We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Straits Restaurant

The Straits Restaurant
Dale Street, Menai Bridge LL59 5AW, Wales
01248716377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 31 Restaurants in Menai Bridge
Cuisines: International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Terrific food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

not been for a month os so but has got even better. Lucy and her staff are amazing and Phil the Chef conjured up two amazing dishes in particular Thai Fish bag thingy.
Special

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    31
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Appreciation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

As a regular diner we cannot recommend this establishment highly enough. Lucy and her staff provide an excellent service along with simply great food - we have never been disappointed and for this reason we recently booked a birthday party for 30 family members. The standard of food and quality of service was exceptional and is testament to their commitment in the provision of fine food and quality customer care.
Lucy and her entire staff went out of their way to make the evening a huge success. Absolutely brilliant !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Ate here on 24/8/13 for a friends birthday,the food & service were excellent.I mentioned it was my friend's birthday and the waitress brought over a desert with candles for him which was a nice touch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Straits Restaurant Menai Bridge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a busy place this restaurant is . We had a very nice meal , our only complaint was that we had to wait nearly an hour between out starter and main . It would have been much more enjoyable if the room had been decorated better , it really was like a café not a restaurant . The table next to mine well I could have eaten off this plate it felt that close , you could hear other peoples conversations . This is not good . I am not sure I would return for these reasons .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The decor is terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Although the food is good the decor is so old fashioned and ' cafe like I wouldn't want to eat there again - it was lazy and old fashioned and really needs to be addressed - it's twenty
Years out of date

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Straits Restaurant also viewed

Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to The Straits Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Straits Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.