We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Anglesey Arms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Anglesey Arms to your Saves list
The Anglesey Arms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mona Road, Menai Bridge LL59 5EA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Golf trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The hotel was booked as part of a golfing package for 3. I had a single room which was fine, apart from the bathroom which was a liitle on the small size. However, the shower was excellent. As we had some nice weather, the room was quite hot, and a fan would have been beneficial. It was nice to have a cafetiere in the room which was great for a morning coffee and the biscuits provided were superb. As we liked a drink in the evening, the bar was well stocked with some good ales. We ate there twice and the food was very good and well presented. The breakfasts were excellent with staff who were were very friendly. We were slightly worried about leaving our golf equipment in the cars overnight, but the hotel does have a good car park and we had no issues. This hotel is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the main road can be a bit noisy with the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    74
    34
    19
    19
See reviews for
55
70
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
stafford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

booked reservation - be warned this is a very busy pub bar and place to eat . If you go for a quiet night forget it . However the food was simple and showcased the local produce . Because it was so busy the food garnishes had wilted in the heat a little. Excellent bar staff helpful but just too noisy !!

Room Tip: nice decking areas outside go later in the evening when it has quietened down a tad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

After a problem booking with another hotel I switched the Anglesey Hotel for three nights, had not previously stayed there but on arrival the staff were more than helpful and friendly, The room was clean and well presented, but the bathroom and shower facility were excellent. The Bar and Breakfast staff deserve a mention for their friendly and sharp service... overall excellent I shall be using this Hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Having previously been a regular under previous management, we went for a few drinks yesterday evening. After waiting 15 minutes to be served a drink at the bar, the staff kindly stopped chatting and watching the football to serve me. Had there not been friends I hadn't seen for a while I would have walked out. I was later asked if I had changed the channel on the tele in an abrupt manner, to which I replied; 'no, but shouldn't you be working anyway'. Absolutely awful attitude, poor service, and bad management. We left early and went to another bar in Bangor where we could spend our money more easily.
What has happened?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Having phoned ahead to let staff know I would be arriving before the check in time, they went out of their way to arrange a room for me to get ready for a wedding in. Fortunately when I arrived my room had already been vacated and cleaned ready for me. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was beautiful and an absolute bargain for £90 with a fantastic breakfast. Proper coffee in the room was a nice touch. Thanks for a lovely stay, Angelsey Arms!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangynidr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The hotel is located close to the road leading onto the old Menai Suspension Bridge, there was therefore a certain amount of traffic noise in the front bedrooms. If it had been necessary to have the window open overnight this might have caused us to have a problem sleeping.
The bedrooms were very well appointed with nice, large comfortable beds. We ate dinner in the hotel the evening we arrived which was good value and very tasty.
There is a quiet lane at the side of the hotel leading down to the costal path which was convenient for walking our dog.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The rooms have a very nice design and they are clean. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and with a good choice of food. In the rooms from the first floor there is some noise from the restaurant (if you want to go earlier to sleep, request a room in the second floor). I would recommend it for week-end escapes and for group of friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Anglesey Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anglesey Arms

Address: Mona Road, Menai Bridge LL59 5EA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anglesey Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Anglesey Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anglesey Arms Hotel Menai Bridge
The Anglesey Arms Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anglesey Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.