, but you can only spend so long in the shower! The room itself was a bit cramped with a very small window and was stuffy.
We had paid for Dinner, B&B and had informed the hotel in advance that we were vegetarian. The evening meal was a bit disappointing. It was trying to be fine dining but was not really good enough to justify it - would have preferred less pretentious food or better fine dining. Tomato consomme was a particular miss. Breakfast was not pretentious, but was not great either! In particular vegetarian sausages appeared after the rest of the breakfast as they were frozen (despite us having told them in advance that we were veggies.)
But don't let the above put you off. We would happily stay again but would eat out in the evening.

Room Tip: The turret shower is a great gimmick/fun addition but the room wasn't that great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I'll start off with the good...the place is stunning, i will be visiting again. The location is amazing, and i loved every second i was there. We were booked in for a chateau dinning experience, where we sat at a table with 18 strangers..it worked out well. The service was good and we were made to feel comfortable.

The only issues i have with the place is first of all parking can be a problem, as the car park is small the only other place to park is along the road, but i suppose they can't do anything about that. The food quality was high, however the plates were not hot enough, consequently some of the food was lukewarm on arrival. Ourselves and some other guests felt that there could have been one more course or a larger main meal as we were still hungry at the end of the meal.

Don't let the negatives put you off, it is recommended and with a bit of luck we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I booked this place after reading the previous reviews and was not disappointed. You have to book early it seems to get the more exotic rooms but we were not disappointed with the standard room.

You will not regret staying here, as excellent facilities (next time will try the hot tub!) stunning scenery and friendly and welcoming staff.

We did not try the evening dinner but heard good things about this too but the cooked breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 (Beaumaris) and it has an amazing bathroom... but will save that for you to fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We booked the hotel for a Travelzoo 1 night offer which included £45 credit. The offer stated that the credit was enough for 2 to have dinner at the hotel. We checked online a few days before arriving and found that the hotel no longer offers a standard dinner but only a "chateau dining experience" which is a 5 course meal in the Great Hall at £45 a head. We didn't fancy spending an extra £45 for both of us to do this, so phoned and asked if we could use the credit on the 3 course Sunday lunch instead (as we were arriving on a Sunday). We were told that they were fully booked for Sunday lunch but as we were staying with them that night there was no problem fitting us in, which we appreciated.
As it turned out we could have eaten dinner from the "lighter bites" menu and used our credit towards that but we didn't know that until arrival - would be helpful to make that clear on the website!
On arrival, wet and cold (due to the Welsh weather), we had to park some way down the road as there is only a small car park and lots of Sunday lunch customers. We decided to leave our bags in the car and check in and have lunch, then move the car to the car park later in the afternoon. At Reception the staff were very friendly and offered to get our bags for us while we had lunch, which was helpful. We went to the room first and it was really light, airy and well decorated ("Parterre" - room 12). The highlights were the very comfortable bed, and the turret shower room - three shower heads and a window (not overlooked but it did have a blind for privacy) in one of the several turrets in the hotel.
Sunday lunch was excellent - the roast beef was the best my husband had ever tasted, and my fish dish was very good as well (although I wish I'd had the beef once I saw it!). It is obviously very popular with a mixture of large tables having a family lunch and smaller tables of 2 or 4. The waiting staff were all local and very friendly and attentive.
For the rest of the wet and windy afternoon we made use of the best facility of the hotel - the games room (with attached bar room). Playing pool with cues whose tips flew off every now and again was interesting but great fun - I would hope the hotel will get better cues soon to go with the excellence everywhere else. The games room also had a large TV with Sky Sports and comfy sofas and armchairs. It was really good to have this facility away from the posher drawing room and library upstairs.
The only slight drawback from our otherwise excellent room was that it was very close to the kitchens, and with the kitchen door left open most of the time (it seemed) we did get a fair bit of clattering of pots and pans before dinner and breakfast. This was a minor drawback though and did not spoil our enjoyment.
I would recommend exploring the hotel (the staff will give you a tour if you ask) to find all of the odd little rooms and corridors throughout the building. The turret room off the veranda was particularly intriguing...
Breakfast the next morning was a buffet style hot and cold food, with eggs cooked to order separately. The sausages were particularly good and it is always great to find a top hotel that serves baked beans for breakfast if you want them!
We will be back again as soon as we can find a reason to travel all the way to Anglesey again.

Room Tip: Room 12 is over the kitchen - try to go higher or over the other side of the hotel if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Rhianfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Rhianfa

Address: Beaumaris, Menai Bridge LL59 5NS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Rhianfa 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château Rhianfa is an enchanting Grade II* listed Victorian home, modelled on the 16th-century French Renaissance château of Chenonceau, that stands amidst spectacular gardens on the Island of Anglesey with commanding views over the Menai Strait and towering peaks of Snowdonia. Close to the picture-postcard village of Beaumaris and just 12 miles from Snowdonia Park.A private home until 1955, the Château Rhianfa estate has undergone an extensive revamp in recent months, to both the house itself and surrounding grounds that comprise four acres and quayside. The Grand Hall, wood-panelled sitting rooms, Music Room, Drawing Room and Dining Room have all been carefully refurbished complete with Lady Sarah Hay-Williams' meticulously renovated painted ceilings. The opulent 42-foot Banqueting Hall at Château Rhianfa is a superb setting for lavish events with wooden flooring, panelled walls and breathtaking views of the Menai Strait that are sure to impress. Elsewhere, wine cellars and tasting rooms, vaulted spa rooms, a games room and lounge bar, as well as a private beach and tennis court are all available.The whole house has the feel of a regal hideaway making it an ideal location for weddings, business conferences, events, or your next product launch.There are also a number of cottages in the grounds, luxuriously furnished and available for hire on a self-catering basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Rhianfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Rhianfa Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Rhianfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.