We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well organized, friendly, helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anglesey Walking Holidays - Private Day Tours

Anglesey Walking Holidays - Private Day Tours
3 Penrallt | Island of Anglesey, Menai Bridge LL59 5LP, Wales
+44 1248 713611
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Tailor made walking and cycling tours in and around the Isle of Anglesey, coastal and heritage paths, part of the all Wales Coast Path. Also offering Offa's Dyke Path, North Wales Path, Wales Coast Path (North Wales Section). Combined walking packages Anglesey and Snowdonia, Anglesey and Wicklow, Ireland
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well organized, friendly, helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Having done two long distance walks in Scotland in past years we wanted the chance to walk a portion of the coastal path in Wales. Previously we walked in a linear fashion, from town to town (8 to 17 miles per day), with the tour operator arranging for our lodging and luggage transport. The walks were great, but we never met the tour operators in person, and the walks were always within their specified format.

This time was different. We wanted to emphasize the ancient monuments and ruins of Anglesey as well as the headlands and rural terrain. Given our time limitations, this meant skipping over some portions of the 125 mile coastal walk. Eurwyn and Gillian Williams were excellent at making suggestions and helping plan an eight night itinerary based specifically on our wishes. They obviously know and love Anglesey well, and we were able to experience the best of the island walking different sections each day.

They were also very flexible and accomodating. If we decided one day to spend a few extra hours at a point of interest, we could change the dropoff or pickup point to make it work.

The type of lodging varied depending upon the options within a particular village, but was always clean and well appointed. Several places were absolutely wonderful. They also provided good suggestions for places to eat.

Eurwyn and Gilliam are founts of knowledge about the towns and paths, and had many comments and descriptions which helped bring places to life. We highly recommend their service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angleseywalker, Owner at Anglesey Walking Holidays - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
A huge thank you for your lovely review. We were happy to create a tailor-made package for you concentrating on your interests of ancient monuments (we have quite a few!!) and ruins on the island. Our forte is our flexibility and being based on the island is an asset. Hope to see you again one day. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“6 day walking holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday organised by Eurwyn and Gillian Williams. in the past, we have always organised our own walks but this made it a real holiday, all we had to do was to turn up! The walks were evenly spaced and the scenery was stunning, the flowers were beautiful and the coastal views amazing. The daily information was invaluable. The accommodation was excellent and all the people we met were very friendly. We're looking forward to returning to walk the other half of the island.
Miranda and Mike Williams

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angleseywalker, Front Office Manager at Anglesey Walking Holidays - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us on Anglesey and that our services pleased you, allowing you to have a "real" holiday. We update our daily information and route planners accordingly to changes in the path and tides so that our customers don't get lost! See you again when you return to complete the 125 mile walk. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great time hikinig on the Anglesey Coastal Path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I had such a wonderful time on our five-day hike on the Anglesey Coastal Path. Great trails, well marked and lots to see along the way. We were very impressed with Anglesey Walking Holidays and how they were able to easily accommodate our needs. All we did was let them know when and where we were arriving and leaving, and how much we wanted to hike on a daily basis and they set the whole holiday up based around that information. Eurwyn and Gillian of Anglesey Walking Holidays were great hosts. Eurwyn usually drove us to the trail head or picked us up at the end of the day, and he never tired of our many questions about wildlife, terrain, history and local culture.
Daniela and Kipp

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angleseywalker, Owner at Anglesey Walking Holidays - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for you great review about us. So glad we could assist you in experiencing part of our island. It was fantastic to see a young couple like yourselves truly enjoying the landscapes and varied weather. Each day and each walk was so different . Glad we could be of assistance. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellently-organized walking holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We recently had an excellent 10-days holiday walking the Anglesey Coastal Path. Whilst the coastline (and the weather!) was varied and often extremely attractive, key to our enjoyment were the organisation, arrangements and support provided by Gillian and Eurwyn. Our initial request, to walk from Beaumaris round the coast to Menai Bridge (a modification of Anglesey Walking Holidays' 10-day route) was very efficiently arranged, and we stayed in excellent accommodation, often with stunning views and very hospitable hosts. Each days' information pack was comprehensive with detailed route details and tidal information if necessary, and excellent historical information, and the luggage transfers and pick-ups worked very well. For each evening, we also had very helpful details of nearby restaurants and pubs. There is no doubt that the local knowledge and experience of Gillian and Eurwyn played a significant part in enhancing our enjoyment: we just wish they could organise and support walking holidays elsewhere!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angleseywalker, Owner at Anglesey Walking Holidays - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to arrange your walking holiday here on the Isle of Anglesey and our beautfiul Coastal Path. We are glad that we were able to take care of everything enabling you to enjoy a stress free holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Long distance walking" the easy way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have just returned after 13days walking the Anglesey Coastal Path. We had a wonderful holiday thanks to the excellent organisation provided by Eurwyn and Gillian. We had no idea that the Anglesey coastline offered such variety. Every walk was different. The scenery was stunning and everywhere we went everyone was so friendly and helpful. Thank you again Eurwyn and Gillian for an amazing time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angleseywalker, Owner at Anglesey Walking Holidays - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review about Anglesey Walking Holidays. We enjoyed having you with us and looked forward each day to hear about the day's events. Glad we were of assistance to help you enjoy your long-distance walking along the 125 mile long Isle of Anglesey Coastal Path.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anglesey Walking Holidays - Private Day Tours also viewed

Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 
Brynsiencyn, Island of Anglesey
Holyhead, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Anglesey Walking Holidays - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anglesey Walking Holidays - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Anglesey Walking Holidays - Private Day Tours to your Saves list