We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are hotels, then there's Plas Rhianfa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Rhianfa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Rhianfa to your Saves list
Chateau Rhianfa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beaumaris, Menai Bridge LL59 5NS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“There are hotels, then there's Plas Rhianfa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately we only spent one night here, but that was enough to know that this is pretty unique place. We stayed in the Duchess Room which has breathtaking views of the Menai Straits. The room has a bath tub set in the massive window which allows you to sit in a warm bath and watch the night come. The view of the snow dusted mountains and dramatic sky are unforgettable. This is the reason to stay in this room.

Away from the room the hotel offers a variety unique places to read, write, drink, eat or just sit and enjoy the views. The wine cave is particularly atmospheric.

The menu in the restaurant is simple but the food is beautiful. The steak was a highlight, while the locally sourced scallops great.

Staff are friendly, well informed about the history of the place and helpful. Stephen was a particularly engaging member of staff who we enjoyed chatting with.

If it's a little bit of luxury you're after stay here. We'll certainly be going back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Plas Rhianfa. I have personally passed all of your kind comments on to all of our great team and we all look forward to meeting you again very soon.
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    98
    46
    18
    10
See reviews for
52
317
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sratford Upon Avon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We don't do holidays in the UK but we felt like a break and Anglesey was one of my childhood favourite locations. I googled luxury and was totally taken by the website photos so booked a suite. On arrival no suite due to a double booking. The room on offer was not what I wanted and just when I felt all was lost they offered us use of the coach house which was not yet being booked. That was a very lucky break because we got a wonderful house with lounge, dinning room, kitchen, and four bedrooms. Ok we only used one bedroom with a balcony and wonderful view overlooking the Menai Straits, and the lounge which was really comfortable, but the coach house offeres a spectacular opportunity for a group of friends to have their own little home from home and the wonder of the main hotel next door.
The hotel is simply beautiful with great decor. The gardens are pretty and the architecture of the house has a quirky why is a French chateaux in North Wales charm. It has history and interest which we soaked up. We had dinner at the hotel on both nights of our stay and found it excellent. The staff were really friendly and the service was always with a smile. What we didn't know was that the hotel had not been open for very long and that probably explained the odd little glitch that were always handled with a positive. We loved the wine cave and the other bars as the atmosphere was relaxed, chilled, and full of ambiance. We left to move to another luxury hotel for a couple of days but it couldn't quite live up to the Plas Rhianfa so our only regret was we didn't book this hotel first. We will go back to the Rhianfa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your room was not available on your arrival. I have looked into this and unfortunately, due to an error on our system, your room was double booked. I would like to apologise for this. However, I am pleased that we were able to accommodate you in The Coach House, which as you say, it a really special property which compliments the hotel. The views are stunning and this is an ideal property for a group of up to six guests in three double rooms. All of your comments have been noted and have been passed onto our great team. We really hope that you can join us again in the very near future. Once again, thank you for taking your time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful castle nestled on the Menai Straits. We visited for a romantic anniversary break and this plave certainly exceeded our expectations. From the grand entrance and friendly welcome to the quirky, individual and comfortable rooms this place is just a dream. There lots to explore: a hot tub with a fantastic view, quirky nooks and crannies, great use of the original castle features and great grounds to walk through. We had a fab time and would certainly return. Absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Plas Rhianfa. We are really pleased that we exceeded your expectations. All of your comments have been passed onto our great team and we look forward to seeing you again in the near furutre.
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Breathtaking views
Superb service
Delicious food (the steak was melt in the mouth)
Incredible architecture
The only thing is improve is the gym. The equipment needs to be of a far higher speck in there.
The shower in my room (Beaumaris) has to be seen - amazing!
Stay here as often as you can!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your reivew. I am really please that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I have noted your points and have passed on your comments to our great team. Thank you again and look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is the most stunning hotel i have been to . 5 star luxury. A private house left to rot and brought back to life. The rooms have all been restored using as many of the original features that were still usable. The banqueting hall is beautiful and you were able to look around in all the nooks and crannys at your leisure. The food was amazing. A very quiet tranqil place overlooking the Menai Straits and the mountains of Wales beyond. A place i will definately go back to.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay recently. I hope that you can visit us again very soon. I have passed on your comments to all of the team at Plas Rhianfa.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We watched this hotel being refurbished and my wife was delighted when we pulled into the car park for a romantic night away - the hotel's interior and bedrooms are breathtaking and we couldn't fault them. Comfortable beds, great toiletries and tea/coffee. However, in our view, the food does not meet the same high standards - filet steak was tough and tasteless and for breakfast I had to send rock hard poached eggs back. From a small wine list of about 10 bottles, 4 were out of stock as we were told they only get a wine delivery on Mondays. The dining room, although impressive, was a bit cavernous and needed some background music. We would definitely stay here again but would eat at Dylan's in Menai Bridge - fantastic restaurant by the waterfront. I don't want to be too critical of a newly opened hotel with some teething troubles, but we paid a lot for the room and to survive at this level things need to be spot on. PS Arrive early because the car park is small and we had to park further down the road.

