We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strait to the Heart!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gazelle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gazelle to your Saves list
Gazelle
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Glyngarth, Menai Bridge LL59 5PD , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Venice, Italy
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Strait to the Heart!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Gazelle Hotel

More years ago than I care to remember I was touring Wales with my cousin. We were travelling along the road from Menai to Beaumaris. We had travelled this road a few times and noted a sign pointing down towards The Gazelle Hotel. Early one evening we decided to go and have a look. The Gazelle is on the water's edge with an open space in front,. There appeared to be some sort if open air party going on. Oh let's go up market – reception. I always remember one man in particular. He was in full evening cress complete with black bow tie. In his hand he had glass of champagne. Perhaps not, given the date probably Babycham. Nothing wrong with this but he was wearing a sou'wester. Once again not all that unusual but perhaps he was expecting a storm. But he was not wearing any shoes or socks. This image of the sou'wester wearing man in evening dress and barefoot has always stuck with me and I have always wanted to stay at The Gazelle Hotel. A couple of years ago whilst planning a trip to Anglesey I tried to contact the hotel but no phone was answered and e mails returned. I presumed that they had closed. However when planning a trip this year the website was all singing all dancing. I presumed, quite rightly as it turned out that it had changed hands. So we duly booked a four night stay. The hotel is situated on the water's edge as it was built originally as a ferry house. spectacular views over to Snowdonia and the Menai Straits.
Anglesey, Menai and the Straits is one of my favourite places in the world but I rarely have the chance to visit but this proved to be an exceptional week due mainly to staying in The Gazelle. Our room had a view over the Straits and during our stay I took countless photographs of the changing light and atmosphere over towards the Clywd Hills and Snowdon and the Menai Bridge.
Our room was both comfortable and well-equipped, and spotlessly clean. With such a spectacular view, a chair where one could sit and look out was very welcome, and there was also a shared terrace for the three annex rooms outside
The bar food, though not exactly cheap, is of the highest quality. Both the mussels and the salmon fish cakes can be highly recommended. An added attraction is that Real Ale is served in the bar. Chris and Andrew the proprietors are welcoming, friendly, attentive but not fussy hosts. Many of the customers who use the Gazelle are regulars and always ready to chat as are the friendly staff.
A full Welsh breakfast is served in a pretty room with once again superb views over the Straits.
If you wish to leave you car behind and have a drink in Beaumaris or Menai then there is a very good bus service that stops outside the hotel.
The Gazelle advertises itself as “Great Views Great Food Great Company” That is not some ad man's 'mission statement' as it sums up The Gazelle. Highly, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Menai Strait: spectacular views and ever-changing light
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    54
    15
    9
    26
See reviews for
46
104
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Gazelle for 3 nights over a weekend in August. The hotel owner and staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble! It is in a wonderful position overlooking the Menai straits. We stayed in the modern annex room which was clean, comfortable and everything you would expect. We felt very re-freshed after our break!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I had a single room and although fairly clean, the maid left my door unlocked after cleaning so it was open all day. For the price I did not think the standard was that good. The breakfast sausage was cut in half length ways to look like 2 ? The place was so packed on the Saturday I found parking difficult. My room looked out on to a weedy bank, again not reflecting the price I paid. I go to this area often but would not use this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfairpwll, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

As my title suggests, we were only there to use the restaurant, therefore i cannot comment on anything else.

Although the food was of an excellent standard, there wasn't enough of anything. A few from our group had the Pork with Apple Sauce and Roast Potatoes.... when it arrived at our table it was 1 slice of pork, 2 roast potatoes and a bit of gravy, on a rather large plate. So we thought 'oh the veg will be coming soon', we were served with 1 bowl of veg to go round 10 of us, there wasn't enough to feed 3 in that bowl. Therefore after going there for a meal, i personally was left rather disappointed with the main in a 3 course meal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I must say that the room was very nice and the hotel in a beautiful spot. I arrived late and left early so I can't comment on the food.

If you want a room with a view ask for a sea view as the so called 'garden' room backed on the the steps to the upper carpark and didn't really have a view of any gardens as such.

The wifi doesn't work on the upper floors so don't expect to get some work done in your room.

Room Tip: if you want a good view make sure you don't opt for a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

What a fantastic location and a really great hotel with staff to match......I stayed with two friends in July 2012 in the three single rooms which were really well presented and very comfortable. On arrival (a very wet evening on our motorbikes - biker friendly hotel) we were greeted by Chris who made us feel extremely welcome and looked after us right from the start of our long weekend break.

We ate in the hotel each night of our stay and enjoyed a well presented and very tasty meal each evening....the sea bass was particularly enjoyable. The breakfast was just the right amount and well cooked – no problem if you wanted more....just ask!

Chris and his team had a great sense of humour which made the evenings a special occasion whilst drinking some of the local ale at the bar...a great place to sit and have a meal or a great place to socialise with new friends....of which we made many during our stay.

The location was fantastic and would be hard to beat; a great place to have a quiet drink or a meal in the restaurant with a superb view.....we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Gazelle and will definitely visit next time we are on Anglesey.....thank you Chris and Helen, see you next time.

Room Tip: I stayed in the single room 5 which was the better of the three single rooms (5/6/7) - plenty of roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

A real find. Brilliant views across the straits to Snowdon and to one side the open sea the other the Menai Bridge. Very friendly and helpful staff, great bar, very good breakfast and very comfy rooms and facilities. Hard to see the entrance but worth looking! Great place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gazelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gazelle

Address: Glyngarth, Menai Bridge LL59 5PD , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gazelle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Gazelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gazelle Menai Bridge
Gazelle Hotel Menai Bridge
Gazelle Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gazelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.