We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by the taxi driver” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Anglesey Arms

The Anglesey Arms
Mona Road, Menai Bridge LL59 5EA, Wales
01248 712305
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Anglesey Arms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 31 Restaurants in Menai Bridge
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Loggerheads, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Recommended by the taxi driver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just wanted a pub that served good food and had a nice location. This place ticked all the boxes. I didn't have to stand at the bar and wait to be served. It was all done from the table. We sat outside which was just lovely on a summer's night. The waitresses were very polite and totally attentive. They made us feel so welcome especially Katie Jones. The food was faultless as well. I would definitely recommended this place to anyone and I will go back there again for sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    41
    28
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked for 8 for a catch up with some family after a University graduation.

The staff were really friendly and helpful.

The food was good "British plus" style - lots of Italian as well as classic british pub grub.

The drinks were pretty good as well - a range of hand pumped beers.

We will definitely go again - a shame we didnt find this when we first started visiting Bangor from 3 years ago!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice meal, fantastic staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had originally been told they were fully booked when we rang to reserve a table but the waitress asked if we would mind being squeezed in near to a busy bar. Having not been before we were unsure how busy it would be so decided to think about it. We phoned back and spoke to a waiter who again warned us the bar would be busy and it would be noisy. On arrival they had managed to set us up a table near the window as a table had been vacated earlier. The waiter we had was fantastic, very friendly and attentive. The food was nice and although other reviews have complained the portions are small we found that we couldn't finish our meals as there was too much. We also found it good value for money.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch in the sun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely lunch at the Anglesey Arms. As it was a sunny summers day we sat outside on the decked sitting area. We were served drinks at the bar by a friendly Welsh man. A waitress took our order at our table. There was a bit of a wait for our food but it was worth it as our meal arrived freshly prepared. I had the 3 cheese broccoli bake with garlic bread and side salad. It was lovely. Very filling and tasty. My husband was also very impressed with his cajun chicken wrap and home made chips. We hadn't been here for years and they have had a tasteful refurbishment since then. We would definitely come again and bring the kids next time.They seem very family friendly and there is a little play area for the kids outside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llanfairpwllgwyngyll
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had originally booked for a party of ten but only five of us were decided to eat. Having apologised to the waitress we were shown to a table located in a corner to the left of the bar. Because it was such a lovely evening we asked if there was any chance if we could sit outside. The waitress said that a table had just been vacated and to give her a few minutes while the table was cleared.
We were seated and our order was taken promptly.
The food was very good [I had the stuffed chicken which was very tasty] and the service was exceptional.
As we were vacating our table a seagull swept down and grabbed the remains of the battered fish off my friends plate therefore beware, especially if you have young children!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anglesey Arms also viewed

Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to The Anglesey Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anglesey Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.