We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury, great setting, beautiful views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Rhianfa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Rhianfa to your Saves list
Chateau Rhianfa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beaumaris, Menai Bridge LL59 5NS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Dyserth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Luxury, great setting, beautiful views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Beautiful building which has recently been upgraded and refurbished. Great location for travelling the area. We stayed in the luxury suite, had a special offer on at the time which included dinner, so we ate in the restaurant. Welcome was friendly and the room was modern , which was a surprise. Large roll top bath in the window overlooking the Menai straits. Comfy bed, great room to relax and chill. Underfloor hearing in the bathroom. Dinner was very pleasant, dining room a bit quiet. Could here other couples whispering which is always somewhat awkward isn't it? Could do with some background music. Service was top drawer. Reasonably priced wine, good selection to choose from. Value for money only if you manage to get a deal, otherwise would be pricey.

Room Tip: The best you can afford looking over the Menai straits. Look out for deals to include dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. As you mention, Plas Rhianfa has a great location to explore North Wales and is really easy to get to. I am pleased that you had such a fantastic stay with us recently and hope that you can visit us again soon. I have passed on all of your comments to our great staff who I know appreciate every review received. Thank you again .
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    76
    38
    15
    7
See reviews for
44
253
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I travel quite a lot, though admittedly I mostly stay at mid-level accommodation rather than 5 star, and I can honestly say I was blown away by Plas Rhianfa. The pictures online don't do justice to what a unique and stunning experience this hotel offers. There are many public rooms open for use -- Sitting Room, Music Room, Bar, Sun Room, Games Room, Wine Cave, plus several small retiring rooms and nooks and crannies open for exploration -- and the entirety of the place is gorgeously decorated with antiques and fine furnishings, so you really do feel as though you are staying in a castle. The staff were all courteous and made us feel like important guests. At dinner, my desert of vanilla panna cotta with hazelnuts and chocolate sauce was truly incredible. The bed was supremely comfortable. The view from our room of the Menai Straight was picturesque. The hotel is situated nearby some of our favorite castles in the world (Conwy and Caernarfon). I really can't recommend it enough! My only regret is that my husband and I had only booked one night at Plas Rhianfa. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in "William's room" which had a giant (read: romantic) circular shower (circ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you now class Plas Rhianfa as “Your new favourite accommodation in the world”. As you mention, all our rooms are gorgeously decorated, open and welcoming and all our guests are encouraged to explore this outstanding building. I have passed on your comments to all of our great team and we sincerely hope that you can return to see us very soon. Once again, thank you for your review.
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Had a meal here with some friends who were staying at the hotel. Public rooms are very special and no expense spared on bringing this wonderful building back to life. Service is excellent. The meal was high quality although rather rich with strong flavours. Great wine list. The bedrooms have been individually designed and are so luxurious with great walk in showers in the turrets. I look forward to returning

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at Plas Rhianfa. I am pleased that you had a great stay with us and you are looking forward to returning to see us again. I have noted your comments and passed on your comments to our great staff. Thank you.
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We recently stayed here with our 2 children aged 2 and 6. We were worried as we hadn't read any reviews with regards to children, however the hotel staff were brilliant. Our evening meal was superb and the room was very modern and very well thought out. My daughter was fascinated by the kate & William bedrooms and can't wait to visit again soon.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. Even though we do not have a lot of children staying with us, we always treat them as we do with our older guests. We are more than happy to welcome children. I am pleased to read that your daughter was fascinated by the Kate and William bedroom. We hope you can visit us again very soon. I have passed on your comments to our great staff.
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel in February for the start of our 30th wedding anniversary celebrations. This is a beautiful hotel, lovely staff and gorgeous hotel to stay in, we have now just returned from our celebrations and can recommend this hotel as a firm favourite on our list and will be returning. Thank you for looking after us so well and making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write your review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you had a great time with us and your 30th anniversary was made even more special by our great staff. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Once again, thank you for your review.
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed the weekend with friends. Excellent service and high quality food. The manager Mr Gerwyn Morgan ensured that we were made welcome and his staff were excellent.
All the rooms are different and most have stunning views over the Menai Straits.
Lovely public rooms which are relaxing and have the views out to Snowdonia.
Well worth a visit. An excellent base to visit Anglesey and all its attractions and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick the rooms on the higher floors as this enhances the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
I am pleased to see that you, your wife and friends had a great stay with us recently. As always, my staff and I always endeavour to make all of our guests more than welcome and hope that you can return to North Wales very soon. I have passed on all of your comments to our great staff. Thnak you again.
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I along with a group of friends have just returned from a weekend break at this special Hotel,we arrived on Friday afternoon and were given a tour of the hotel,we found it to be like no other Hotel we have ever stayed in with a fantastic atmosphere that is created by a very special blend of individual character rooms with ornate furniture and feature fireplaces that create a mix between Hogwarts and Downton.but with luxury very much in mind.The owners have gone into great detail in the conversion of this Hotel to achieve what we look upon as a special place.The views from the grand windows overlook the Menai straights and beyond to the outstanding beauty of the Snowdonnia mountain range.The manager and staff were excellent nothing was to much trouble, the service first class and the quality of the meals that we enjoyed were worthy of a top class restaurant.We were sad to leave but will return later this year as we hope to take a short summer break at Plas Rhianfa.With the help of Mr Morgan the hotel manager we took a ride on the Ribrunner a fast speedboat that took us along the straights with stops to point out the outstanding beauty and historical facts that surround the area.All in all a great weekend that we will not forget, our thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Menai Bridge and you will get a fantastic view of so much more tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you had a great time with us at Plas Rhianfa. As you say, the property is a fantastic venue and an ideal place to relax and enjoy with friends. I’m pleased that you had a great time and enjoyed your rib ride along the Menai Strait. A really wonderful experience if you want to see the Strait from a different perspective. I have passed on all of your comments to our great team and look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Thank you
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Rhianfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Rhianfa

Address: Beaumaris, Menai Bridge LL59 5NS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Rhianfa 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château Rhianfa is an enchanting Grade II* listed Victorian home, modelled on the 16th-century French Renaissance château of Chenonceau, that stands amidst spectacular gardens on the Island of Anglesey with commanding views over the Menai Strait and towering peaks of Snowdonia. Close to the picture-postcard village of Beaumaris and just 12 miles from Snowdonia Park.A private home until 1955, the Château Rhianfa estate has undergone an extensive revamp in recent months, to both the house itself and surrounding grounds that comprise four acres and quayside. The Grand Hall, wood-panelled sitting rooms, Music Room, Drawing Room and Dining Room have all been carefully refurbished complete with Lady Sarah Hay-Williams' meticulously renovated painted ceilings. The opulent 42-foot Banqueting Hall at Château Rhianfa is a superb setting for lavish events with wooden flooring, panelled walls and breathtaking views of the Menai Strait that are sure to impress. Elsewhere, wine cellars and tasting rooms, vaulted spa rooms, a games room and lounge bar, as well as a private beach and tennis court are all available.The whole house has the feel of a regal hideaway making it an ideal location for weddings, business conferences, events, or your next product launch.There are also a number of cottages in the grounds, luxuriously furnished and available for hire on a self-catering basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Rhianfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Rhianfa Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Rhianfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.