Room Tip: Worth paying more for a view of Menai Straits - fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

I'm sorry to hear that your steak appeared to be tough, with fillet steak this certainly isn't normally the case. Our chefs take great care when selecting cuts of beef and we will speak with our butchers over this matter. However, I'm sure if you had brought this to the attention of your server, this would have been changed immediately.

Again, i'm supprised about the comment you made about the wine and wine list. We actually have over 40 wines, champagnes and dessert wines on our list and I am sorry to hear that there were four not available during your stay. Although our car park at reception has approximately 12 spaces, we do have spaces for over 30 cars at our property next door. All other points have been noted and taken onboard and passed onto all of our great staff. We do look forward to meeting you again, and on your next visit, please ask to speak to myself and I will be happy to discuss your comments personally.

Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

You know when you’re staying somewhere special when you’re asked to register in the drawing room!! Seeing is believing when it comes to Plas Rhianfa as words and even pictures fail to do this outstanding hotel justice.

The views are stunning and there are many as each public room has its own different perspective over the Menai straights. You are actively encouraged to explore both the hotel and its gardens, make sure you do as there are many treasures to discover.

We stayed in Snowdonia ( Rm 7 ) on the third floor, upon opening its door we were bowled over by its décor, views and upon discovering it, its bathroom! There is enough quirkiness to please all and the quality touches make you feel like a respected guest. My wife was in raptures over the tiebacks and I must admit that the selection of tea and coffee was way above the normal hotel fare.

We had both dinner and breakfast during our brief stay and can highly recommend both. The quality of the food and its presentation were excellent and the service just right.

Many thanks to all the staff who made us feel so welcome during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Plas Rhianfa recently.
The views are outstanding, no matter what the weather is doing outside. Room 7 (Snowdonia Suite), is a very quirky room, with the turret being converted into a relaxing round reading room.
We thank you for your kind comments and hope to see you again very soon.
All of your comments have been passed on to out staff.
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Rhianfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Rhianfa

Address: Beaumaris, Menai Bridge LL59 5NS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Rhianfa 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château Rhianfa is an enchanting Grade II* listed Victorian home, modelled on the 16th-century French Renaissance château of Chenonceau, that stands amidst spectacular gardens on the Island of Anglesey with commanding views over the Menai Strait and towering peaks of Snowdonia. Close to the picture-postcard village of Beaumaris and just 12 miles from Snowdonia Park.A private home until 1955, the Château Rhianfa estate has undergone an extensive revamp in recent months, to both the house itself and surrounding grounds that comprise four acres and quayside. The Grand Hall, wood-panelled sitting rooms, Music Room, Drawing Room and Dining Room have all been carefully refurbished complete with Lady Sarah Hay-Williams' meticulously renovated painted ceilings. The opulent 42-foot Banqueting Hall at Château Rhianfa is a superb setting for lavish events with wooden flooring, panelled walls and breathtaking views of the Menai Strait that are sure to impress. Elsewhere, wine cellars and tasting rooms, vaulted spa rooms, a games room and lounge bar, as well as a private beach and tennis court are all available.The whole house has the feel of a regal hideaway making it an ideal location for weddings, business conferences, events, or your next product launch.There are also a number of cottages in the grounds, luxuriously furnished and available for hire on a self-catering basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Rhianfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Rhianfa Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Rhianfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.