We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Rhianfa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Rhianfa to your Saves list
Chateau Rhianfa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beaumaris, Menai Bridge LL59 5NS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We spent a long weekend here in November 2012 for my birthday. The place is simply stunning. We had the best room in the hotel - a Principal Superior Suite with a large sleigh bed and bath in a bay window overlooking the Menai Straits and Snowdonia. Also had a large bathroom with lots of room and a large, powerful shower.
This is the ideal location for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Principal Superior Suite - one with the large leather sleigh bed and bath in bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of Plas Rhianfa following your recent birthday weekend stay. We are pleased to hear that you had a great time with us and hope that you can visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    98
    46
    18
    10
See reviews for
52
317
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Spent two nights here for my husbands birthday. It is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at. Stunning location. Our room, 7 was beautiful, the views of Snowdon constantly changing, sun and snow and mist all in one day. Would have liked a bath as well as the large walk in shower, but it did not spoil our stay. The staff are excellent, nothing was too much trouble. We really enjoyed all our meals, and the cosy bar for a pre or after dinner drink. Nice lounges, and beautifully furnished. Well done. Will return.y

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of Plas Rhianfa. I am pleased to hear that you had such a great “birthday” stay with us. I have passed on your comments to our great team. We hope that you can visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights on a mid week break. We were so thrilled with everything during our stay. Such a beautiful place in a stunning location. We managed to walk on Snowdon, cycle through forests and walk on beaches. We really had the most wonderful time and will keep such treasured memories. Explore the hotel as much as you can because there is always more to see around each corner, the gardens are beautiful too, leading down to the water. The Staff were all so friendly and helpful, especially the girls in the dining hall. The food was wonderful and the rooms gorgeous. The whole package is breathtaking and really worth the long journey it took for us to get there! 6 hours! Would love to return one day. I managed to take some photos on the beach and have them framed in my hallway as a reminder!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, the turrets have showers in them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for writing your review. After a long 6 hour journey I am pleased that you were not disappointed with Plas Rhianfa. As you mention, there are lots of places in the hotel to explore and probably many you didn’t manage to find. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards
Gerwyn Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Come here if you want pure luxury...our hotel suite was amazing..the most comfiest bed ever...beautiful roll top bath and 3 showers in a turret with stunning views! The food was superb...staff could not do enough for you...and an added bonus was the hot tub and sauna...i could not recommend this hotel enough..me and my partner absolutely loved it and are definately coming back...thank you so much

Room Tip: duchess suite....WOW!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write your review of Plas Rhianfa. Our beds are absolutely fantastic and are, as you say really “comfy”. Not your run of the mill type. We take great care in the choice of furniture and beds we use at Plas Rhianfa. I’m pleased that you managed to get to use the hot tub and sauna. I personally thank you for your recommendation and I look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have never written a review before in my life but the experience was so good I feel that I just have to share our experience. My girlfriend and I went to this hotel for three nights 23/11/2012. We were excited the moment we went through the door into reception where we were shown to our room with a beautiful walk in turret shower which was just enormous with three shower heads in there. The bed was enormous and extremely comfortable. We found we were still in awe of this beautiful hotel for the next few hours as we explored the many reception rooms, cubby holes and stunning grounds all around the hotel. No room was the same, they all had their unique character and put big smiles on our faces.

The stay in the hotel wouldnt have been the same without the friendly staff there. Everybody was so helpful and always had time to stop for a chat and made us feel very welcome. The food and drink was fantastic and the service was faultless. We were watching the formula 1 in the games room on the sunday morning and found that we didnt even need to go upstairs to get our drinks as the bar staff would bring them to us!

One thing worth mentioning is that because there are so many reception rooms, there is always somewhere private for you to sit down and relax with a drink or two! The friday and saturday nights were both fully booked and wether you wanted to sit and chat to other guests or simply sit in utter privacy, the choice was yours to make.

On the sunday night, a lot of guests had gone home and the ones that did remain went out for dinner so instead of sitting in the large dining room on our own, the staff made up a special private dining area upstairs in one of the stunning reception rooms which made that night very feel special indeed.

We left this morning with some great memories and we will definitely be going back as soon as possible! We would also highly recommend Llanddona Riding School which is about a 15 minute drive away where we were treated to an incredible 2 hour ride down to the beach, cantering through the water across the beach. Neither of us had ridden for a few years but we were in excellent hands!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 - the turret room which had a very comfortable king size bed and an incredible w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am really pleased that you had such a great time with us. As you mention, no two rooms are the same and no matter how many times you wander around the hotel, you will always see something different. We hope that you can return to see us very soon and I have passed on all of your comment to our great team.
Kind regards
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Me and my boyfriend went for a weekend away for his birthday and we could not have picked a better place! The staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and they arranged taxis into town for us both nights! The hotel and the grounds were just beautiful and our room (14) had a walk in shower room with 3 showers! It was amazing! The staff even found us a torch so that we could go exploring the grounds in the evening as it went dark quite early. We will be returning here for sure!! A shame that we didnt get chance to go in the hot tub as we were only there for 2 nights and had a lot planned! If you do stay here i would definitely recommend the boat trip to puffin island where you can see all kinds of amazing wildlife including wild seals for only £9 per person! Bargain! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write your review.We are pleased that you had a great birthday weekend with us. The next time you visit us you will have to try out the amazing hot tub and sauna. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Kind regards
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights here. This hotel is probably the best we have stayed in and we get about a bit. There are lots of little nooks and crannies to this hotel and loads to explore. You can find areas to be alone in if that's what you want. We booked quite late and as a result didn't have a choice of room only a basic room. We couldn't have been more pleased. Everything was really clean and the room had 3 showers in a turret.stunning room . Food was good, staff good, parking a bit tight but you can find a space. We will be going back definitely ! We had an amazing time !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are pleased that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed the turret shower with it three shower heads. We hope that you can join us again very soon.
Kind regards
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Rhianfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Rhianfa

Address: Beaumaris, Menai Bridge LL59 5NS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Rhianfa 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château Rhianfa is an enchanting Grade II* listed Victorian home, modelled on the 16th-century French Renaissance château of Chenonceau, that stands amidst spectacular gardens on the Island of Anglesey with commanding views over the Menai Strait and towering peaks of Snowdonia. Close to the picture-postcard village of Beaumaris and just 12 miles from Snowdonia Park.A private home until 1955, the Château Rhianfa estate has undergone an extensive revamp in recent months, to both the house itself and surrounding grounds that comprise four acres and quayside. The Grand Hall, wood-panelled sitting rooms, Music Room, Drawing Room and Dining Room have all been carefully refurbished complete with Lady Sarah Hay-Williams' meticulously renovated painted ceilings. The opulent 42-foot Banqueting Hall at Château Rhianfa is a superb setting for lavish events with wooden flooring, panelled walls and breathtaking views of the Menai Strait that are sure to impress. Elsewhere, wine cellars and tasting rooms, vaulted spa rooms, a games room and lounge bar, as well as a private beach and tennis court are all available.The whole house has the feel of a regal hideaway making it an ideal location for weddings, business conferences, events, or your next product launch.There are also a number of cottages in the grounds, luxuriously furnished and available for hire on a self-catering basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Rhianfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Rhianfa Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Rhianfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.