We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gazelle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gazelle to your Saves list
Gazelle
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Glyngarth, Menai Bridge LL59 5PD , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Truly awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

First Impressions were not good, walked in to find no one on reception.
Carpet was sticky and the place is just oddly laid out.
On asking if they did a vegetarian option ... a puzzled member of staff said yes we do fish...
We didnt eat here and we didnt stay long!
The treacherous trip down a narrow hill was not worth it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris m, Manager at Gazelle, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are very sorry that you were dissapointed in your visit to the gazelle hotel , and that you found the small lane down to the hotel too much trouble as most people make a special journey to come and visit one of the most spectacular views on the isle of anglesey. No only do they visit the hotel for the spectacular views they also visit us for our outstanding food. Maybe 125 covers on a sunday afternoon proves this point. As for the road im affraid there is nothing we can do about that as the road is the original ferry point on to the island before the bridges were built and is over 200 years old. We do cater for vegiterians, vegans and any other kind of special requirments as we are a hotel and our coustomers expect it. Whoever offerd you the fish dish was missunderstood and we can only appolagise about this.As for the carpet the stickyness is from wear and tear of salt water from the many boater, walkers and tourist who visit our very busy hotel and is in the process of being changed for a welsh slate flooring.We hope that you will return so as we can prove our points to you if you have any questions do not hessitate to call chris massey at the gazelle he will be happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    54
    15
    9
    26
See reviews for
46
104
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheddleton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Only a short stay this time, but will certainly be going back, great setting and superb location for discovering more of Anglesey! The food is second to none, both proprioters and staff very friendly and welcoming. Thanks and see you all again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We called in for a drink over this weekend and were really impressed with the quality of this hotel. The Robinson's beer was very good and the views were spectacular - the staff were really friendly and welcoming . In the summertime you can see this place would be packed solid given the great views across the straits to Snowdonia.We had already eaten otherwise we would have had something to eat - the menu was good and the quality of the food being served looked excellent. We will return in the coming weeks to sample the food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

There is no doubt that this hotel is situated in a fantastic spot overlooking the Menai Straits and regional mountains, but the inside will probably delight you too . We were given a very warm welcome by Chris, one of the owners and following a swift and efficient check in we were showed to our sea view room in the second floor.
The room was large and spacious with an equally large bathroom with shower. The views from all windows were stunning.
The room was very tastefully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Quiet, peaceful....just what you need. Everything worked, and the room, towels and linens were all spotlessly clean.
There were tea coffee making facilities in the room and complimentary toiletries in the bathroom which was a nice touch. Downstairs, there is a really nice bar with lots of smaller areas which could be comfortable nooks and crannies with a bottle of wine! ( we took ours outside and admired the views)
We enjoyed an excellent dinner in the restaurant that evening, the food was hot, delicious and well priced. Chris was an excellent host and clearly goes out of his way to ensure guests are happy during their stay.
We had a flight to catch the following day so had to leave before the usual breakfast serving time, though Chris had arranged for us to have an early breakfast and ensured that staff were aware of this the night before....we really appreciated this gesture as we had a busy journey ahead of us.
All in all, we had a lovely stay at the Gazelle, and will certainly recommend it to our friends.
Many thanks

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We came to the area to see Bangor Uni and travelled the short way across the bridge to this charming hotel. The rooms were clean and tidy, with quality furniture and linen. We stayed in the annex with that superb view and (if it was less cold out) the patio area to relax on. The evening meals were enjoyable, ranging from 8 to 15 pounds for a main dish, with not much of a waiting time and the staff were lovely. The breakfasts were also of very high quality - we all left very content! One thing I forgot to mention to Chris when I left was that we did use the good in-room tea and coffee facilities although there was only one saucer for two cups and no teaspoons so we just made do - good quality bottled water and cookies were also appreciated. A very minor pick-up - and it is minor, it would not stop us going back to the same room at all - is that outside the annex are two very bright lights on the side of the hotel that maybe could be more directed to the ground or on a sensor.That's it! Thanks for a great stay.
We are thinking of planning a longer stay longer in the year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I have been visiting The Gazelle for many years as part of regular forays on to the Isle of Anglesey as we absolutely love the setting - but this was the first time we had the opportunity to stay over for a couple of nights. Over the years we have seen standards rise and fall but we were delighted to find that Chris and his team are working really hard to restore the place to former glories. The Gazelle has always been worth a visit to simply sit and enjoy the views with a glass or two - additionally, on this occasion, we found the hotel rooms to be clean & comfortable. Ok you can see that there is still a way to go - the service, whilst very friendly & helpful is somewhat disorganised and, as has been mentioned previously, some of the groundfloor carpets have seen better days, especially the dining room. We wouldn`t hesitate to go and stay again however to see what further improvements Chris and the team can make and to sample the food and drink which is very acceptable. Well recommended in its own right - and as a base for touring the delightful towns and beaches of the island.

Room Tip: Front rooms looking out to the Menai Straits and Snowdonia
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had the most amazing steak!!! It was to de for..we arrived a little late to have a roast dinner which I fancied but I was made up with my meal ..they gave us free Diane sauces because of them running out of beef lunches..there was no need but we were chuffed!!! Staff lovely and friendly..amazing views from the windows over the Menai straights.. Will defiantly return .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gazelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gazelle

Address: Glyngarth, Menai Bridge LL59 5PD , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gazelle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Gazelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gazelle Menai Bridge
Gazelle Hotel Menai Bridge
Gazelle Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gazelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.