We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tafarn Y Bont - The Bridge Inn

Tafarn Y Bont - The Bridge Inn
Telford Road | Menai Bridge, Menai Bridge LL59 5DT, Wales
01248 716 888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 31 Restaurants in Menai Bridge
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Had our Christmas party here one afternoon last month. We had booked a few months in advance and had pre-ordered our meals. We were a party of nine and our table was in a very small room just behind the bar. The room was far too small to accommodate nine people and there was no room to move, making it quite uncomfortable when eating our meal. Due to the size of the room, it meant that we had to pass the meals down the table as the waitress could not reach some of the diners. Also this meant we had to pass the crockery to the waitress after finishing our meal.
Had pate as a starter, it was quite tasty but was not set properly. Had the turkey for my main course and I couldn't believe that it was a turkey steak, especially for the price we paid. Had to ask for the stuffing because they forgot to serve it with the turkey. Although the starter and main course were disappointing I must say that the dessert, sticky toffee pudding with butterscotch sauce, was extremely tasty and satisfying.
We found the service very poor, not once during our meal did a member of staff ask us if everything was alright, not even when we were paying the bill just before we left.
Overall experience was very disappointing and I doubt very much that I will eat here again.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    57
    23
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holywell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Excelent food with an extensive menu to choose from. Staff friendly and attentive. Nice atmosphere to eat and even just have a drink. Very popular with locals.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Lovely homemade food.large portions.lovely friendly service.good choice of food to choose from and reasonably priced.looking forward to going back..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangor
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“what's occurring?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Bridge Inn used to be fantastic, I have enjoyed many a meal there and even bought vouchers as gifts for family and friends. The meal I had on Sat was nothing like it, such a shame if only we checked the reviews before booking.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangefni, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I had the misfortune of attending a xmas party at Tafarn y Bont last night. The food was very poor, I had pate as a starter which was almost runny although tasty enough. The main course of Turkey was a joke, the turkey consisted of one small piece of white meat which had been heated on a charcoal grill and bore the marks of the grill and the taste. The veg arrived in bowls and we were informed that each bowl was for two persons, we queried this as there was only one new potato and one floret of broccoli ( plus some strips of carrot and french beans) and we were told to half the potato and the broccoli. Some other diners in the party had lamb which they said was tough and others did not receive the mint sauce until the were almost finished their lamb.
The xmas pudding was passable but not particularly warm.
In all this disaster of a meal cost £22.50 per head and was certainly not even worth £2.50. .
This Inn is right next to the historic Menai Suspension Bridge and should be a goldmine for tourists and locals alike, however under the present ownership it is a disgrace to the Island of Anglesey that prides itself in its many first class restaurants, taverns and renowned local suppliers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tafarn Y Bont - The Bridge Inn also viewed

Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Tafarn Y Bont - The Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tafarn Y Bont - The Bridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.