We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Lovely Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gazelle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gazelle to your Saves list
Gazelle
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Glyngarth, Menai Bridge LL59 5PD , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Special Lovely Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Excellent location with stunning views across the Menai Straits to Mount Snowdon.
We stayed just the one night but would of loved to of stayed longer. We had a lovely meal and the staff were great and helpful.
The room we stayed in had the same stunning view and so did the bathroom!
Spotlessly clean with nice homely touches.
We'll be back
Barbara & Mike

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    48
    15
    9
    26
See reviews for
41
95
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed at the Gazelle while kayaking for the weekend in Wales. The hotel was in a super location right on the strait, and both of our single/twin rooms had lovely views. The rooms were spotless, and had excellent linens and hypo allergenic duvets on the beds. Everyone in our group commented on the lovely rooms and how comfy the beds were for cuddling up in. We had intended to explore the neighbouring towns for dinner and drinks - you do need a car to get back and forth - but ended up staying at the hotel both nights and had a great time chatting away in the restaurant and pub. The breakfasts were great, and the host and hostess couldn't do enough to help us. Will definitely stay there again, and would highly recommend the Gazelle to all!

Room Tip: Ask for view of the strait!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

went with family on may 21 2011
good viwes new owners give them chanch to setel in to get the food just right
try again in a few months when they have had chance to setel in.
lots of people.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

When I visited the Gazelle - I found the staff friendly - helpful and welcoming. The food was fab and the service was good. Its situation is stunning with beautiful views of the Menai Straits. I would recommend this place to everyone!!!!! Beach for the kids. Watch the world go by!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

allow plenty of time to get served ! went for lunch, the man serving disappeared every time I went to the bar, then waited with several others whiltst he chatted outside -bizzare!
the food was very average, had a "feta salad" with came with standard whiet bread cut into quarters , would be far better with baguettes. Chips where an off white and not very nice at all, my wife had a ham sandwich which was barely edible as the hadm was the colour of quite a few days old.
improve the food and service and this could be a great place !
would recommend staying but not eating.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Now in the hands of new managers Chris and Andy what a change from the previous owner. They have both tried very hard to change the reputation and have achieved that in spades. The food is excellent and the hospitality is friendly and helpful. The views are superb. This place is a must for all visitors to Anglesey.

Dave

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed last bank holiday for two nights in room 9. The place is in one of the best locations on the island. The view from the room was amazing. The food was great, best mussels I have had in years. It was very busy and can take a while to get served, however as we were there to get away and chill we took it all in our stride. All I can say is give it a go the location is enough reason to visit. We are seasoned travellers and have travelled all over the country and have really taken to this place. We have booked 3 nights for the next bank holiday along with two other friends. The people who have taken over have not been there long and probably trying to get the staffing levels right. Give it a try

Room Tip: Try the annex it's a bit more but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gazelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gazelle

Address: Glyngarth, Menai Bridge LL59 5PD , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gazelle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Gazelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gazelle Menai Bridge
Gazelle Hotel Menai Bridge
Gazelle Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gazelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.